We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Ranked #8 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This Hotel is so beautiful and with such an unique style. Big rooms, very luxurious, amazing breakfast and the restaurant there is just perfect. The pool area is super relax with a lot of greens is a little paradise feeling. I would love to be back to Olissippo Lapa Palace. The only wish I have for this hotel is the price be a lower but anyway you pay high price for high quality.

ps: If you are a dessert person please try cinnamon ice i just loved, i order at least 5 in 3 days...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    154
    25
    4
    1
See reviews for
215
523
29
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We went to the Lapa Palace for my parents 30th wedding anniversary. We had river views rooms. There were clean, the air condition was working without any noise. The bathrooms are beautifully decorated with marble stone. The swimming pool is very relaxing ans is very luxurious.
More important, the staff at the front desk is very attentive to guests. The concierges (Hugo and Rui) are very helpful. Thank you very much for making our stay more than enjoyable.
Hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morganville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Wow, this is a beautiful hotel, with breath taking views of city. You can't ask for anything any more special than this hotel. The wasn't a thing that wasn't high end from the room to the pool to the restaurant to the buffet breakfast. If you want a 5 star hotel in Lisbon, this is it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retailgirl8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Lapa Palace is in a largely residential area of Lisbon, which is actually okay because the city is spread out, you'd have to walk or take a tram to see most of the sites no matter where you stay. We had a room in the palace that was very spacious and had a great view over the city towards the river. I had the impression that almost all the rooms share the same view. The so-called "garden wing" runs off the palace and is four stories tall. But because the whole complex is built into the side of a hill, every room in that wing seems to have a good view of the gardens and of the river beyond. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, especially the doormen who seem to take real interest in the guests.The breakfast buffet -- just about anything you could want -- is served in a lovely room and patio. I titled this "rock star hotel" because when we looked up from our breakfast one morning, Patti and Bruce Springsteen were sitting at the next table. We respected their privacy and didn't ask for a photo (though I was tempted), but if the Lapa Palace is good enough for the Boss, what's there to complain about?

Room Tip: All the rooms in the Garden Wing seem to have balconies or patios. The rooms in the Palace have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very nice. Room was excellent but we had a problem with the concierge. If you want to go at dinner do it without their advice, they will send you where they have understandings not where is the best for you.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
439 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is an 'old fashion' 5* hotel.

The hotel is about 20 min drive from the airport, in a residential/ Embassy area. With this in mind there are no shops and restaurants close by. You can walk into 'central' Lisbon in 20 mins or app. Euro 8 in a taxi.

From driving into the hotel drive through check in to being shown to our room everyone was friendly and efficient. Unfortunately I booked through Travelrepublic and for some reason they requested twin rooms for us! The reception staff apologised over and over and said that the hotel was full and so they had no double rooms available but they could put the two single beds together and make up as one bed - which they did immediately for us.

Rooms are a reasonable size in a classic style, with bed & side tables, desk & chair, TV DVD player, fridge but no coffee making facilities. The bathroom was a good size with double sinks and the usual toiletries. We had a balcony overlooking the garden/ pool which was well maintained. The garden/ pool (heated) area is lovely and peaceful, there is a bar and restaurant area.

The hotel bar area is small but service was good - a pianist plays from 7pm in the evenings.
We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but had room service - I enjoyed my Nicoise salad with fresh tuna steak and my husband enjoyed his burger all delivered in the stated time. The next night we asked the concierge to recommend a Portuguese restaurant which they did and also made a reservation for us. We had a great meal.

Would I stay again - yes as there didn't appear to be many hotels with out side pools. Plus service was GREAT.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends and relatives.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delacourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous building, great desk service. Room service was a disaster. Got there tired and hungry. 24 hour room service did not answer. The desk girl said they wound call me...zzzzz. Called for an iron and housekeeping said they were not allowed in the rooms? But they have a pressing service. Yes , t$ey do! Room was pretty-bed was incredibly hard. I mean it. Like a board. Hubby loved it and I did not. I would likely try a different place if in Lisbon again. It was fine but not to die for and those details were big to me.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank saddLLP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Property: Olissippo Lapa Palace
Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing