We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Ranked #9 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
230 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed as a party of 4 in two rooms in late June.

The fact that the Lapa Palace is a 5-star property is immediately obvious as you arrive. Manicured gardens out front, and plenty of staff were there to greet us, and remembered our names throughout our 3 night stay.

The entrance hall is impressive and beautifully appointed. The reception staff were very welcoming, professional and efficient. They helped out with a number of queries during our stay.

We stayed in the Palace section of the hotel - in 401 and 501. Both with fantastic views over Lisbon and the Targus River. Rooms are decorated in the shabby chic style and the look & feel is elegant and luxurious. Beautiful Portuguese touches throughout, especially in the bathrooms. Housekeeping was exemplary. 401 has two balconies from which to soak up the views.

We made extensive use of the pool area over three days. Very comfortable sun loungers which the pool assistants arranged wherever took our fancy. Plenty of towels, and enough beds for all. The pool itself is enormous, set with a gorgeous semi-tropical garden. Service at the poolside restaurant was fast & efficient. Great selection of food and cocktails. Prices were eye-watering though.

We loved the main bar, and the live nightly entertainment. The restaurant was excellent (see separate review).

The only minor niggle was that the breakfast room felt a bit like a function room in temporary use, and crowded up quickly.

We had a rental car, and found Lisbon fairly straightforward to navigate. The Lapa Palace is pretty centrally situated as a base for exploring.

But overall this is a grand dame of a hotel, and clearly deserves its' 5 star status.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susana_Gerardo, Guest Relations Manager at Olissippo Lapa Palace, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for choosing Lapa Palace on your recent visit to Lisbon and of course for for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. we have taken good note of your remarks that will be gladly shared with our team that will continue making all efforts to guarantee that Lapa Palace can be your Home in Lisbon.
Looking forward to welcome you again.

Sincerely
Susana Gerardo
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    152
    24
    4
    1
See reviews for
214
513
29
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed here only because a friend of mine could not stop talking about how great it was. And I completely agree, what a great stay. The rooms are large and they all have amazing balconies with beautiful views. This is defiantly number One in Lisbon!

Room Tip: For the bigger rooms stay in the older wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colonialhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Booked a three nights stay (to celebrate our 8-year anniversary) based on the reviews. Even though the interior feels a bit dated, the service and atmosphere is flawless and five star all the way. The pool area is really nice ( but the prices in the pool bar a bit beyond acceptable), and the gym is good. Taxis are cheap, so the location ( a bit off the city center) is not a problem. What we will especially remember from this stay however is the staff - if you ask them to pick down the moon for you, I'm convinced they will give it a try!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoegaarden, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hotel : Very clean and an excellent staff.
Reception : The staff very helpfull and kind.
Room: Pool garden view was great also the room with nice balcony.
Roomservice: Perfect and not expensive.
Breakfast: complete with bubbles, indoor or outdoor.
Bars: Pool and Rio Tejo are a bit expensive.
Transfer to the city : Taxi or Tram 25, bus 774, bus 714, stop only on 5 min walk.Viva viagem (6E/day).
It was my birthday and the surprise in the room was wunderfull.

Room Tip: Pool Garden is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nice hotel in a not so convenient location. Rooms were spacious and nicely appointed. Large bathroom with huge walk in shower and separate tub. Staff was exceptional. Nice pool area as well. Downside is not in a great location. Cab ride required to get downtown. As much as we enjoyed this hotel, we would stay downtown next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wings0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have recently stayed here for the third time. It is like an oasis in the middle of an old residential area of Lisbon. The service is superb, the rooms are spacious and well appointed the gardens and pool are very relaxing and breakfast is in an old courtyard which is very relaxing. This is a proper 5 star hotel and I will be going back the next time I am in Lisbon. I can't think of a negative about this place.

Room Tip: Choose a garden facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an oasis in Lisbon, it is a little far way some attractions, but Lisbon taxi service is very good and inexpensive, usually it will take 10' journey to any important place and 5,00 euros.

The service granted in this hotel is second to none! Everyone in the hotel is friendly and very professional, but with a touch of personality that made the experience of Lisbon been unique!

The concierge service is fantastic, specially Mr Hugo Pereira and Mr Rui Palma. I left to Mr Hugo decide and arrange reservations for dinner around town, usually a read a lot of information regarding this matters, but this time leaving to him was perfect, very well chosen restaurants with fabulous food!

This hotel has one of the best showers I have been to in a Hotel, again fantastic!

I am pretty sure I will be back to Lisbon and to this hotel, specially for the service!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Munir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Property: Olissippo Lapa Palace
Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing