We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Ranked #14 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2009

After staying at the Sofitel for five days to travel around Lisbon, I moved to stay at the Lapa Palace for the last two days of my trip. I wanted to have some relaxing moments after days of sightseeing, and from the hotel's description, it seemed like a perfect place for that. And my expectation was definitely met.

My room was spacious and charmingly decorated in a classical style, the bathroom had a separate tub and a shower, and I loved the toiletries provided. My only initial small disappointment was that my "riverview" room only had a partial view of the river, obstructed by the view of the hotel's outdoor pool and the trees surrounding it. Still, as the view over the garden and the pool was pleasant enough and I could see the red roofs dotting a hill across from the hotel, I was quite satisfied in the end.

I also booked two treatments at the La Prairie spa at the hotel, and they were one of the best spa treatments I've received, and the staff were very professional and friendly. I did not use the indoor pool, but I did use the outdoor pool in one evening. The weather was cool in the evening, so I was the only one using the pool, but since the pool was heated, I had a great time swimming in the uncrowded pool. I also had a dinner at the Cipriani restaurant in the hotel, and the restaurant had a very romantic atmosphere, and the food was top-notch.

I think the Lapa Palace is a great "urban resort" hotel, but I don't think it's conveniently located for sightseeing. It took me about 15-20 minutes by taxi to get to the hotel from the Sofitel, which is located in Avenida da Liberdade, and I would imagine that it would take around the same time to get to the Bairro Alto or more for Alfama. However, the Lapa Palace suited my purpose of stay, and I enjoyed every minute of my stay there.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
1  Thank somanycontradictions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

729 - 735 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2009

I have recently organized our yearly 3 Day Sales Conference at the Lapa Palace hotel and where I have received an outstanding five star service.

I had the constant feeling that I had a team behind me to help make the event a successful one, giving me the opportunity to stay focused on the content of the event. From the inspection visit to the end of the event I have received constant and careful attention with a team of people really supportive.

At the Lapa Palace you can of course take for granted a superior service to which you can add some little attentions that help make life easier and nicer.

I would recommend the Lapa Palace to any meeting manager.

Barbara Ghini
Italy
Ghini.b@alice.it

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dada65faenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

An oasis in Lisbon - lovely gardens to laze away the day with a super swimming pool and nice lunch options.

Rooms are great and up to the Orient Express standard as are the staff which are discreet but friendly and approachable. Super concierge, which booked us some good restaurants and fado. The hotels own dining options are good too.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

Hard to fault this hotel. I was however slightly surprised approaching it as photos always make it look like it's on the top of a hill all by itself, when in fact it's situated amongst various foreign embassies. However, it's a pleasant area and the hotel is in very nice landscaped grounds.

Absolutely nothing to fault with the room - large and comfy. Added to the fact I became ill whilst staying here, and I couldn't have felt more cosseted in the large bed.

Enjoyed the very good breakfasts, and also the lunches around the pool. But sadly didn't enjoy anything I ate in the evening at the swish restaurant. There was nothing wrong with the cooking - I presume Portuguese food just isn't to my taste? On Saturday evening everyone had made an effort to dress up and look smart whilst dining on the terrace with impressive views, however the management allowed some fool to ruin the atmosphere by wearing a football shirt and lower the tone. Why do upmarket hotels and restaurants allow this? When people dress up for dinner they don't want to sit next to someone who looks like a football hooligan.

This could have been the most delightful retreat, however it was spoilt by one selfish nouveau riche Spanish woman who allowed her three boys to ruin everyone's peace around the pool every day with their shouting and kicking a football. There were complaints, and the hotel manager should have taken steps to have a quiet word. Laying around this pool should have been wonderful as the pool and grounds are lovely.

Although we didn't use it, the indoor pool and spa looked impressive.

The service in the hotel was faultless, as was the standards of decoration. Though we felt hugely let down upon leaving when we were left to retrieve our own luggage from behind the reception. It left us feeling like "we've got your money, now get your bags yourself" - so that left us rather bemused. Why did no one help us?

For character I do believe this to probably be the best hotel in Lisbon. I toyed over staying at the Four Seasons though it doesn't have a proper outdoors swimming pool, and it's quite an ugly building. If Lisbon itself had impressed I would be tempted to stay at the Lapa Palace again, though my everlasting impression of this city is that it is covered in graffiti - I've never seen a city so destroyed by vandalism.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Serial_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2008

I've been there in july with my wife visiting my cousin in Portugal.
This is a really very good hotel with excellents acommodations.
For my friends in Portugal:
Este é um hotel com excelente staff e ótimos quartos.
Muito bom mesmo.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cierco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2008

We spent 4 days in the Lapa Palace. The hotel is very intimate and have a magnificent garden. The service was very good, bar, restaurant, housekeeping, spa, reception, everywhere we were meet by a friendly smile and fast service. Room river view) was spacious, clean and with a great view over the river and nearby cityarea. Breakfast was good and finally a hotel that have proper orange juice freshly squeezed. Food in restaurant is very delicious and you can eat well in nce bar also.
The outdoor pool is lovely, heated so it is possible to swim during the colder season also Indoor pool is good, with fresh supply of towels and "sunbeds" .
The Prairie Spa is good, the attendants some of the best we have met..
Reception, concierge, and doorman provided nice, relaxed and good service.
Hotel architecture is very nice, and the hotel is situated in the embassy area, with many interesting streets to walk. 15 min to walk to city centre.
The hotel is relatively expensive, but have some nice packages which gives a better deal.
Overall this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in on holiday, and we have stayes many places.
And, yes we hope to return !

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kurtis101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

This is the second time in bussiness we stayed in Portugal on march/2008, and one more time i felt in love for such a beautiful country. We arrived after lunch on Lapa Palace, at the entrance such amazing tall gentleman (sorry not to mention the name) received us Me and my wife, from that moment we fell that our stay would be completelly marvellous, a beautiful lady from the reception took us to the room, we stayed on the 3rd floor of the Garden Wing on Lapa Palace Hotel, the room was so beautiful, tidy and clean, all perfect in the room, the only problem was the noises from childrens in the hall, and from the Spa that was just a few seconds away from our room, the reception lady was always in the morning speaking very loudly and in a non friendly way, unfortunately we didn't had time to do Spa Treatments, maybe next time. We went to the restaurant Cipriani the food was superb, and we had the privilege to speak with the chef, such an encharming person.
The only thing we regret, was our short stay. But we are already planning a trip next year, and defenetelly we'll stay on Lapa Palace.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Xvainss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,931 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#10 of 255 in Lisbon
1,001 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#19 of 255 in Lisbon
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £274 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing