We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Ranked #8 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old school luxury”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

It is a well situated 5 star luxurious hotel with a beautiful garden with a swimming pool. Good breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff, very clean and excellent service. Oldies but goodies!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiramolaAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    154
    25
    4
    1
See reviews for
215
523
29
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
182 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights. The place is nice and reminds you of old times. A classic hotel. Pool is great. rooms- we stayed in a sea view suite are very comfortable. Bed and pillows amazing. Service is excellent. The Breakfast area very charming.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This is a magnificent building. it was an old palace and when you enter the courtyard it excites you with its elegance. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with everything you could want. The service is faultless. The gentlemen at the desk are extrememly helpful and can satisfy any whim. The complimentary breakfast is outstanding and the grounds are beautiful. There is a terrific pool and a spa which is small but very personal. On the main floor there is an intimate bar with a wonderful piano
player. In short we were very happy with our visit..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionasigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Loved everything about the hotel and our room. Try to obtain a room in the old Palace section on the 6th or 7th floor, the views are enchanting. Staff is first rate and professional with a totally can do, Ritz Carlton attitude. Dinner in the restaurant, although not cheap, was superb.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigkahuna66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I traveled to Lisbon with my wife daughter and niece, we stayed at the Lapa Palace in two connecting rooms. The hotel itself is very beautiful and has a very pleasant atmosphere. It has a very nice pool with views to the city. The rooms were spacey and the service flawless. It is a five star hotel, period.

The only con that I would point is the location, although it provides a wonderful view to the city, it is far from anything you might want to do, you will need to get a car to go almost anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xeqmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed at the Lapa Palace in late July and used a Leading Hotels of the World membership to get a room upgrade. We were put in room 602, which was impressive -- spacious room with a small staircase leading to a private sitting area, 2.5 balconies, views of both the river and the back courtyard, and very private. I'd highly recommend this particular room if you decide to stay at this hotel. Other positives of our stay were: (i) breakfast buffet was extensive and fresh, and (ii) service was generally friendly and helpful (more on this below).

There were just a couple less positive things to note. First, although the location is in a quiet area surrounded by foreign embassies, it's not really close to anything else and requires a 10-15 minute walk to the tram or a taxi ride (on a side note, taxi drivers were generally great, but one tried to rip us off by driving in a convoluted path from Belem to the hotel). Second, while the hotel front desk/concierge was friendly, there was one instance where they recommended a Fado place for dinner (O Faia) and helped us book a reservation. Upon further research and after talking to some locals, we got the sense that that place was a tourist trap and very expensive -- when we asked the hotel staff to cancel our reservation and re-book us somewhere else, they were a little too pushy in trying to get us to stick with O Faia. Not a big deal, but a little odd.

In any case, other than those two minor things, our stay at Lapa Palace was terrific, and we would return the next time we're in Lisbon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Tripadvisor lists this as #2 in Lisbon and Lapa palace is definitely up there... This hotel is bursting at the seams with luxury, in a nice quiet part of town (non surprisingly an embassy area ). Great rooms with a fantastic view of the river, Very helpful and pleasant staff, facilities including indoor and outdoor pool, sauna and gym make this hotel a great choice for a city break in Lisbon. The location makes it hard to crawl back to the hotel after a big night out in town but thats what taxis are for i suppose. All in all, a real 5 star hotel. (except for the breakfast, it was quite basic for a 5 star, there is some room for improvement there)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Property: Olissippo Lapa Palace
Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing