We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel to stay in Lisbon”
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
As Janelas Verdes
Ranked #7 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 March 2013

From the very beginning we found As Janelas Verdes very special place. With no doubt it was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed. Perfect location, off the city centre with nice walking distance to main turist atractions: Amalfa, Baixa was just 20-30 min walk. Bottle of porto to start was a nice surprise. We got a room overlooking the river - very spacious, huge bathroom was with plenty of day light. Breaksat was served until very late and the quality was top. I loved the seating room area and the library on the top floor - was great to seat there and enjoy the view of Lisbon. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Do not need to look for another place in Lisbon - As Janales Verdes will be definitely great place to come back. Looking forward to the next time to Lisbon. And As Janelas Verdes.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for room with the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgor_Dublin_Lublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights and had a peaceful room with a fantastic view over the river. So many small details surprised us: the initials on the towels, the bottle of free Port wine, breakfast was available for hours. We only saw women working there and they were all helpful. The hotel is very charming and is in walking distance to downtown (maybe 20min). There is a lovely library where you can serve yourself a drink, read a book or get dinner served. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BettinaPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We loved this hotel... it isn't as central as some options, but we liked the area... We liked the atmosphere and character of the place... especially the library at the top of the hotel where you can have a drink from the honesty bar and take in the views... Staff were lovely and gave us lots of good recommendations... Lisbon itself was a great city break, very laid back, charming people and we have a lot of good memories from this trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidacm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We loved our stay at Janelas Verdes and felt very privileged to be in such a beautiful historic house (said to be where the author of Os Maios lived) - like staying in the private house of rich friends. Everything was perfect: enchanting terrace overlooking the Tagus river; comfortable bedrooms, beautifully furnished public rooms (downstairs sitting rooms, top floor library and its honesty bar), attentive and efficient service, friendly staff, free tea and coffee in the library, decanter of port in the bedroom.
Breakfast was a delight with freshly squeezed oranges and some of the best Portuguese tarts and breads. This was served in the garden when the weather was warm and was one of the most enjoyable experiences.
Slightly away from downtown Lisbon the hotel is in a quiet area but is well served with buses and tramway lines meaning you can reach most areas very easily for sightseeing. There are lots of good, small typically Portuguese restaurants nearby.
All in all this was the most perfect place to stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarHod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay in this hotel. It has all been said before but this is a fantastic hotel in every way. The staff were wonderful and the breakfasts were amazing. You feel as if you are staying in a beautiful home with everything you could need. We stayed on the first floor at the back overlooking the beautiful terrace.
The only downside for us was beyond the hotel's control. There is a lot building work taking place next door which we were warned about on the hotel website. The noise of drilling woke us up on two mornings not long after 7 am and continued all day until after 7pm. Don't let this put you off but if you enjoy a quiet lie in perhaps you should check whether the building work has finished before you book.
This did not spoil our visit and was made up by the complimentary port and slippers and dressing gown!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed at As Janeles Verdes recently for a 4 night winter break and loved it. First impressions are little bit old fashioned but after a change of room to one on the third floor with lovely views over the river and a lighter feel, we really settled in.
The breakfasts are really good especially the Pasteles de Belem!!!!
The staff were so helpful especially Elsa, who magaged to get a replacement Tour ticket to replace the one my husband lost at no charge and met us in the centre of Lisbon to hand over.

Some nice restaurants nearby, with one directly across from the hotel and we loved walking around the neighbourhood, getting on trams and buses was really easy.

Had a really nice time and did so much in four days as the excellent transport system is wonderful.
Will go back for sure.
s and g mac

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better and the Third floor overlooking the river is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Excellent atmosphere, friendly, rooms allright if a bit old style with all amenities and a complementary bottle of porto. The library and honesty bar are excellent ideas (especially since my room on 3rd floor allowed me to step out in my pijamas to the honesty bar to grab a coffee and free cookies in a generous assortment). Receptionists were very kind in providing good recommendations for tours and restaurants off the beaten track (I visited Madragoa Cafe close by and was very happy). I liked the location but it should be noted it is not exactly in the heart of the action, but there are direct buses to both the Praca do Comercio and Belem.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camelia_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#3 of 255 in Lisbon
2,417 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
888 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 255 in Lisbon
1,608 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £93 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this 18th-century mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The neighborhood of Lapa retains much of its traditional character and is not so crowded and touristic as other adjacent quarters like Bairro Alto and Chiado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing