We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most beautiful hotels I know”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Ranked #10 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The Lapa Palace is one of the most beautiful hotels I know. It’s located in a quiet residential district of Lisbon offering a magnificent view of the Tagus. A vast park with a large swimming pool is isolating the quiet location and a water fall is further dampening any city noise.

The rooms are spacious, well equipped and tastefully decorated. The service is very kind and efficient. Definitely, a first choice.

Room Tip: View over the Tagus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntonioJulioNegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

In 1870, the Count of Valencas wanted a crib in the Lapa Quarter, among the rest of his mates (nobility, hiphop producers, wealthy merchants, etc.). In 1992 it was turned into a hotel. The marble and fresco and everything palace-y from the past remains. They added a more modern section plus a rather big pool area. So traditional that it makes me feel like a schoolboy.
I can only join in with the rest of the choir: The staff is simply fantastic. Professional, helpful, friendly... and the list goes on.
Rooms are on the traditional side, and that's not just a good thing in my book. It's a little like living in the mansion who belongs to a very old lady. And that's probably why I personally feel a little itch when asked about this hotel. 'Cause no matter how great the Lapa staff is – I can’t but feel like I don’t belong in the late 19th century.
A little more of everything can be found here: http://www.guidebook.se/archives/606

Room Tip: The rooms in the new section with a patio are located quite far away from the lobby and the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guidebook_dot_se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed for 2 nights here in July. What a lovely hotel! The moment our taxi pulled up to the hotel, the staff were right there to assist us with our luggage. Since we were disembarking a cruise in Lisbon, we arrived quite early in the morning. However, the reception staff offered us coffee and juice in the gorgeous breakfast area while they prepared our room. We had booked a garden view room and while this is the least expensive room, it did not seem that way when we saw it. The room was huge, as was the bathroom - complete with 2 sinks, a lovely shower, and huge, thick towels. The king-size bed was way too comfortable, making it hard to get up from:-) We had a small balcony with a view of the lovely gardens and fountains. The garden pool is wonderful. A lovely walkway through the gardens and fountains leads to an oasis of coolness (Lisbon was very hot when we were there) - a large pool, lounge chairs with thick cushions, umbrellas, and a pool bar/restaurant. One afternoon, the bar staff even came around with glasses of sangria (no charge!) What a treat! The hotel also offers computers with internet access for guests. The concierge staff was so helpful in recommending places to eat - we wanted local and not fancy and he made a reservation at a place where he takes his family - and it was delicious! The location is away from the major sites, but that is also what makes it special - you feel miles away from the traffic and crowds - yet are really only minutes away by taxi - which are very reasonable. For us, this hotel provided a relaxing and memorable end to our vacation and if we get to return to Lisbon, we would definitely return to the Lapa Palace!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTCOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Have recently returned after a few days at the Lapa Palace. The hotel was selected on the basis of the large highly favourable comments of other tripadviser travellers. The hotel has impeccable standards and the staff are first class and friendly. We were particularly impressed by the helpfulness of the young lady on the reception desk. The pool/garden room was spacious, tastefully furnished and decorated and with large marble bathroom. The gardens and pool area of this hotel are superb and made for a peaceful and relaxing stay. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a courtyard setting. There are minuses regretfully. This hotel is on a hill away from the city centre and it is completely suprising why the management have not provided their own shuttle service like other similar hotels which we have stayed at. Even to provide a couple of journeys into the city in the morning and returns in the afternoon would be welcome. Yes, there are taxis but if a hotel of this standard is trading on its high service provision then a hotel shuttle is a suprising omission. The second minus is the fine dining area. Frankly the food at the very high prices charged is disappointing. At these prices one is expecting michelin standards which it is not. However we are giving the Lapa Palace the highest rating since the overall experience of staying there was a memorable one.
Cornwell/Stanmore. UK.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GRAHAM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We spent 5 days at this traditional five star hotel for our first stay in Lisbon. As this was both a business and leisure trip we sought a full service hotel with a business center, easy access to room wifi, and the amenities of a resort. We were not disappointed on any count. While all the services and amenities were true five star quality, we particularly appreciated the helpfulness of the concierges, the delicious buffet breakfast (with choice of indoor or outdoor seating), the pool and its surrounding tropical gardens, and the spa (very clean, excellent massages). The only slight downside is the location of the hotel, which is situated in a residential area and requires either a walk to the tramway, a taxi, or a car in order to get to the main attractions, cafés or shops. While the valet parking is free and rapid, we ended up returning the rental car earlier as driving in Lisbon was not a real pleasure (narrow sloping streets). Getting around by taxi was very inexpensive compared to other European cities and the cab drivers were friendly. This hotel is an excellent choice if you are seeking a quiet and elegant hotel with full five star amenities. We saw a number of families too with impressively well behaved children!

Room Tip: We had a third floor garden room which gave us a view to the pool and lush gardens and a bit of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HRS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Spent a night at Lapa Palace and could not have expected more. Had a large and luxurious room with beautiful view of Lisbon and huge marble bathroom. The location is perfect too. And price was not excessive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Thanks to a friend who put me up in an apartment he owns I had a few pennies left to end the holiday on a high note. Although certainly not a cheap hotel - my room was 200 euro a night - it is a great way to round off a trip to Portugal if you economise in the first week. This hotel is so good that it is worth saving up for: The staff are wonderful, the interior of the hotel is beautiful and the garden and pool area are exquisite and great, great value even for the price paid. The hotel is like a magic portal: You can go in exhausted from a hard year and come out, just a few days later relaxed and re-invigorated. Definitely would recommend this to anyone and if the prices in summer are too steep consider going to Portugal in late March / early April when the weather is still pleasant and there is so much to see in the capital that you don't have to spend all day by the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,874 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#9 of 255 in Lisbon
978 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £269 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing