We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olissippo Lapa Palace
Ranked #11 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This is truly a 5 star hotel. The rooms the lobby the garden area, it all was palatial. Beautiful hotel, accomodating staff. Good restaurant. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lastresortname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
There are newer reviews for Olissippo Lapa Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

666 - 672 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

We only had one night to spend in Lisbon, and this turned out to be the perfect place. Our room was beautiful, clean and quiet with a luxurious bathroom, the pool is very nice and the dinning is fabulous. We had the most amazing lunch overlooking the beautiful red roofs of Lisbon. Loved the food and the service. A great place to stay in Lisbon.
One thing: do not leave Lisbon without visiting Sintra. It's only a 30 minutes drive and it's fabulous!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bringing_the_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We arrived to find there had been a mistake with our internet booking. The receptionist took us to our room and explained that it had been set up for one person but not to worry as they would sort it out. She also booked us in for a meal at the restaurant as we arrived quite late in the evening. There was a wide selection of pillows and as my husband is allergic to feathers we chose an appropriate pillow from the list. The meal in the restaurant was excellent and extremely good value for the quality of the food and wine. When we arrived back to our room everything had been sorted with the requested pillows. Throughout our stay the staff were attentive, friendly and professional. The bar was very attractive with indoor and outdoor seating.The outdoor swimming pool and gardens were fabulous.We felt very welcome and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beach_hut28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Stayed in a lot of nice places for both business and leisure and it rarely gets much better than this. Stayed two nights before heading down to Vilajoya in the Algarve (another beautiful place) and was sorry to have to leave. Staff were unfailingly friendly, professional and helpful. Food was good and room service was prompt. Our room had a balcony that overlooked the gardens and the river which made for a great breakfast in the morning. Gardens are very pretty and a nice oasis in the city. The trip coincided with my birthday and I came back from meetings to find cake and champagne waiting in the room!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingColoradans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I am ambivalent about the Lapa Palace, after staying for 4 nights in September. It is a beautiful hotel, in a faded european kind of way, with very ornate furnishings and staff outfitted in very old style uniforms. Service was generally very good, but I found the level of formality uncomfortable and rather old fashioned. As others have mentioned, it is some distance from the centre of the city, but has a beautiful pool area if you are into that. If you like that formal type of european hotel, then you will enjoy the Lapa Palace, but next time I am in Lisbon, I will probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CassGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

My wife, 12 year old son and I spent three pleasant nights at the Lapa Palace in Lisbon in December, 2009. I strongly recommend the hotel.

My wife and I had spent the first three nights of our honeymoon at the hotel (then called the Hotel Da Lapa) in 1994, in the original building, known as the Palace Wing now. So, I was interested to see how the hotel would seem 15 years later. I’m pleased to report that our second stay was as pleasant as our first, and perhaps even better.

Through the intervention of the General Manager at Reids on Madeira (who had been the manager at the Lapa Palace), we were upgrade to what I believe the hotel now calls a Garden Suite. Our room, suite 500, was a terrific space, with 1 ½ baths, a separate living room (with fireplace), two balconies, a large bedroom with room for a spacious sitting area, separate walk-in closet and large bathroom with two sinks, a tub and separate shower. Absolutely terrific.

The lighting in the suite was great – I could easily read in any of the sitting locations (and there were about 5 places that fit that description). HVAC was efficient and effective. The room was “pin drop” quiet.

Bedding and linens were of deluxe quality.

All of our service touches were flawless – from the concierge (who was especially personable) to housekeeping to room service to breakfast.

The breakfast buffet, while not as extensive as the one we had just experienced at Reids, was nonetheless first rate.

The only downside to the hotel for some could be its location – a bit far away from the middle of town. This didn’t bother us, but it could be a problem for those who like a short walk to things.

I’ll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrrvilleRedRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

we had a wonderful 5 night stay in Lapa Palace. We were a little worried abuot the location of the hotel as it appreared to be a bit out of the city when we looked at the map but it turned out to be an excellent loaction. We caught the tram into the city a couple of times which was fun however a taxi ride was 10 minutes and very cheap. The hotel is very elegant, tranquil with a lovely pool and surrounding gardens, the rooms are lovely - we had room 522 which overlooked the gardens and was just perfect from a privacy point of view.
Can't recommend this hotel highly enough for those looking for a romantic or special place to stay. Previous hotles we have stayed in and enjoyed are the Oriental in Bangkok, Al Maha and Royal Mirage in Dubai and would put this hotel on a par with them.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 254 in Lisbon
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#8 of 254 in Lisbon
939 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 254 in Lisbon
934 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 254 in Lisbon
2,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olissippo Lapa Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olissippo Lapa Palace

Address: Rua do Pau da Bandeira, 4, Lisbon 1249-021, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £245 - £655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Olissippo Lapa Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 19th-century, this luxurious palace is nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus River and presents guests with the ideal base for an unforgettable stay in Lisbon. Tucked away in the city's diplomatic quarter, Lapa Palace is set in a beautiful sub-tropical garden. Sunbathe on a lounger in the pool area or pay a visit to the Spa, where you can treat yourself to hours of relaxation in the sauna. Traditional decor and elegant designs make each of the rooms a haven after a day of work or sightseeing. Marvel at panoramic views from the comfort of your balcony or enjoy a long bath in your marble bathroom. Thanks to the palace's convenient location, central Lisbon is only a short drive away. Park your car for free on site and indulge in fresh seafood at the restaurant. In the meantime, the concierge is happy to arrange various services for you, including the use of the VIP room facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Olissippo Lapa Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon
Lapa Palace Lisbon
Lapa Palace Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing