We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, excellent accommodation and service”
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
As Janelas Verdes
Ranked #8 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We rounded off a week in Sintra and Mafra with one night at As Janelas Verdes in Lisbon and wished we could have stayed for longer. The hotel was excellent in all respects - attractive public areas and rooms; honesty bar arrangements for guests in the lounge, garden and terrace; very helpful and informative staff; efficient but unobtrusive airconditioning - all in a charming historic building. Our breakfast in the garden was also rather too short, as we had to get to the airport for our flight home, but of high quality and in delightful surroundings.
The area around the hotel is off the main tourist trail but easily accessible on a quiet side street away from main traffic routes, around a 10 - 12 euro taxi ride from the airport, near to tram routes into the centre and out to Belem, plus it is very near the waterfront. Allow around 25-30 minutes to walk to the big square at Praca do Commercio. There are several restaurants nearby, one of which we enjoyed a fabolous meal at - Frade dos Mares - I recommend that just as highly as As Jarnelas Verdes, a great one night combination for Lisbon and a credit to Portugese hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

This small, old fashioned hotel has a lovely terrace as well as an indoor breakfast room. Port in a decanter in the room. Upstairs library and balcony. It is in a quiet part of town.
Only difficulty was getting around if a taxi not immediately available. Not far from train station. Lovely to take a day trip by train out of the city,too.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robdon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at the Janelas Verdes for 2 nights at the end of a 12 day vacation in Portugal. The hotel was very charming and the library area wonderful with a fantastic view. The hotel staff was engaging and helpful with directions, reservations, etc. I forgot my toiletry bag in the hurry to depart and they even mailed it to me. That kind of thoughtfulness was quite unexpected but very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrvlBugAMS-SEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I had stayed at Janelas Verdes in July, with my wife and son, and returned in August for a business trip. Traveling on my own, this time I asked for the standard room. Even in a room facing the street one could hardly hear any noise. Clean, homely, very comfortable. And the staff is second to none. Special thanks to Ms. Palmira Barao and Vitor Pacheco, from the front desk. By the way: it's so good when you're not pestered by those "ecological" warnings on towels and the likes, and it seems that Heritage Janelas Verdes is one of the few hotels that don't greet you in such annoying terms. Kudos! Till next time, folks!

Room Tip: The Eça de Queiroz suites are splendid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My husband and myself stayed for 3 nights at the end of July. From the moment we arrived we knew that this hotel was special. Without being asked the receptionist gave us a map of the area and told us about buses and routes. Our room was beautiful with everything you could need in it. There were beautiful Molton Brown products in the bathroom, dressing gowns and slippers. In the wardrobe there was a safe and there was even an umbrella . The balcony where you could sit and take in the view and sip a drink from the Honesty Bar was fabulous. The breakfast ,which we had in the garden had everything you could desire. My review doesn't do justice to this beautiful hotel. Wish we could have stayed longer BUT WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terryCorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

i loved this hotel even though i didn't get the view or the double bed i asked for
it's a happy and calming atmosphere

lovely location if a bit of a walk from the centre, it's still an interesting area and easily walkable to the sights. the terraces are gorgeous.

if i went again i'd double check the room i'd been allocated before i arrived.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank ladyfromwestlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Excellent spacious rooms with lovely bathrooms; fabulous breakfast courtyard and excellent honour bar on top floor with view over harbour.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
2,429 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 255 in Lisbon
893 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,621 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Green Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £100 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this 18th-century mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The neighborhood of Lapa retains much of its traditional character and is not so crowded and touristic as other adjacent quarters like Bairro Alto and Chiado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing