We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disapointing, but served it's purpose.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of York House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
York House
Ranked #161 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disapointing, but served it's purpose.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This was a disapointing experience, as the hotel has some great reviews and beautiful photographs. We stayed in a very basic room at the front of the hotel, which was very noisy with the cars and late night revellers. The room had far too many cupboards and was a bit cramped. The telly was in front of the bed instead of the sofa round the corner and the grout around the bath had disapeared, so water must have been leaking somewhere. The court yard is pretty, but was permanetly in the shade and it would have been nice to have some sun.
The public rooms are very nice indeed and the corridors have lovely vaulted ceilings.
I asked the reception staff if they could check us in for our flight on line because I did not have a laptop with me and my request was declined, which delayed us at the airport. This was in our view uincharacteristic, as the Portuguese are usually really helpful. Maybe it was just a misunderstanding?
Oh, it is also very convienient for night life and taxis are cheap. There is a a good restaurant close by called the Guarda Mor.

Room Tip: Probably not room 403
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ros h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    90
    39
    20
    8
See reviews for
22
127
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

York House was a wonderful place to stay for a weekend in Lisbon. It is a bit out of the centre but that just gives you an excuse to get to grips with the trams and buses which are frequent and efficient. The hotel staff were helpful with advice and information. We stayed in a (cheaper) unmodernised room which we thought was utterly charming. It was quiet and elegant and restful. Perhaps some might say there was a certain shabbiness in its charm but we found it delightful and very comfortable. Breakfasts did seem a bit on the expensive side and we were going to skip them but they were irresistable and really set us up for the day so we succumbed.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were given a really peaceful room at the end of the labyrynth of pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5TravellersBonA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

a very special place indeed for the special traveller.A former convent built into the city wall and terraced garden above the former docks. Its overall description is charm, wherever you look: alcoves and antiques blending perfectly into an elevated garden with huge centenary palmtrees. The service is attentive and very friendly. I can also recommend its restaurant. They serve exquisite Portuguese specialties, confirming that Portugal has one of the great cuisines of Europe, to go well with some of the best portuguese wines to have on a card.. The rates are not for backpackers but if you want to experience a historical olace and a delightful atmosphere paired with luxury comfort and style, this is a place to come back to. There is a tramway stop right outside from where one of those signature cars, well over 80 years old and, worth San Francisco's cablecars, will take you into the heart of the city in a few minutes, unless one prefers to enjoy the evening at the former docks by the harbor which have been turned into a lively and pleasurable attraction, only a street further down by elevator, with lots of exotic eateries, bars with music bands from Brazil or Cuba and definitely away from the beaten tracks

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLAUDE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed here in late October and loved it. I have been meaning to review it for a while. As other reviews mention, it has a nondescript street entrance and a long stairway up. I did not find either of those to be a problem, but if walking up stairs is difficult for you, that's something you should consider. The best part of the hotel is at the top of those stairs -- a charming, quiet garden where you can read, have a drink, or just relax. For us, just walking into the garden made us happy. We were near the end of a vacation, so having a place to relax felt particularly welcome. (We also spent 2 nights at the Palacete Chafaritz d'el Rei, which is far more ornate and luxurious, but for us it was less comfortable -- we have fonder memories of York House.) Our room was also spacious and comfortable -- it was one of the Superior rooms and had a good-sized bedroom upstairs (relatively small bathroom) and a large sitting room downstairs. As for service, we found the staff to be helpful and friendly. They helped us with restaurants, a guide, and a number of other things. They don't dote on you, but are there when you need them. The hotel is in the Lapa neighborhood, which is not right in the middle of things -- but not far either. The Bairro Alto and Chiado are not far -- walking distance, if you can handle the hills, or you can skip the hills and walk to the tram. Lapa is a pleasant neighborhood and the Museum of Ancient Art and the two best restaurants we found in Lisbon (Clube de Jornalistas and Alma-Henrique Sa Pessoa) are within a few blocks of the hotel. Speaking of restaurants, the one thing I would not recommend about the York House is the dinner. We ate there one night and didn't like it. Fortunately this is not a restaurant review. The bottom line is that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back if we returned to Lisbon.

Room Tip: Loved the 2-floor Superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phelan, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I read other reviews of the York House before my recent stay. It had been 35 years since I visited and I feared the hotel or neighborhood might have changed based on other reviews, but I needn't have worried. It was wonderful. Let's be clear. This is a 400 year old former convent that survived the quake of 1755. It has steps that are sometimes uneven and no elevator. The rooms are of modest size, but tastefully done. The courtyard, where we had breakfast every day is beautiful and serene. The area was very quiet and I found myself sleeping in every day.
Buses are close, as is a train. Taxis pass by frequently. The neighborhood has many nearby restaurants that are very nice. I recommend Boka de Santo.
If you are looking for plush carpet, liveried staff, fast elevators and high rise views, a la Hilton or Marriott, well . . . look up a Hilton or Marriott. If you want to experience Lisbon in a charming, historic hotel in a safe and quiet neighborhood then this may be your cup of tea.

Room Tip: Away from the street is the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BGericke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Very expensive for the value we get from this hotel. The recomendations we get weren't the best, they send us to expensive restaurants without quality

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Stayed in late Oct for 2 nights based on location and other reviews. We were very disappointed. Hotel is a warren of dark windowless corridors painted black for some reason. Our room, one of the "classic" categories (least expensive), was in need of repainting, with doors that had to be forced closed due to warping. From the web photos it seems that other rooms have been upgraded but our bathroom was old. Service in the restaurant was indifferent, food quality OK but not as good as the other 4 places we stayed at on our touring trip. Overall, after considering whether to leave after the first night, we stayed for the second but left with the feeling that York House is a) in need of considerable refurbishment and b) of being somewhat ripped off at the price. The location is OK but there are other more central all places to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VAtourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#40 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#22 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House

Property: York House
Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes 32, Lisbon 1200-691, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#109 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — York House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 17th century Convent converted to a homey Pension encompassing a patio & gardens overlooking river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your York House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York House Hotel Lisbon
York Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing