We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing time at The Lapa Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Ranked #8 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing time at The Lapa Palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2008

We stayed in The Lapa Palace for 3 nights, availing of their "Endless Summer" package. It was absolutely fabulous and we would most definitely go again! The hotel has a very relaxed atmosphere, which is great if you just want to "switch off" for a few days. The staff are ever so attentive; nothing was too much trouble. The only downside we experienced, and it was nothing to do with the hotel, was that Lisbon itself was a little bit of a disappointment. All in all we would wholeheartedly recommend The Lapa Palace for anyone looking for a break whereby luxury, good fine / wine and relaxation are top of the list!

  • Liked — The Pool
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SPKIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    152
    24
    4
    1
See reviews for
214
514
29
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2008

We spent 3 nights at the Lapa in 2 rooms and it was truly and effort to make ourselves leave. The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms spacious and comfotable, the pool area and common rooms delightful, but what makes it is the service.
We arrived at 10 am and were told we'd have to wait a few minutes for our rooms but could sit in the bar. We had coffee comfortably on couches and within 10 minutes our rooms were ready. We were led up by a receptionist, who explained the hotel to us as we went. Breakfast buffet was very complete in a beautiful garden, and empty dirty plates disappeared instantly. The moment I wanted anything someone was happily offering it, and yet noone was at all intrusive.
The only possible drawback is that the hotel is not in the city center, but it's really no bother. Taxis, which are inexpensive, wait across the street for the doorman to hail and are easy to hail on the street. We also easily walked back to the hotel from Bairro Alto. I would return just to stay at the hotel.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank eleanor174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2008

We just got back. Loved the hotel and area. You are about ten minutes from the city center. You need to take a cab for dinner or to get to where the sites are, however I liked being away from the noise in a calm residential area. The Hotel is fantastic and the grounds are super. Hugo, one of the concierges was great. The service was top notch. The restaurant recomends were right on and everything operates without a hitch. We had two rooms with views of the river and they were big, had balconies and the baths were all marbel. Food at the hotel is very expensive so I would try to eat out if you can. I will only stay there when I go back to Lisbon.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RBruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2008

It takes about 25 minutes for the car to get to the Lapa Palace from the airport, which means it's not located in downtown Lisbon. Instead your on the outskirts of the city on an outcrop with views of the sea.

As the car drove into the courtyrad area in front of the hotel, you get a sense of what awaits you.

When I got to the reception the check in was very swift and efficient. I was shown to my room, which was huge, with two individual beds and a very inviting balcony with views of the hotel's lovely gardens and pool area. The bath was also large, with marble everywhere.

I unpacked and then had to get down to doing a couple of hours of work, before heading off to the outside pool. The water was a little chilly - that explains why there was nobody about - but the sheer luxury of swimming on your own in a large outdoor pool is just so unique.

After showering and getting dressed I prepared for dinner at the hotel's restaurant. I was due to dine with a colleague who had taken a later flight (and therefore had NOT indulged in the luxurious swimming pool experience - how unlucky!).

We met up slightly earlier in the bar and had a couple of drinks. It's very classic in design and has a very extensive selection of drinks. I asked for as Southern Comfort and they had it! You don't always find that in some hotels.

The restaurant is Italian inspired. The food was excellent - I had some fresh fish, which is a must in Portugal and a beef carpaccio for starters. Wine was a young fruity Portuguese affair from the Alentejo area, which was excellent, which also goes for the service - top notch.

That night I slept like a log in a very comfortable bed, with feather pillows. One other feature of the room was that it had a double door - the normal bedroom door and a second interior door separating the bedroom from the bathroom and therefore insulating you as you sleep from any noise in the corridor. However, it must be said that the walls are so thick that it tis impossible to hear the people in the adjoining rooms.

Breakfast was a very complete buffet affair, while a cooked option was also available. However, the buffet option is more than ample with a huge array of foods (hams, cold meats, smoked salmon, scrambled eggs, bacon sausages, cereals, milks, juices, fruits of all types, muesli, yoghurts, etc etc). The service was also very good - coffee was delivered very promptly, together with the toast I had ordered.

So checking out was a bit of a gut wrenching affair, after having had such a lovely experience in probably one of the best hotels in all of Lisbon, if not Portugal. I am keeping my fingers crossed that I have to go back there agian soon, because it will be an automatic choice. And I so want to go back ....

One final point - ALL the staff spoke excellent English.

  • Liked — Location, views, pool, gardens, service, excellet restaurant
  • Disliked — Nothing !
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Bertie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2008

We spent Easter weekend at Lapa Palace and had a wonderful time. I would have given it a positive review even before we arrived, simply based on the level of organization and information provided by the concierge desk. Though generic hotel material, we were provided with excellent information on activities, restaurants, tours and the city. I would definitely like to single out the daytime concierge "Rui Pedro (apologies if spelt wrong) who was very helpful throughout our stay, and the maitre de at Cipriani whose service and enthusiasm were exceptional.

Our hotel room was spacious, very comfortable and had a lovely view of the gardens and pool from a balcony (don't be shy of using the pillow menus as they do make a difference). Breakfast which was included for us was plentiful and tasty. There were some nice touches of providing a bottle of water with the turndown service each evening, as well as having no additional charges for ordering room service. Flagged by tripadvisor reviews, its location isn't in the middle of the city, but we found that quite refreshing as it wasn't that noisy. Also, taxis are very cheap (it doees not cost more than 5 Euros to get to most places). Goes without saying, but this is a luxury expensive hotel, so don't go there if you are looking for a bargain on any front.

As far as Lisbon goes I would recommend the following: 1) definitely go to Belem for the sights (as well as the pastries); 2) trip to Sintra and Cascais is a must; 3) Dinner at "Olivier" is excellent (there is also a Port Wine institute next to it which allows you to sample various ports for as little as 2 Euros); 4) the packed tram 84 is a nice way to get to the Castle from the hotel and is worth the experience.

Overall, expected from any luxury hotel, the hotel did whatever they could to make our stay comfortable, and we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperDosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2008

We have just arrived back from a long 4 day Easter break, we arrived at the airport at 10.am and should have had a private transfer waiting supplied by Kuoni World Class, however no one was there. We rung Lapa Palace and withing 5 minutes they had a car with a driver there and delivered us in super style. This is pretty much what Lapa is all about, Listening and acting without fuss.

The Hotel and Gardens are superb, The rooms are of a very high quality and finish we had one on the sixth floor overlooking the gardens and river with a lovely little balcony with 2 chairs and table Ideal for lunch or drinks while a real sun trap at the same time.

The room service is absolutley fantastic wether it be for food, drinks, pillows or weather reports they simply are very professional and extremely fast with all requests.

The standard of the food throughout the hotel is very high and especially the afternoon teas served after 3pm, they are lovely. The breakfast is again proffesional/fresh and well presented, It is really nice to seee people making an effort to smarten up when they go for breakfast.

It is deffinately a hotel we will re visit in the future probably more in the summer when the outdoor pool and gardens would be a great escape with no need to venture away from the grounds

The restraunts they suggested for us again no problem all lovely
Overall no matter how special a place is, I believe the real difference is made by the staff and for that reason alone, Lapa Palace will always be a top destination Many Thanks to you all

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Floral arrangements very tired
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2008

Despite disappointing weather, we had a wonderful stay at the Lapa Palace. The location is brilliant, close to the centre, with embassies in all the nearby streets. Our room was very big, with a balcony overlooking the gardens and swimming-pool. The concierge gave us really good tips on good restaurants.
The only negative point was the fact that I had slight food poisoning with raw tuna by room service.

  • Liked — The building, the garden, the location
  • Disliked — The room service (food poisoning !)
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeverineLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSpagnol, General Manager at Olissippo Lapa Palace, responded to this review, 20 March 2008
Dear Tripadvisor member,
I wish to thank you for your very encouraging comments on our hotel. Regarding the tuna, it was the first complaint we have ever received regarding this issue and I do apologize for this inconvenience. However, when tuna is eaten rear or medium rear, it may sometimes cause digestive problems. Even if we follow HACCP rules and procedures, and despite the fact that the fish is Fresh from the catch of the day, we took your comments very seriously, and have completely removed the fresh tuna from our menus.

Kind regards,
Philippe Spagnol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Property: Olissippo Lapa Palace
Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing