We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“atmospheric and very relaxing”
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
As Janelas Verdes
Ranked #6 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“atmospheric and very relaxing”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

i loved this hotel even though i didn't get the view or the double bed i asked for
it's a happy and calming atmosphere

lovely location if a bit of a walk from the centre, it's still an interesting area and easily walkable to the sights. the terraces are gorgeous.

if i went again i'd double check the room i'd been allocated before i arrived.

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyfromwestlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    163
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
94
570
26
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Excellent spacious rooms with lovely bathrooms; fabulous breakfast courtyard and excellent honour bar on top floor with view over harbour.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerava, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed here for first three nights of our stay in Lisbon. We came from Sesimbra and although we were couple of hours early, our room was ready. When checking in, we got lots of useful information about Lisboa, for example how to get to different attractions.

This hotel is in a quiet neighborhood having bus stop right next to hotel door. With 760 and 727 it is easy to get to Lisboa downtown. If you walk couple of minutes towards center, you can jump into tram 25E.

One night we ordered food from room service and price/quality was very good for that.

As mentioned in earlier reviews, rooms have a complimentary carafe of portwine and at least in our case it was even filled during our stay ;) Breakfast (to be ordered separately) was served to garden and there we had the best pasteis de nata outside Belem. From 3rd floor library/terrace there are nice views towards Rio Tejo.

One point of improvement to mention. We stayed in room 17 and clearly heard noices from the room next to us as there was a joint door making possible to combine these two rooms (?).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Very peaceful hotel, excellent breakfast, wonderful & helpful staff, exceptionally clean hotel, large rooms & the breakfast is perfect. Before I booked I spent ages looking at all the 4* star hotels and found it hard to choose, I can't sing the praises of this hotel enough and it is definately the best hotel.
The roof terrace is fabulous for relaxing with a G&T or Coffee.
The breakfast is served from 7.30 until 12...which is just great. Sitting outside in the relaxing court yard is a perfect way to start your day.

The hotel is in an excellent location. Local buses into the centre of Lisbon & Belem can be caught from the bus stop just a few minutes walk up the road from the hotel. The buses are easy and run regularly - you can pay the driver,(again very reasonable 1.50 ish euros per person) so have your map ready to show where you want to go. The Portugese are friendly & helpful.

A variety of great restaurants within walking distance.
1) Picanha restaurant just across the road has 3 starters & 3 main courses, I know this seems a limited choice but ...the food is excellent. Beef, Veal or Fish. With rice, salad & small jacket potatoes, just perfect. They offer more meat & salad & rice etc...as the meal progresses and have fantastic deserts and the wines are excellent too! Very clean & friendly. There is no menu on the door. Don't be put off just walk in. Honest this is a MUST! Very reasonable.

2) Sorry i forgot to take the name of this other restaurant but here are the directions...Out of the hotel, cross the road, turn left and take the 1st road on your right up a steep hill, you will notice a restaurant with blue and white tiles covering the building - do try here, as again excellent food & reasonable prices The guy speaks excellent English.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FoodieNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

As Janelas Verdes hotel was a great find in Lisbon! Totally off the touristic circuit, I'd never imagined I would find such a nice and tranquil hotel at the Santos neighborhood.
It's a small hotel, quiet, without the hush of nervous people going by the whole day like we experience in big chain hotels.
We stayed at the Eça de Queiroz suite, which was amazing, with a huge king size bed with a view to the Tejo. A spacious and well decorated bathroom, plus a chamber with a sofa, coffee pot, all sorts of teas and biscuits. The breakfast was served at this lovely garden, behind the hotel building and it was quite good.
Better of all was its staff, extremely polite, corteous and attentive (Thanx Rosario, Palmira and guy with glasses).
Even though it's location may seem a little far from touristic attractions, there's a bus stop just outside the hotel where u can use the public transportation to almost anywhere in the city (buses 760, 727 and 714).
We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank united90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Toelz, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights with a friend. The hotel itself is wonderfully equiped, the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The size of the room is big enough, even for the price honestly I have seen more value. This is in the end the only downside - I think that even given the wonderful location, it is too expensive - same for the breakfast.
Nevertheless we enjoyed the evenings after a long walk through the dusty streets on the wonderfull terrasse with the wonderful Portwine, which is offered by the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaurusMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

The service was friendly and the staff went out of their way to help with queries e.g the transport system, booking water trips etc, the hotel was as charming as the images on the web site suggests, and the air conditioned bedroom (with sea view) was very comfortable with plenty of storage space. The bathoom was spacious and well appointed with soap and shampoo replaced when used. The library with balcony looked out on to the sea and caught the evening breeze - which was appreciated given the lovely weather in June.
Hard to say what was best - perhaps the leisurely breakfast (until noon) in the garden/courtyard. What was worst - the list of local restuarants was a little out of date - one had closed so we had an abortive trip.
Would recommend the hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staffstyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
2,264 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
551 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 247 in Lisbon
2,653 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#16 of 247 in Lisbon
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Property: As Janelas Verdes
Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Janelas Verdes is a small charming boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. This 18th-century palace is next to the National Ancient Art Museum. With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The rooms are sunny and cheerful and the Tagus is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing