We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing wrong here !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Avenida Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #6 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“nothing wrong here !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

A classic place from an old movie with kind and helpful staff. Location is superb. Prices is very fair.

When you stay here you will surely enjoy the dated elegance ! There are some great pieces of furniture and large old rooms to enjoy.

This is an excellent place to stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HKJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a wonderful review and for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to your new Lisbon residence.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,977
    417
    77
    16
    8
See reviews for
477
1,433
116
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
232 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Amazing location in the center of Lisbon. Well run, "classic" hotel -- not a high-tech design type. Beautiful and spacious common areas, very ample breakfast buffet. Excellent staff and service at all times - we were speedily and graciously given a different room upon request. Perfect spot for exploring all of Lisbon. Wi-fi works well.

Room Tip: Reasonably priced, so worth it to spring for a junior suite if you so choose. Room 518 looks out di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback regarding the Avenida Palace and its services.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments on our location and service.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you back in the future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Kind regards,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

All I can say is AMAZING!. I just spend a week at this hotel and you can't go wrong. I have not visited Portugal ever and rely on Trip Advisor and the reviews for majority of my decisions. I have not ever been wrong on the advise from this website.

First off, Portugal and Lisbon is an amazing site to see. The food, people, culture is just profound.

I wanted to check a nice place to stay and a great location. I read countless reviews on this site and it came down to this hotel and the Ritz Four Seasons. The Ritz was nice, but the location was a bit far.

At the Avenida, you are in the heart of the city. You are next to a metro line and walking distance from everything (shopping, food, site seeing).

I got a Jr Suite and booked it on their own website (prices were the same and you get 20% off in the bar if you book online).

This place is 5 stars for sure. Even for American standards. The attention to detail is amazing.

Paulo, the Head Conceriege guy is amazing! His recommendations were spot on. He recommended our first dinner and I told him to book the entire week of dinners based on his recommendations. All 7 meals were amazing. He secured us many site seeing tours. I highly recommend getting a private driver with a new Mercedes. It is slightly more (about $250.00 euros), but for the entire day you have a personal driver to recommend sites and take you around. We used this service twice. First time, we went to Sintra (amazing) and then a beach resort and drove around. The second time, we went shopping around the city as well as another beach resort for lunch and lounge. A definitely must for someone who has the budget. They do offer group tours that are less expensive, but you have the crowds, you have to wait in line (Sintra) and with a private driver they have access to cut through the lines. Paulo was just a gem and an asset to this hotel.

This hotel has such history. Casa Blanca the movie was filmed here. You just feel like you stepped in the past.

The cleaning staff was amazing.

If I had to give two pieces of advice to improve this perfect hotel, it would be:
-Have an iron and iron board available for guests. Many of our clothes were wrinkled and the only option was laundry which costs about $130.00 euros to press only. Even if you just had a few irons/boards that would help out.
-Get another bartender in the bar. There was an older gentleman that was often at the bar. He had no personality and was not very attentive. However, there was a young shaved head bar tender some times on site and he was amazing. He was professional, well mannered and a 5 Star bartender. The older gentleman was not.

But, like I said you can't go wrong with this place. AMAZING! We will be back soon.

Room Tip: We got a 6th floor jr Suite stayed in room 603. It was awesome. Had a view of a castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JJBAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time out to leave your feedback on your recent stay at the Avenida Palace. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed staying with us.

Allow me to thank you sincerely for your amazing words about our hotel and for your comments about our services and staff.

Our guests’ comments are truly important to us and helps us to achieve a high level of quality.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation. We are very pleased when such efforts are recognized.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon to your Lisbon residence.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I love the classic properties and prefer to stay there then any trendy properties. Hotel Avenida Palace in Lisbon was no disappointment!

http://www.hotelavenidapalace.pt/m/hotel-sitemap.html

After our two weeks aboard the Crystal Symphony, being spoiled, it would have been difficult for most hotels, not so with Avenida Palace. We were upgraded to an amazing suite and pampered like royalty.

I highly recommend this classic European hotel and experience. So convenient, classic and comfortable.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank molliebnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for taking the time to post your kind words on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to learn that you felt pampered during your stay with us. Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations.

It would be a great honor to welcome you back to the Avenida Palace in a near future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at Avenida Palace Hotel for five wonderful nights! The hotel was very elegant. Everything about it was 5 star from the parlors to the room and all the services including the breakfast buffet. Our Junior Suite was lovely and spacious. We were treated so well by the staff that we felt like we lived there. Roberto at the front desk aways greeted us with a big smile and Carlos was a wonderful concierge. All of his recommendations for restaurants were wonderful as well as his recommendation for the Fado show at Clube de Fado. We really enjoyed the piano recitals in the hotel parlor that took place some of the evenings. It was wonderful and relaxing to sit in the elegant hotel parlor and sip port while listening to classical music. We highly recommend Avenida Palace Hotel.

Room Tip: We loved the Junior Suite on floor 6. We did not hear a sound all night and it was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Your review is wonderful reading. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed staying with us. Allow me to thank you sincerely on behalf of all the staff members, specially Roberto and Carlos.

I'm also delighted to know that you had the opportunity to enjoy one of our music recitals in our Palace Lounge.

I look forward to welcoming you again very soon to your Lisbon residence.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We celebrated a special birthday with my best friend at this lovely hotel a couple weeks ago.
Everything was perfect and we enjoyed our stay thouroughly at this charming hotel full of old-fashioned style and grand hotel atmosphere. What caught our attention especially? 1. Breakfast! Served in beautiful surroundings, there is everything you could want and wish for, and more was offered at the breakfast buffet ranging from cooked english breakfast, to local cakes and pasteries, most perfect PANCAKES with Nutella, salmon, fresh fruit, good coffee!! and an indivually prepared, truly the best fluffy most perfect cheese & herbs omelette EVER!! (beats hands down eg. the one at Hotel de Paris in Monaco!). 2. Location! Within walking distance of everything importand and right next to the (beautiful) railway station, where you catch the train to enchanting Sintra. Starbuck's is next door and a vareity of shops, coffee shops and restaurants. 3. Staff and service! Impeccable and personal service always, with a smile. Loved the lobby bar, where they really did their best to make us try and like local specialities.
A very special & huge THANK YOU to Roberto Jr. at the Front Desk who made our stay extraordinary with his extremely friendly and helpful manner.
When I go back to Lisbon, I will denititely choose the Avenida Palace again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuskiAFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace during this special occasion and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments on our location, staff and services. Thank you also for your kind words about Roberto, which I will surely share with him.

We look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

After vacationing in Barcelona for a few days and spending a week cruising, this hotel was the perfect way to end the trip. It is centrally located to great restaurants, the hop on/off bus, nightlife, etc. Yet, inside it is furnished impeccably and provides a calm and beautiful respite from the sightseeing. The staff was great and the breakfast was fresh, plentiful, and delicious. It was the first 5-star hotel in Lisbon and still earns every bit of that title today.

Room Tip: Some of the two bedroom Jr. suites have the bathroom in the hallway and some have the bathroom in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffersky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your fabulous review about your stay at the Avenida Palace.

We are delighted to learn that your stay with us was the perfect way to end your trip. We pride ourselves on providing a comfortable stay for all our guests and thank you for your recognition.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours Sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Portugal
Hotel Portugal
#13 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing