We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Classic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #5 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Netanya
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming and Classic”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

In August we spent a couple of nights at the Avenida Palace Hotel in Lisbon prior to joining a cruise. The hotel has all the charm and elegance of days gone by but has nonetheless been brought into the 21st century. We were upgraded from a superior room to a junior suite on the 6th floor which gave us a good view of the city without any of the noise down below due to the double glazing. The staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast lacked for nothing. We noted that the bed was rather hard for us but were told that it was a new mattress which needed "wearing in". It is conveniently situated right in the centre for sightseeing and restaurants, which is indeed an added bonus and one of the reasons we chose it.
If you are looking for an ultra modern newly built hotel, then this is not for you, but for a classic, elegantly furnished 5 star property with good service and great position, surely it must be hard to beat. On any future visit we would certainly stay here again.
Anne and David S., Israel

Room Tip: A higher floor room that we had certainly must have improved the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hihosilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for taking the time to post your kind words on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments on our hotel, its staff and services.

It is our goal to provide properly maintained facilities and the luxurious sophistication of its décor make this Hotel a landmark at the intersection of tradition and innovation. We are very pleased when such efforts are recognized.

It would be a great honor to welcome you back to the Avenida Palace in a future stay.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,148
    445
    82
    16
    9
See reviews for
515
1,559
123
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The location of the Hotel Avenida Palace is spot on. It's right next to the Rossio station and a couple of minutes walk to Plaça Dom Pedro IV and Rua Augusta.

They first checked us in a room with a window overlooking Praça Restauradores, but we asked for another room because the airconditioning on that room wasn't working well. I have to mention that we had to ask twice before anything happened. The first time, they said that the maid will check on it, but she was a no-show. The next time I called, again they said that the maid will check on it, but after more than 30 minutes, no maid appeared. So we had to call the front desk back to complain.

What's we find cool about Hotel Avenida Palace is the fact that we did get to stay inside a real palace -- there was a maid buzzer in the rooms, the breakfast was held in a huge hall, grand staircase, paintings, beautiful furnitures - everything was grand. For those who get scared really easily, the hallways can get a bit creepy at night. :)

If you're staying in this hotel, make sure that the breakfast is part of your package because that the bomb. It was one of the highlights of our stay in Lisbon. We love the selection.

As for cons, aside from the airconditioning of the first room not working well, they can improve on the pillows. It was a bit soft to my taste. Also, I find the reception staff in this hotel could use some lessons in being warm to their guests. I'm fine with a smile. That would've been OK. The breakfast hall staff seem nicer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with working airconditioners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jovanpuyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Avenida Palace and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these detailed remarks on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you overall enjoyed staying with us and that your highlight was our breakfast.

As we strive hard to provide great guest comfort and service to all of our guests, we are disappointed when we fail to do so and so, I am very sorry to hear that we fell short on your expectations.

I hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Sincerely Yours,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We were looking for that special place for 5 days in Lisbon. Hotel Avenida Palace was the place we choose and it exceeded it meeting my expectations. We booked their superior room instead of the standard room . We got a great corner room on the fifth floor and the view of Praca dos Restauradores. The room was spacious, comfortable and quite. The bed was perfect. The location was central to the charm of this city.

Service was excellent. The staff was very helpful and responded to our needs.

Staying in this 5 star 19th century hotel was better than any chain hotel. WiFi worked very well and their breakfast was outstanding, The buffet breakfast even had crepes. Never seen that anywhere else.

It you have a special occasion in Linson, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: 515 is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clifford L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you chose to stay at the Avenida Palace. I cannot thank you enough for having taken the time to leave your lovely review on TripAdvisor.

Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services exceeded your expectations. Your kind words are much appreciate and will be a great source of motivation for the entire team.

I do hope that the Avenida Palace will welcome you all back in a future stay.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Avenida Palace this summer. What a treat. The hotel is in a perfect central location for tourists. The hotel staff was excellent. Very helpful with touristy type questions that they must have been asked thousands of times before. I booked a 3 night package, but wanted to change the details to a jr-suite and split the stay into 1 night on arrival to Portugal and 2 nights at the end of my trip. Got this done with just a couple of emails. For those last 2 nights, they upgraded the room to a full suite. Wow. When I checked out, the girl asked me if we had a nice stay. I replied "Yes, and I will never stay anywhere else when I am in Lisbon." I meant it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace on your first trip to Lisbon and for taking the time to post your kind words on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments on our location, staff and services. Personalized service is very important to us and your recognition means a lot to the entire team.

Thank you for considering us your new Lisbon residence, it will be a great honor to welcoming you again very soon.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,
Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel has a very helpful staff, classic furniture and makes you feel as though you lived in a very elegant era in the past. However, all the conveniences you would need are available. We loved the welcome fruit, nightly chocolate and bottle of water left for us each day.We had a junior suite which consisted of 2 bathrooms, one with a shower, one with a bathtub, but only one bathroom had a toilet. The was the main bedroom and a daybed in the private adjoining area turned into a very comfortable bed. The rooms were a nice size. Even though it is located on a main street in downtown Lisbon, the windows kept the street noise out. It is located right next door to the train station and is a very short walk to the water as well as Old Town. Buses and trams are readily available from this location as well. The concierge was very helpful in explaining directions and making restaurant recommendations. The breakfast buffet had so many choices we had a difficult time deciding what to eat each day. The staff provided some of the best service we had seen in Portugal. The airport is about 15 minutes away by taxi and cost us 8 euros to get there. We could have taken the train if we wanted to.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravelCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a truly outstanding review and for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace.

Personalized service is very important to us and the service you received is a wonderful example of the team's commitment. Your recognition will surely be a great source of motivation for the entire team.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to your new Lisbon residence.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed there just for one night but our experience was excellent in all respects. All your wishes are fulfilled and the stay is really enjoyable and relaxing. Plus very good location for going around Lisbon.It does not happen very often to get such good service.

Room Tip: If you hate air con and like to sleep with your window open ask for a room overlooking the inside co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zielony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for taking the time to post your kind words on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments on our location and service.

It would be a great honor to welcome you back to the Avenida Palace in a future stay.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A classic place from an old movie with kind and helpful staff. Location is superb. Prices is very fair.

When you stay here you will surely enjoy the dated elegance ! There are some great pieces of furniture and large old rooms to enjoy.

This is an excellent place to stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HKJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroMCosta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a wonderful review and for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to your new Lisbon residence.

Meanwhile, you may follow the Avenida Palace on Instagram and see the nice pictures of our daily activities.

Yours sincerely,

Pedro Miguel Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
570 reviews
Britania Hotel
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 248 in Lisbon
1,512 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Rua 1 De Dezembro 123, Lisbon 1200-359, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, the hotel has maintained its characteristic romanticism from the "Belle Epoque" and now revived by the discerning touch of renowned decorators. The Palace is a jewel among Portuguese hotels, combining regal and elegant architecture with modern comfort and personalized service. Whether resting in your room or socializing in one of the common areas, you'll find the balance perfect. All 82 rooms have just been completely renovated and elegantly furnished in a classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing