We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
As Janelas Verdes
Ranked #7 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Perfecton from day one, the staff were really nice and very helpful, the hotel is beautiful and so welcoming. The room was brilliant, it had a massive comfy bed, complimentary bottle of porto,slippers, robes, tv with loads of channels, nice bathroom, great breakfast, terrace looking out at the port, beautiful garden and so so clean. Great location, bus stop right outside, few minutes to the centre of town.The honesty bar in the library sent it over the edge. Best hotel i ever stayed in, will be back !!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyJaneClonmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    156
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
90
534
24
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa
Level Contributor
190 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

The good: the hotel is in a house full of history, very charming and wonderfull views across the river. Our stay was just for one night but we felt very cosy and welcomed.
The not so good: cheap tv set in our bedroom (although cable tv).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Just back from 4 nights at this delightful hotel. The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient, the rooms were beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean, and breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The bonus was the library and terrace with views across the river, and a little kitchen where you could make tea or coffee, or help yourself to drinks courtesy of the honesty bar. Such a relaxed feel - it couldn't have been better. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda-Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

The hotel is a small boutique hotel, with the most accommodating staff, wonderful breakfasts and elegant rooms. We stayed on 1st floor, overlooking the street, but the fabulous 4x glazing blocks out all the noise. The library is a beautiful room with stunning views over the river - try watching the sunrise from the balcony. We got up specially every morning and enjoyed a cuppa in our dressing gowns while we watched the day begin. Breakfast is served in a beautiful courtyard, and is thoughtfully and beatifully presented. It was a joy to stay there, and if and when we return to Lisbon, would go nowhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Two wet days in Lisbon were rescued by a first class overnight stay at As Janelas Verdes. Very private "boutique" hotel with warm / welcoming / helpful staff and very tastefully furnished rooms / public areas. We were on the third floor adjacent to the fantastic library / sitting room that overlooks the Tagus. Honour bar and a help-yourself hot drinks and snacks facility (also on the third floor) made us feel very much "at ease / at home". Excellent breakfast provided in delightful surroundings. The slightly off city centre hotel location was not a problem as Lisbon sights are well spread and some local transport is needed where ever you stay. Local Portuguese family restaurant, as recommended by the hotel, provided an evening meal / night out to remember; try it for yourself!!

Room Tip: Can only speak for the third floor; we will ask for this floor on our planned return next year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jensteveu7250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

This wonderful hotel is just perfect. The staff are charming and very helpful. The rooms we had overlooked the street but double glazing cuts out all noise. The library is such a lovely room and the honesty bar makes it feel like you are in your own home. We also sat outside in the terrace garden. And as though all of that were not enough they have the best breakfast buffet I have ever encountered- including an orange squeezer and a nespresso machine. If you are going to Lisbon don't stay anywhere else.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank aketonantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

The As Janelas Verdes hotel is nice boutique hotel, that make their guest feel as they are at their own home. The honesty bar allowed you 24 hour self service of a nice cup of coffee or tea (blend of the house) with sugar cookies. Also you can enjoy the beautiful view of the river from the library where you can seat in order to drink your coffee and read a book in a very comfortable atmosphere.
The room we have was nice, and although looking to the street it we didn't hear any noise by night that didn't allowed us to sleep.
The morning receptionist is really kind and helpful, and in general all the staff tries to help you even if they don't speak English.
Even it is not in the city center, a short bus ride (717) that runs in front of the hotel takes you to the city center.
Also the buffet breakfast is really good.
Gladly we will stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lugasalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at As Janelas Verdes, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us.
We try that our guests feel like in a friend’s home in Lisbon and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Although all our reception staff speaks English some of our room staff may not, but as you say, they are always willing to help.
The location is also in a residential area, in the old part of Lisbon, with the possibility of experiencing the locals lifestyle in the aristocratic Bairro da Lapa and in the popular Bairro da Madragoa.
If you walk 15 minutes up the river to the Bica Funicular (that connects Bica to the Bairro Alto and Chiado) you will also have the opportunity to see an old part of Lisbon that is less known by the tourists.
Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcoming you again to our home.
Your sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Property: As Janelas Verdes
Address: R. Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Janelas Verdes is a small charming boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. This 18th-century palace is next to the National Ancient Art Museum. With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The rooms are sunny and cheerful and the Tagus is close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing