We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lapa palace, nice but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Ranked #9 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“lapa palace, nice but not perfect”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Spent a WE. Great people, good rooms, great pool and garden. Unfortunate that once in a while ( about 6 times over the time spent in the room during a 3 night stay ) a very loud noise lasting 5 to 10 seconds happened. Usually late, even in the night, waking up my wife. Wanted to let them know before leaving, but was rushing out. Done now !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    162
    28
    4
    1
See reviews for
226
544
29
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Where do I start with our recent stay at Lapa Palace. Upon arriving we were warmly greeted, which continued throughout our stay. I can honestly say that all staff gave first class service you'd expect from a 5 star hotel. The food was amazing, freshly prepared with good choice of dishes to select. The pool was delightful and the grounds, well you could be mistaken for being in the grounds of an exotic garden. My only regret is we didnt stay longer. We will definately return Lapa. The town has a great selection of shops and is only a 10 minute taxi ride.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayneBromilow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This Hotel is so beautiful and with such an unique style. Big rooms, very luxurious, amazing breakfast and the restaurant there is just perfect. The pool area is super relax with a lot of greens is a little paradise feeling. I would love to be back to Olissippo Lapa Palace. The only wish I have for this hotel is the price be a lower but anyway you pay high price for high quality.

ps: If you are a dessert person please try cinnamon ice i just loved, i order at least 5 in 3 days...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We went to the Lapa Palace for my parents 30th wedding anniversary. We had river views rooms. There were clean, the air condition was working without any noise. The bathrooms are beautifully decorated with marble stone. The swimming pool is very relaxing ans is very luxurious.
More important, the staff at the front desk is very attentive to guests. The concierges (Hugo and Rui) are very helpful. Thank you very much for making our stay more than enjoyable.
Hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morganville, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Wow, this is a beautiful hotel, with breath taking views of city. You can't ask for anything any more special than this hotel. The wasn't a thing that wasn't high end from the room to the pool to the restaurant to the buffet breakfast. If you want a 5 star hotel in Lisbon, this is it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retailgirl8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Lapa Palace is in a largely residential area of Lisbon, which is actually okay because the city is spread out, you'd have to walk or take a tram to see most of the sites no matter where you stay. We had a room in the palace that was very spacious and had a great view over the city towards the river. I had the impression that almost all the rooms share the same view. The so-called "garden wing" runs off the palace and is four stories tall. But because the whole complex is built into the side of a hill, every room in that wing seems to have a good view of the gardens and of the river beyond. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, especially the doormen who seem to take real interest in the guests.The breakfast buffet -- just about anything you could want -- is served in a lovely room and patio. I titled this "rock star hotel" because when we looked up from our breakfast one morning, Patti and Bruce Springsteen were sitting at the next table. We respected their privacy and didn't ask for a photo (though I was tempted), but if the Lapa Palace is good enough for the Boss, what's there to complain about?

Room Tip: All the rooms in the Garden Wing seem to have balconies or patios. The rooms in the Palace have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very nice. Room was excellent but we had a problem with the concierge. If you want to go at dinner do it without their advice, they will send you where they have understandings not where is the best for you.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 251 in Lisbon
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 251 in Lisbon
2,732 reviews
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#7 of 251 in Lisbon
917 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 251 in Lisbon
2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Property: Olissippo Lapa Palace
Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing