We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location and perfect for visiting city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
bangor
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great location and perfect for visiting city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Nice room. good view out the window of the castle. No complaints at all. Really good breakfast and service. Quick taxi to airport. All in all a great weekend place to stay. we would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davey j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review about your stay at the Avenida Palace.
I was extremely pleased to read your kind words about us.

Your enthusiasm for the hotel is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation.

I look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,024
    425
    80
    16
    8
See reviews for
486
1,472
118
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Me and my wife visited Lisbon to celebrate a special day. We chose the Avenida Palace because of what we had read on tripadvisor. What a wonderful stay! The staff could not have been more friendly and professional, the common areas are opulent and our room was very nice and clean. We even attended a professional classic piano recital there. We will definitely return to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

May I just say that your review is simply perfect and a wonderful reading! Thank you for rating the Avenida Palace so highly.

Allow me to thank you sincerely on behalf of all the staff members, who will be extremely motivated with your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon to your Lisbon residence.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and the location is excellent. The rooms are a little bit small. The staff is a mixed bag. Some very nice people, including the receptionists. The concierge, however, was not very knowledgeable and not very friendly. The doormen never cracked a smile, but were not rude. For what we paid, I would have preferred a warmer environment.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdtravelingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace. I am delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and I very much appreciate your observations.

However, as the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of our guests really matters, I was concerned to read that we did not meet your expectations.

With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, is a symbol of the city.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely Yours,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We chose Avenida Palace based on the strength of the reviews here at Trip Advisor, and did not feel that it was one of the better places we chose to stay during our recent 2 week two of Europe. The interior of the hotel itself is very well appointed, but our room felt like it needed a reno. There was slightly bubbling behind sections of the wallpaper in the bathroom, the shower itself had a door on it which would swing out and hit the bidet if you weren't careful, the shower mat was stained a dark grey color (either from use or mildew, it was hard to tell), the toilet seat was slightly unlevel so that it would not stay up properly, the polyester bedding felt scratchy and dated, the pillows were incredibly hard, and the bed/mattress was so old and creaky that any time my husband or I moved the other felt as if we were on a teeter-totter shaking up and down.

All that being said, the Hotel is located in a great part of town, and close to many of Lisbon's sites. The staff was pleasant and helpful, and even surprised us with a lovely tray of champagne and nibbles in our room when they found out it was our honeymoon. The breakfast is divine, with lots of healthy options, and served in a lovely roccoco style dining room. If you can book this hotel with points, or a package deal, it would still be worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCRINNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace. You recognize how great our location is and the attentiveness and professionalism of our staff members. Indeed our team pledges to provide the best personal services to each of our guests.

As the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of its guests really matters, I was concerned to read that we didn´t meet your expectations in all the aspects. Should I have known it, I would have taken care of the issues you refer.

After reading carefully your remarks, I can assure you there is one topic that doesn´t match our reality: actually, we do not have wallpaper in our bathrooms, as they are all marble covered.

With a prime location in the very centre of Lisbon, this Hotel, with more than a century of history and fully renovated, as one can see on our website, is a symbol of our great city.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will have the honor of welcoming you back again.

Sincerely Yours,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel for three nights and agree with the previous reviews. The hotel is very grand with its authentic period architecture and decor. Our room was comfortable, spacious , and provided us with great storage space. The staff is very accommodating , especially the bartender who was very helpful in giving us information about Lisbon. Extensive offerings at the breakfast buffet in the grand dining room were delightful. We were lucky to be present at the classical piano concert which was performed in the Grand Lobby. This event took us back in time, making us feel like we were experiencing the famous history of this hotel. Don't miss asking about the hidden door if you are fortunate enough to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Traveleenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review about your stay at the Avenida Palace. I was extremely pleased to read your kind words about us.

Your enthusiasm for the hotel is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation to the entire team.

I look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is in the heart of Lisbon - next to the Metro and walking distance to all of the major sights. The hotel is a bit tired and formal but very clean. The service was excellent and they provided treats in our room every night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank pfk721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your point of view regarding the Avenida Palace and its services.

I am delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments on our location and service.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Found this hotel on trip advisor and was not disappointed . Could not believe how beautiful and grand this hotel was. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The hotel is so well maintained. Our room was spacious, comfortable and again, beautiful ! Great price, great location and great staff. We wish we could have stayed longer and hope to return one day. We had an early flight and could not eat breakfast. I don't think there is a swimming pool. They do have spa services at good prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for taking the time to post your kind words on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments on our location, staff and services.

It would be a great honor to welcome you back to the Avenida Palace in a future and these time longer stay.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing