We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but could use some updating in the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Ranked #10 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The hotel is very nice. It's a bit tough as we came from Reid's Palace in Madeira so that was top of mind and we stayed at this hotel for our last night in Lisbon. The room is beautiful but the beds were so uncomfortable. For such a high caliber hotel, I would have expected more plush and comfortable beds. The robes were very dingy as well and no bed slippers provided. You also have to pay for wifi in your room. They do give you 2 bottles of water free from the mini bar. The Mediterranean restaurant and breakfast were awesome. They do a really nice job with breakfast an you have lots of choices.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simoniemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent five nights in this truly five-star hotel. Our bedroom and bathroom was extremely well appointed with a lovely view over the stunning gardens and pool. We had the most delicious menu degustation on the terrace of the restaurant, again with a gorgeous view. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Breakfast from room service was very prompt and efficient and continental breakfast, including fresh fruit salad, was included in the room rate. The bedroom lighting was very subtle and clever. The only downsides were that the wifi wasn't the best, although adequate, and the location means you have to get a cab to most of the other parts of Lisbon. However, these are minor points as the hotel called taxis for us promptly and it seemed to be very cheap wherever we went. If you want peaceful, high quality surroundings in absolute luxury, this is the place to go.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at the Lapa Palace for 5 nights in late August. Its a wonderful hotel. The service is top notch, the rooms luxurious. Be sure to get a River View Room in the new building. We were in Room 520. The fifth floor has the best views because the patio railings on that floor are glass. Other other floors have solid or more view-obstructing patio railings. A couple of other things: the food and service in the restaurant is truly excellent. We had dinner there twice (once on our patio) and loved both meals. The pool was a welcome relief at the end of a day touring Lisbon....great drink service pool-side as well.

The only possible criticism I can offer is that the hotel is located in the embassy neighborhood. While its a beautiful neighborhood, you will need to take a taxi or public transit (10 minutes at most) to most of what you will want to see in Lisbon. We did not mind that at all...in fact we enjoyed being a bit removed from the noise and bustle of the city center.

Overall, a superb experience and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Fifth Floor in new building for best views. The sixth floor has solid patio railings so the view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASeattleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susana_Gerardo, Gerente de relações com clientes at Olissippo Lapa Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you so much for choosing Lapa Palace on your recent visit to Lisbon and of course for your positive feedback. This is always very important for us. I will share your kind words with our team so that we will stay motivated to exceed your expectations.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you again at the Lapa Palace

Sincerely

Susana Gerardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Olissipo Lapa Palace Lisbon

Sunday 2nd June found us at Manchester airport at 11.20am for the TAP flight direct to Lisbon. Flight unremarkable met on arrival by Azamara agents and transferred by private limo to the Olissipo Lapa Palace hotel high above the Tagus, on the edge of the Alcantara district. The hotel appeared quite luxurious but so many lobby areas of hotels are the same worldwide and the rooms are a disappointment. The person who greeted us was a delightful girl and check-in was quick and she personally took us to our room on the 5th floor No. 524 which was fantastic, and the concierge was already waiting outside with our bags and showed us the facilities in the room.

The room was a good size with a decent amount of wardrobe and drawer space and a safe. There was a large balcony with table and two padded chairs. This not only overlooked the swimming pool and garden, but also provided a great view of the Tagus in the background. The king sized bed was hard, as always in Portugal, and so we used spare pillows to lie on.

The bathroom was amazing. It was completely marble with the hotel's name etched into the marble floor in the centre. Over the large bath was a Portuguese tiled mural (Azulejos) depicting the River Tagus and the April 25 bridge. There was a separate large shower enclosure, and as one would expect in a good standard continental hotel, a bidet. Adjacent to one of the two sinks, was a large magnifying mirror which was height adjustable. The toiletries were L'Occitaine and consisted of shampoo, hair conditioner, shower gel and body lotion.

There was a twice daily chambermaid service with towels changed both times, a mark of class. Another indicator of the standard, was the provision during the turn-down service, of a foot mat and slippers at each side of the bed. Even Silversea Cruises no longer provide the former and this means that your bare feet need never touch the carpets.

We changed and went to the pool, collecting a towel before choosing two padded loungers. The pool area and the pool itself were clean and in good order. It was large and the water was pleasantly warm, and.although there is a heated indoor pool, we did not use it.

Being a Sunday the local restaurant we wanted to patronise was closed. We therefore opted for the hotel restaurant and chose the black pork which was absolutely superb. Because of the preparation time of around 25 minutes, we were given two beautifully presented complimentary amuse-bouche.

Breakfast was not taken in the dining room, but in a separate area with an outdoor terrace. There was a good array of food served in a buffet style, especially the bread and pastries, which included the little custard tart (pasteis de nata) which is a speciality of Lisbon, and originated from a pastry shop in Belem – a suburb of Lisbon. These were kept warm for added delectation. As well as a toaster, there was a circular little carousel for warming croissants etc, a novel idea.

There was a small Internet room but we did also see a notice that free wifi was available.

We arranged with the Azamara rep in the hotel for all our bags to be taken to the ship whilst we got a taxi downtown for other business. The ship was berthed at the Santa Apolonia cruise terminal, the closest to the centre of Lisbon. The new cruise terminal has yet to be completely finished, in fact there appears to be no sign of any construction work, despite claims it would be operational in 2013.

This hotel is by far the most superior we have used in Lisbon, and we would recommend it unconditionally. However there is only one drawback, the hotel is perched on a hill overlooking the River Tagus and is therefore not situated “downtown”. It Is several kilometres distance from the Alfama district and the station at Rossio. However there is a stop at the back of the hotel, roughly a five minute walk, for tram No. 25 which will take you to Praca do Comercio, in the centre of Lisbon..

Room Tip: Room 524, or any room facing the pool and overlooking the River Tagus, the higher the floor, the bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank masterecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This palace has recently been turned into a 5 star hotel - It is located in a residential neighborhood - when you turn into the gated drive-way and see the top hated valet you know you have arrived!! we stayed there two nights and had a gorgeous room in the new section - huge by European standards - the room had a lovely large terrace where we had room service breakfast - we also ate in the dining room and had the 7 course tasting menu with wine pairings - excellent - I had asked for a topper for the mattress as it was too hard for me - they were all being used - so when we returned the next week for a one night stay they remembered and placed us in the palace where the beds are much softer - I have to add the swimming pool is to die for - also the lunch at the pool was served beautifully and the menu was very good and inventive - the staff were extremely helpful - a true 5 star property!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 501Marj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susana_Gerardo, Gerente de relações com clientes at Olissippo Lapa Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

On behalf of our team a big thank you for choosing lapa Palace on your recent visit to Lisbon. we also thank you for sharing your " stunning" experience.

Our team will continue making all efforts to guarantee that Lapa Palace can be your Home in Lisbon.

we are all looking forward to welcome you back soon.

sincerely

Susana Gerardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stopped just for 2 nights there before our plane back home, we didn't enjoy the swimming pool during the day but had very great morning "wake up" 10min swim even before officially opening time, nobody scream or kicked us out!
Every person (I don't even want them call "staff") was extremely helpful, polite and "non-visible"! You don't fill like somebody is watching your back, 3 times somebody visited our room when we check in:
- change the bed cover to fresh white color
- add extra welcome appetizers, water
- robs were relocated from closet to bed
Very fancy signs to "Clean" or "Not Disturb" :)
Internet is OK to watch movies on computers, everyday changed towels (the new opportunity in Canada to keep environment free of soap and not changing the fresh towels doesn't work in Portugal yet and we had fresh towels, fresh water, fresh room every day to enjoy the view from balcony to the river and inside yard with swimming pool and garden.
Restaurant is nice to have glass of wine, coffee at night, enjoy real piano play and fresh breeze from the river. We didn't order dinner because we prefer not to eat at midnight:)
Make sure you have a lot of change in your pocket to "thank you" workers in a breakfast time and when they bring your car or call you to wake you up by your request, those people trained very well and do their work extremely professionally.
I will recommend this hotel at least once in your life to catch that "renaissance" filling and enjoy great hospitality as it suppose to be at every hotel (I wish)
Location is great, old area around with consulates and embassies around, very tricky up-and-downs especially you drive "standard" instead of "automat" car. Be careful if you not use to it.
Enjoy your stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: order room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anta_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We loved this place! The hotel is not in downtown Lisbon however we could still walk to Tram 28. The hotel was decorated beautifully! We had a room that faced the river and it was spectacular. The sfaff was really friendly and helpful with directions, taxis, etc... We did not dine on the property because we had a 6 year old, but they have a Michelin star restaurant we wanted to try. The pool is beautiful and big with food and drink service. When I come back to Lisbon I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisac1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,874 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#9 of 255 in Lisbon
978 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £269 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing