We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice - a little run down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Ranked #12 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here for a 30th birthday. The main building looks beautiful, the newer extensions are not quite so attractive. The room was a decent size and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was ok. Location is a little out of the way. Overall it was a good hotel but nothing more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This is a grand hotel with some very nice features, but it's on top of a very steep hill right in the middle of a housing estate and as a result there's limited places you can go on foot and I'm a good walker. On plus side this hotel has good facilities, heated indoor & outdoor pool, gym, sauna etc. good quality food. On the negative side the choice of tv channels for a 5* star hotel is disappointing also the picture quality is bad, bed is very hard and it could do with some lighter covers rather than thick blankets. Wifi is free but you have to log on every time you use it and it's a bit on slow side. I also think that prices for food but especially drinks are v expensive even compared with other 5* hotels. ( €23 for a small cocktail). I think taking account of the location and the negatives mentioned I think there are better places to stay in Lisbon closer to the centre.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Albon_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Yes, this is really lovely hotel with fantastic rooms, friendly, efficient service, outstanding food but sadly it is located in a rather ugly and inaccessible part of Lisbon. Strange that none of the reviews that encouraged us to spend two nights at the Lapa Palace failed to mention that it is virtually impossible to walk to anywhere remotely interesting from the hotel. It's actually perched on the side of a very steep hill a long way from the city centre and thus the only option for discovering the city is to take a taxi. Whilst the taxis are very good value and quick to arrive, the drivers are by and large bonkers - you have been warned!
The other big disappointment was Lisbon itself which is a real mess. There is rubbish everywhere. And whilst the city is charming in parts and there are many lovely buildings to admire and much history to discover, one can't help but feel that this is a rather unloved capital city which could do with an urgent makeover by Boris and his men.
The hotel is grand, staying there is pleasant but it's expensive, it's in a dreadful location and we would not recommend it to anyone who wants to actually see Lisbon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Spent a WE. Great people, good rooms, great pool and garden. Unfortunate that once in a while ( about 6 times over the time spent in the room during a 3 night stay ) a very loud noise lasting 5 to 10 seconds happened. Usually late, even in the night, waking up my wife. Wanted to let them know before leaving, but was rushing out. Done now !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Where do I start with our recent stay at Lapa Palace. Upon arriving we were warmly greeted, which continued throughout our stay. I can honestly say that all staff gave first class service you'd expect from a 5 star hotel. The food was amazing, freshly prepared with good choice of dishes to select. The pool was delightful and the grounds, well you could be mistaken for being in the grounds of an exotic garden. My only regret is we didnt stay longer. We will definately return Lapa. The town has a great selection of shops and is only a 10 minute taxi ride.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayneBromilow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This Hotel is so beautiful and with such an unique style. Big rooms, very luxurious, amazing breakfast and the restaurant there is just perfect. The pool area is super relax with a lot of greens is a little paradise feeling. I would love to be back to Olissippo Lapa Palace. The only wish I have for this hotel is the price be a lower but anyway you pay high price for high quality.

ps: If you are a dessert person please try cinnamon ice i just loved, i order at least 5 in 3 days...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We went to the Lapa Palace for my parents 30th wedding anniversary. We had river views rooms. There were clean, the air condition was working without any noise. The bathrooms are beautifully decorated with marble stone. The swimming pool is very relaxing ans is very luxurious.
More important, the staff at the front desk is very attentive to guests. The concierges (Hugo and Rui) are very helpful. Thank you very much for making our stay more than enjoyable.
Hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,854 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#9 of 255 in Lisbon
970 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 255 in Lisbon
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £256 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing