We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern lodging in hotel convent”
Review of York House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
York House
Ranked #161 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The hotel is located in an old convent, transformed into a hotel in 1890 by two ladies from Yorkshire, hence the name. Preserving the charm of these century old surroundings, particularly the lovely courtyard with its walls overgrown by vines, the hotel rooms are equipped with everything you would expect from a modern design hotel. The hotel is relatively small and hence maintains a family-type atmosphere. The in-house restaurant is pretty good, specializing in Portuguese cuisine. Moreover, a number of decent local restaurants are in walking distance. To get to the main attractions of Lisbon, you will need public transport or a taxi, but the latter are quite cheap in Lisbon compared to most other capitals. The only down-side of the hotel is that you have to climb some 50 steps to reach the entrance level, thus not recommended for those needing a wheelchair or otherwise unable to master stairs.

Room Tip: Each room apparently is designed differently.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmk010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
There are newer reviews for York House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

This was a disapointing experience, as the hotel has some great reviews and beautiful photographs. We stayed in a very basic room at the front of the hotel, which was very noisy with the cars and late night revellers. The room had far too many cupboards and was a bit cramped. The telly was in front of the bed instead of the sofa round the corner and the grout around the bath had disapeared, so water must have been leaking somewhere. The court yard is pretty, but was permanetly in the shade and it would have been nice to have some sun.
The public rooms are very nice indeed and the corridors have lovely vaulted ceilings.
I asked the reception staff if they could check us in for our flight on line because I did not have a laptop with me and my request was declined, which delayed us at the airport. This was in our view uincharacteristic, as the Portuguese are usually really helpful. Maybe it was just a misunderstanding?
Oh, it is also very convienient for night life and taxis are cheap. There is a a good restaurant close by called the Guarda Mor.

Room Tip: Probably not room 403
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ros h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

York House was a wonderful place to stay for a weekend in Lisbon. It is a bit out of the centre but that just gives you an excuse to get to grips with the trams and buses which are frequent and efficient. The hotel staff were helpful with advice and information. We stayed in a (cheaper) unmodernised room which we thought was utterly charming. It was quiet and elegant and restful. Perhaps some might say there was a certain shabbiness in its charm but we found it delightful and very comfortable. Breakfasts did seem a bit on the expensive side and we were going to skip them but they were irresistable and really set us up for the day so we succumbed.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were given a really peaceful room at the end of the labyrynth of pass...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5TravellersBonA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

a very special place indeed for the special traveller.A former convent built into the city wall and terraced garden above the former docks. Its overall description is charm, wherever you look: alcoves and antiques blending perfectly into an elevated garden with huge centenary palmtrees. The service is attentive and very friendly. I can also recommend its restaurant. They serve exquisite Portuguese specialties, confirming that Portugal has one of the great cuisines of Europe, to go well with some of the best portuguese wines to have on a card.. The rates are not for backpackers but if you want to experience a historical olace and a delightful atmosphere paired with luxury comfort and style, this is a place to come back to. There is a tramway stop right outside from where one of those signature cars, well over 80 years old and, worth San Francisco's cablecars, will take you into the heart of the city in a few minutes, unless one prefers to enjoy the evening at the former docks by the harbor which have been turned into a lively and pleasurable attraction, only a street further down by elevator, with lots of exotic eateries, bars with music bands from Brazil or Cuba and definitely away from the beaten tracks

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLAUDE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed here in late October and loved it. I have been meaning to review it for a while. As other reviews mention, it has a nondescript street entrance and a long stairway up. I did not find either of those to be a problem, but if walking up stairs is difficult for you, that's something you should consider. The best part of the hotel is at the top of those stairs -- a charming, quiet garden where you can read, have a drink, or just relax. For us, just walking into the garden made us happy. We were near the end of a vacation, so having a place to relax felt particularly welcome. (We also spent 2 nights at the Palacete Chafaritz d'el Rei, which is far more ornate and luxurious, but for us it was less comfortable -- we have fonder memories of York House.) Our room was also spacious and comfortable -- it was one of the Superior rooms and had a good-sized bedroom upstairs (relatively small bathroom) and a large sitting room downstairs. As for service, we found the staff to be helpful and friendly. They helped us with restaurants, a guide, and a number of other things. They don't dote on you, but are there when you need them. The hotel is in the Lapa neighborhood, which is not right in the middle of things -- but not far either. The Bairro Alto and Chiado are not far -- walking distance, if you can handle the hills, or you can skip the hills and walk to the tram. Lapa is a pleasant neighborhood and the Museum of Ancient Art and the two best restaurants we found in Lisbon (Clube de Jornalistas and Alma-Henrique Sa Pessoa) are within a few blocks of the hotel. Speaking of restaurants, the one thing I would not recommend about the York House is the dinner. We ate there one night and didn't like it. Fortunately this is not a restaurant review. The bottom line is that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back if we returned to Lisbon.

Room Tip: Loved the 2-floor Superior room
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I read other reviews of the York House before my recent stay. It had been 35 years since I visited and I feared the hotel or neighborhood might have changed based on other reviews, but I needn't have worried. It was wonderful. Let's be clear. This is a 400 year old former convent that survived the quake of 1755. It has steps that are sometimes uneven and no elevator. The rooms are of modest size, but tastefully done. The courtyard, where we had breakfast every day is beautiful and serene. The area was very quiet and I found myself sleeping in every day.
Buses are close, as is a train. Taxis pass by frequently. The neighborhood has many nearby restaurants that are very nice. I recommend Boka de Santo.
If you are looking for plush carpet, liveried staff, fast elevators and high rise views, a la Hilton or Marriott, well . . . look up a Hilton or Marriott. If you want to experience Lisbon in a charming, historic hotel in a safe and quiet neighborhood then this may be your cup of tea.

Room Tip: Away from the street is the quietest
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BGericke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Very expensive for the value we get from this hotel. The recomendations we get weren't the best, they send us to expensive restaurants without quality

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 253 in Lisbon
932 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#43 of 253 in Lisbon
1,506 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 253 in Lisbon
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Vincci Liberdade
#15 of 253 in Lisbon
607 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#31 of 253 in Lisbon
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House

Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes 32, Lisbon 1200-691, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#111 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £82 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — York House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 17th century Convent converted to a homey Pension encompassing a patio & gardens overlooking river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your York House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York House Hotel Lisbon
York Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing