We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely refuge amidst the hustle and bustle of Lisbon”
Review of As Janelas Verdes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
As Janelas Verdes
Ranked #6 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lagos, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely refuge amidst the hustle and bustle of Lisbon”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a beautiful old townhouse, very well maintained with courteous, professional staff catering to every need. The library/lounge with stunning views and honour bar was a great place to have a pre-dinner drink. Breakfast in the garden the following morning was a lovely start to the day. The walk from the hotel to the city centre through different districts - Lapa, Baixa Chiado and Chiado - took about 40 minutes. There are trams and buses available outside the door of the hotel and a taxi is about €4. I loved my stay at As Janelas Verdes and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 33 looked fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    166
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
103
588
26
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Took the overnight train from Madrid and arrived very early. Without hesitation we were invited to the fresh and wonderful breakfast in the flower-filled courtyard. All staff were pleasant, professional, and spoke excellent English. The hotel is a 19th century mansion and has been lovingly cared for and is in great shape. Unfortunately, the area it is in is (being kind) a little rundown. Although we always felt safe, it is a 20 minute walk to anything interesting. There is a bus stop 100 feet from the hotel. Bus will take you to the city center and runs about every 20 minutes for about 2 buck and 2 bits.. You are always treated as a welcomed guest. It was a wonderful visit, but (only because of the location) we would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms #1 or #2. They are in the hallway leading to the breakfast courtyard. The only c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at As Janelas Verdes, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback and your kind words about our staff and our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us despite our particular location.
As Janelas Verdes is located in a residential area in a triangle formed by the aristocratic Lapa district, the popular Bairro da Madragoa (adjacent to Bairro Alto) and Santos-o-Velho. They are very old and characteristic quarters near the river Tagus and many of the houses and buildings are now being recuperated. There are many little restaurants and small shops around us which is a characteristic of Lisbon’s historic quarters. This area is not so crowded and touristic as other parts of Lisbon but that is also an advantage for someone who wants to know the city’s authentic lifestyle . There are several National Monuments in this area, like the National Museum of Ancient Art, the Parliament, Basilica da Estrela, etc., and you can also easily walk to some touristic quarters like Bairro Alto and Chiado or to well known places by the river like the Docas.
Thank you once more and we look forward to welcoming you again to Lisbon.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We liked the hotel very much, mansion is beautiful and well maintained. The views from the common terrace are great and the library has a really nice atmosphere. Many complement the honor bar, which did look varied.
A complementary carafe of porto is such a nice welcome after a day's walk.
Breakfast is great, they have both a buffet style, but you can also order individually. Buffet includes champagne, fresh oranges to squeeze your juice seconds before drinking it. Very caring lady that manages the breakfast, so it feels a very generous treatment.
The front desk is helpful and professional, we appreciated their flexibility too.
Location is not that great, Lapa does have a lot of embassies, but the area is rundown, also the 10-15 min walk to Baixa-center of the city- is through a rundown if not abandoned streets.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor in rooms facing patio, they have nice view and are quite. Rooms facing road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelista2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Maybe you always love your first the best - this was our first hotel in Portugal and it was wonderful. we arrived exhausted from the overnight flight and the clerk immediately invited us to share breakfast in the courtyard. The breakfast was amazing, and one of my favorite parts of the trip. I loved the little courtyard, and the rooftop balcony where we could sip drinks from the honor bar and watch the ships float by on the Tagus. The street was quiet (even on St. Anthony's), the staff was very helpful and friendly, the room was pleasant and clean, and the bathroom was huge and bright and cheerful. No complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank simplegifts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Other reviewers described the charm very well. I stayed here on my first trip to Lisbon traveling solo. I appreciated the location equidistance from Belem and downtown. Bus stop right outside the hotel. Great recommendations by the staff. Honor bar is a great treat after a long day of walking before heading out for the night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here during the week of her birthday a couple of weeks back. I must say that the place is simply charming. The rooms were of a good size, clean, well appointed and well served. Breakfast out in the garden was lovely (thanks in part to the weather). The food was plentiful and was kept fresh by two or three very busy and diligent ladies. Rosario on the front desk could not have been more helpful - a real asset to the hotel.

The library is also a nice touch and we popped in several times, used the honour bar and pouched the nuts and crisps.

We will return for sure.

Martin & Nikki

Room Tip: Stay on the the third floor - that's where the library is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I booked this hotel following reviews on TripAdvisor and it turns out the TripAdvisor crew were right! The hotel is not in the centre of the Lisbon but an easy bus journey away or even a nice walk through some lovely authentic streets.
The hotel staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and very good at advising where to go in the local area and how to get there.
The room we had was wonderful, a nice size and very clean and comfortable. The view from the library is perfect and many hours could be spent sipping on a glass of port whilst watching the boats come and go.
We would definitely visit Lisbon again and would definitely stay and recommend this hotel. It made our holiday!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCM1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#4 of 251 in Lisbon
2,325 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 251 in Lisbon
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#20 of 251 in Lisbon
1,528 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 251 in Lisbon
585 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 251 in Lisbon
2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to As Janelas Verdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about As Janelas Verdes

Property: As Janelas Verdes
Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes, 47, Lisbon 1200-690, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — As Janelas Verdes 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its small garden and the top floor library overlooking the river, this 18th-century mansion transmits a romantic and welcoming feeling. The neighborhood of Lapa retains much of its traditional character and is not so crowded and touristic as other adjacent quarters like Bairro Alto and Chiado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your As Janelas Verdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
As Janelas Verdes Lisbon
As Janelas Verdes Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing