We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its good...its very good. great views, great staff, great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Ranked #9 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“its good...its very good. great views, great staff, great facilities”
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

my wife & i were recomended this hotel and thankfully we took the advice.
stunning views over the river but be sure to get a room on the upper floors for max view.
great indoor pool sauna etc....all well kept.
Taxis cost ~ €5 to centre of town.
we also went to sintra (1/2 hr & 30 euro trip north). it is a worthwhile trip with some more beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bu11seye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    158
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
220
535
29
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed here again in November for a birthday celebration weekend. Our first stay was amazing and it would have been hard to improve upon, yet the Lapa Palace outdid itself again. Upon check-in, the same woman from last year welcomed us to the hotel and said "thank you for coming again - you are like family!" How great is that! To our surprise, we were upgraded to a wonderful suite. Another amazing surprise (on the actual birthday) was to return to the hotel and find a beautiful, delicious birthday cake and chilled bottle of lovely sparkling wine. It made our day! How incredibly thoughtful!

The hotel and grounds are beautiful. Everyone, from the doorman, housekeeping and especially the front desk and concierge go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful experience at the Lapa Palace. Breakfast at the hotel is wonderful and it is obvious that many guests enjoy lingering at their tables enjoying the great food and atmosphere.

We have stayed at other hotels in Lisbon before and stated in a review two years ago that we would not stay anywhere else in Lisbon other than the Lapa Palace, and our most recent stay confirmed this again. If you want a memorable stay in Lisbon, stay at the Lapa Palace. We will again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jfountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, great pillow choice. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is just a short distance taxi journey from Lisbon, fare €7-9. We had breakfast in the hotel, the choice and variety was a little disappointing for a 5 star hotel. Still looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freshblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Staying here made us feel as if we were in a romantic 1950's Audrey Hepburn movie. Everyone is so helpful and friendly, the setting is beautiful and the city fascinating. Although we didn't arrrive in a Bentley (unlike other guests) we were made to feel very important: nothing was too much trouble. When we needed to set up a meeting (and not speaking the language) the reception staff organised everything. It was obvious that the staff wanted to help in every way they could, and Hugo Fonseca and colleagues were the epitomy of professionalism and warmth. We had a balcony room facing the river and watching the sun rise or set would thaw even the coldest of hearts. The room was an excellent size, with lovely furniture and a comfortable bed (do pay the extra for a River View Room). The leisure facilities were excellent. The hotel is out of the city centre, but there is a lovely museum just down the hill with a great terrace cafe overlooking the river. The hotel staff recommended it to us and we recommend it to you! Although a twenty minute walk into the city centre, we didn't find this a detriment as the setting is exquisite. It was quite interesting checking out the Embassies as we walked part way into the city; you know you're in a good neighbourhood when the leading nations of the world choose to set up base on your street! When you tire of walking, do take a taxi, they were great value for money, and essential if you are planning to walk up and down the hills of Lisbon all day. Thank you Lapa Palace for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Take a River View Room with a balcony; it's fabulous to watch the boats at 5.00 am awaiting the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Beautyful building, nice comfortable rooms. Breakfast is very tasty. Hotel is quite far from the city center, so you should use taxi (not expensive in Lisbon). Area is not a touristic zone, just good luxury area of this unbelievebale beautyful city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The Palace was palatial. Nothing was shoddy. Everything was beautifully maintained and clean to a high standard.

The staff were discreet, efficient and pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the gardens a haven of calm. Mind you it was November and the pool was not being used, so no screaming ankle biters. I suspect if there were they would be refined and understated anyway!

Strongly recommend for a weekend city break.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fedupphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I loved this hotel: maybe not the very best I've stayed in (Claridge's, Georges V), but right up there with the Sydney Observatory and Madrid Ritz.

Stayed in two rooms with wife and kids over a long weekend. The hotel was quite quiet and we were allowed an early check-in, even though we didn't expect or ask for it.

The Reception, Concierge and Door staff were splendid throughout, always polite but not obsequious, always helpful but not intrusive.

Rooms are conservatively decorated, good housekeeping, nice bathrooms, comfortable beds, almost overwhelming choice of pillows. Our air-con never worked although we mentioned it to Reception, and we had to sleep with the French doors open.

The pool, sauna, fitness room suite is clean and well-equipped.

We ate in the restaurant one night, certainly good but surprisingly perhaps the least impressive of the 3 evening meals we had on our stay. The bar and lounge service was always immaculate and the public areas are lovely.

The location - in a quiet suburb housing many embassies - is a little off the beaten track but taxis are inexpensive, and the trams a 10-minute walk away.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valiant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
572 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Britania Hotel
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
2,298 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 248 in Lisbon
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Property: Olissippo Lapa Palace
Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing