We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Ranked #11 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2013

A friend recommended this hotel, and were we ever glad we took her advice! It is a beautiful, traditionally styled hotel in what used to be a private palace. The suite we were in was unexpectedly large and decked out in a pink and yellow (not garish, but oddly soothing). And the bathroom was no slouch, either: all marble, nice bathtub, separate shower, bidet, double sink, the works. One of the thoughtful touches they provided in the bathroom was a bottle of refreshing Portuguese orange water. A small thing, perhaps, but it made you feel pampered.

The hotel itself is quite rambling, with flights of stairs in places you don’t expect leading who knows where. A short walk down the garden path takes you to a treed pool area that makes you feel as if you were in a resort, rather than a city hotel. We didn’t get around to eating at the restaurant, though we did have breakfast (very nice) and managed to get to the bar on time for afternoon tea.

The hotel is located in a quiet residential area that is a lot of fun to explore. To reach the major tourist attractions you’ll need to take a taxi (not a problem) or try to figure out the tram system (which we didn’t manage to do). Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

For my partner’s birthday and special surprise weekend away Lisbon was our choice. Then it was the task to find the most amazing hotel. After reading reviews extensively the choice was between Lapa Palace and Ritz but I felt the Ritz looked more like flats than a special hotel. I went for Lapa Palace.

Upon arrival the porter greeted us and escorted us to the reception where we completed our details and while waiting for our room to get ready we had something to drink the in one of the dining rooms. The lobby itself was very impressive and really provided the wow factor. After a coffee our room was ready and the porter escorted us to our room.

Because the special booking we were upgraded to the suite that was just amazing. So much space, really clean and amazing elegant furniture and of course the balcony view.
Plenty of space for two people, with one of the bathrooms roughly the size of a living room, soft towels, robe and l'occitane products. The bedroom was amazing which later in the evening was prepared for us and there was a nice big TV in the room.

The hotel is not in the centre but we are used to walk, even from the city centre was not too bad. The taxi only costs a few euros so that was no problem either.

We had dinner in the hotel in the evening and it really felt exclusive, more or less the entire restaurant for ourselves in a very elegant setting. The decoration of the food was really classy and the desert was tasty.

The breakfast in the morning was plenty, salmon, fresh fruit, fresh juice (something I personally value a lot) . All really top notch like it should be for a 5 star hotel.

The indoor pool is very elegant and made felt very exclusive.

There is also a beautiful garden, I can imagine when it gets warmer sitting there and look at all the plants and of course use the gorgeous pool.

Since this was a special surprise weekend the staff was incredibly helpful with all the arrangements and I could not thank them more. Every detail and their assistances was incredible and for them to go that extra mile.

Overall, if you want to go away for a romantic weekend with some elegance I would highly recommend Lapa Palace. It costs more than the average hotel you can find in Lisbon, however the service, the rooms, the view and all the staff is for sure worth every penny and I hope to return in the new future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcopolworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We arrived really late. They upgrade us on a sea view room hotel. It was night. Its a very chic aristocratic hotel in Lissabon. Marble everywhere and nice big rooms.A bit old couture though but it also comes with the whole style of the hotel. It was night. we heard the silent of the night and saw just the light of the town. Next morning we were curious to see the view. Amazing. Seaview is defiantly worth it. The pool area is really really nice. Has one big pool which is covered half by shadow and half by sun. A small children pool is also available. Poolbar and very friendly stuff in the hotel. We used the spa. Was also a nice experience. In room Breakfast was big and plenty. Definatly a place to stagy

Room Tip: Ask for sea view. its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldtraveller1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

a wonderful place to stay, excellent service, a great variety of rooms and the swimming pool garden is a quiet oasis. have stayed here on all our trips to lisbon for some 20 years. the bar is a great place to meet, serves the best tom collins around and the restaurant likewise, but there are so many places to eat and drink in lisbon.

Room Tip: try room 315 if you can, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank onpiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

my wife & i were recomended this hotel and thankfully we took the advice.
stunning views over the river but be sure to get a room on the upper floors for max view.
great indoor pool sauna etc....all well kept.
Taxis cost ~ €5 to centre of town.
we also went to sintra (1/2 hr & 30 euro trip north). it is a worthwhile trip with some more beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bu11seye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed here again in November for a birthday celebration weekend. Our first stay was amazing and it would have been hard to improve upon, yet the Lapa Palace outdid itself again. Upon check-in, the same woman from last year welcomed us to the hotel and said "thank you for coming again - you are like family!" How great is that! To our surprise, we were upgraded to a wonderful suite. Another amazing surprise (on the actual birthday) was to return to the hotel and find a beautiful, delicious birthday cake and chilled bottle of lovely sparkling wine. It made our day! How incredibly thoughtful!

The hotel and grounds are beautiful. Everyone, from the doorman, housekeeping and especially the front desk and concierge go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful experience at the Lapa Palace. Breakfast at the hotel is wonderful and it is obvious that many guests enjoy lingering at their tables enjoying the great food and atmosphere.

We have stayed at other hotels in Lisbon before and stated in a review two years ago that we would not stay anywhere else in Lisbon other than the Lapa Palace, and our most recent stay confirmed this again. If you want a memorable stay in Lisbon, stay at the Lapa Palace. We will again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jfountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, great pillow choice. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is just a short distance taxi journey from Lisbon, fare €7-9. We had breakfast in the hotel, the choice and variety was a little disappointing for a 5 star hotel. Still looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freshblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,899 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#9 of 255 in Lisbon
990 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £268 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing