We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average, less than very good”
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
As Janelas Verdes
Ranked #7 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The reviews on Tripadvisor and the website suggested As Janelas Verdes is a superb 4 star hotel, but it isn’t. It is nice, but not a 4 star hotel. The positives include: it has lots of character (although the fact that some famous Portuguese writer seems to have resided there or used the building in one of his novels really doesn’t do much for me), a super-friendly service, a nice terrace and a good breakfast. Negatives are: the hotel interior, such as carpets, bathrooms, is really dated and it is like time has stood still for a generation, parking is near impossible, it is along a relatively busy road (although it didn’t disturb me at night), there is no restaurant and it is not really in the historical center (those who like walking won’t need a taxi though). I suspect the hotel, like more and more hotels do, encourages satisfied customers to post raving reviews, which creates a bias in reviews.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maximu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at As Janelas Verdes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and specially your comments about our staff.
The As Janelas Verdes, as you say, has a lot of character. Our aim is that our guests feel like in an old friend’s home in Lisbon (traditional and where you feel welcomed).
We are situated in the triangle of 3 of the oldest quarters of Lisbon: the aristocratic Lapa, the popular Madragoa and Santos-o-Velho, where the Royal Palace was in the XV century. Also a short walk to Bairro Alto (10-15 minutes).
Parking in our area is not easy but we have a garage in the premises exclusively for our guests.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
There are newer reviews for As Janelas Verdes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

It is like visiting friends in their old house....
Nice , cosy rooms , good breakfast, very hepfull staff always trying to give you the best tips for sightseeing or dinner .
Beautifull terrasse with the library and a little kitchen when you can prepare you ur tee or coffee..
Thank you for the Ramiro restaurant recomendation...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monika1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This hotel has the most serene and gracious atmosphere. The staff is so calm and the guests seem to pick up on this. It is an excellent place for New years,with the top floor terrace looking out over the river where the fireworks display is accompanied by sound of ships' horns. At reception I was given the option of the hotel booking NewYears Eve dining. At arrival I was disappointed that the Hotel has no restaurant per se, but then took advantage of the roomservice snack menu served in the top floor library with its terrace and complimentary tea. A great museum is just steps down the street,with complimentary admission from the hotel. Breakfast was substantial. This hotel also has great wifi coverage,easy to access. I stayed seven nights and liked it better as days passed.The area around the hotel is not touristy but two buses are at the ready and taxis in Lisbon are a real bargain. Reception took care of this too and helped with online checkin and a printed boarding pass for my flight.














  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barretteagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Lovely public areas, especially the library terrace - excellent service and the honesty bar system works very well. However, the bedrooms are 'tired' and the beds hard - breakfast not as good as some reviews suggest.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScarlettSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We had short stay in Lisbon this month reaching the hotel from the airport cost around €10 by taxi. The staff made our stay very pleasent and always helped us with places to eat locally. The bus 760 passes the hotel very frequently into the centre or 5 mins walk away is Santos tram stop to the centre or Belem. We found some great local family restaurants within a few minutes walk offering great local produce. We ate well with wine for under €20 including a great steak. Rooms are very clean and there's a great roof terrace. A Lisbon card bought on arrival is a great way to travel about including Sintra by train, a must see village and palace. Slightly out of the centre but a fantastic place to stay. Our breakfast was included and was excellent. I normally avoid room service food but the Cheese & ham toasties are worth every euro.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pandahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Exquisite and perfect for a group of traveling couples to make their home while in Lisbon. We thoroughly enjoyed the gorgeous library with the terrace, and the lush courtyard garden for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaJ7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

in a quiet part of Lisbon. We had a comfortable, good size room with harbor view. All the common areas are inviting and tastefully decorated and the open courtyard is lovely. The staff was friendly and welcoming and made our stay there perfect!

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher floor with harbor view
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 254 in Lisbon
856 reviews
Britania Hotel
#5 of 254 in Lisbon
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 254 in Lisbon
1,560 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 254 in Lisbon
604 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 254 in Lisbon
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £115 - £1,020 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this 18th-century mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The neighborhood of Lapa retains much of its traditional character and is not so crowded and touristic as other adjacent quarters like Bairro Alto and Chiado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing