We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wet Lisbon visit made good”
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
As Janelas Verdes
Ranked #7 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wet Lisbon visit made good”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Two wet days in Lisbon were rescued by a first class overnight stay at As Janelas Verdes. Very private "boutique" hotel with warm / welcoming / helpful staff and very tastefully furnished rooms / public areas. We were on the third floor adjacent to the fantastic library / sitting room that overlooks the Tagus. Honour bar and a help-yourself hot drinks and snacks facility (also on the third floor) made us feel very much "at ease / at home". Excellent breakfast provided in delightful surroundings. The slightly off city centre hotel location was not a problem as Lisbon sights are well spread and some local transport is needed where ever you stay. Local Portuguese family restaurant, as recommended by the hotel, provided an evening meal / night out to remember; try it for yourself!!

Room Tip: Can only speak for the third floor; we will ask for this floor on our planned return next year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jensteveu7250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    159
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
91
553
26
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

This wonderful hotel is just perfect. The staff are charming and very helpful. The rooms we had overlooked the street but double glazing cuts out all noise. The library is such a lovely room and the honesty bar makes it feel like you are in your own home. We also sat outside in the terrace garden. And as though all of that were not enough they have the best breakfast buffet I have ever encountered- including an orange squeezer and a nespresso machine. If you are going to Lisbon don't stay anywhere else.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank aketonantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

The As Janelas Verdes hotel is nice boutique hotel, that make their guest feel as they are at their own home. The honesty bar allowed you 24 hour self service of a nice cup of coffee or tea (blend of the house) with sugar cookies. Also you can enjoy the beautiful view of the river from the library where you can seat in order to drink your coffee and read a book in a very comfortable atmosphere.
The room we have was nice, and although looking to the street it we didn't hear any noise by night that didn't allowed us to sleep.
The morning receptionist is really kind and helpful, and in general all the staff tries to help you even if they don't speak English.
Even it is not in the city center, a short bus ride (717) that runs in front of the hotel takes you to the city center.
Also the buffet breakfast is really good.
Gladly we will stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lugasalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at As Janelas Verdes, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us.
We try that our guests feel like in a friend’s home in Lisbon and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Although all our reception staff speaks English some of our room staff may not, but as you say, they are always willing to help.
The location is also in a residential area, in the old part of Lisbon, with the possibility of experiencing the locals lifestyle in the aristocratic Bairro da Lapa and in the popular Bairro da Madragoa.
If you walk 15 minutes up the river to the Bica Funicular (that connects Bica to the Bairro Alto and Chiado) you will also have the opportunity to see an old part of Lisbon that is less known by the tourists.
Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcoming you again to our home.
Your sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Small, boutique hotel, near downtown, although it requires a short cab ride - 5 to 6 Euros. Very charming, beautiful outdoor breakfast area and library upstairs. Staff is extremely helpful, specially the girls at the front desk. Arrived much earlier than check in time and was quickly accommodated plus offered breakfast as well. Highly recommend it. Stayed for 3 days on Sep/2012.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Our first time in Lisbon and we chose this hotel because of the reviews and photos. It did not disappoint. Unfortunately due to flight delays we did not arrive until 4am but staff were helpful, courteous and friendly even at that time. Reception staff were knowledgable and helpful hroughout our stay. Only caution is that it is not best placed for walking into city. Be prepared to take trams, buses or taxis which are all cheap and reliable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 21leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

Just fantastic in every way. Rooms are lovely, library and balcony so comfy and relaxing, an 'honesty bar', friendly and helpful staff, free port in the rooms, etc. A welcome and relaxing feel - unlike 'chain' hotels. I have stayed in many, many hotels over the years and this (along with the Shangri-La in Bangkok) is my all time favourite. Just wonderful.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed four nights and paid a little more for a really spacious room. Quiet air con and comfy bed meant we were always late down for breakfast. But they serve it until noon so never any rush! And breakfast is pretty good too. In fact nothing is too much trouble here.

Initially we thought it was not in a brilliant location, but a little research revealed excellent restaurants within 5mins walk. Santos tram station is nearby and buses stop outside the door. And public transport here is really cheap.

As others have said, the Library has amazing views, an honesty bar and there's free wifi everywhere. I'm a writer and found it a great place to drink beer, munch a few pre-dinner nibbles and knock out a few hundred words before dinner each evening.

I plan to return . . . . . and that really says it all.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank RobertAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Property: As Janelas Verdes
Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Janelas Verdes is a small charming boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. This 18th-century palace is next to the National Ancient Art Museum. With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The rooms are sunny and cheerful and the Tagus is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing