We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of York House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
York House
Ranked #158 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

This hotel was alright. Friendly staff at reception, comfortable bed and a very pretty outdoor seating area, where breakfast is served each morning.
It is conveniently located between the city centre and the south western area of Belem, where there is a delightful array of museums, art galleries (not to mention the world famous custard tart bakeries). However, it would have been easier to be nearer to more cafes and bars (absolutely everything we wanted to do was a bus ride away). The breakfast was also over priced for what it was. On one day, there were ants crawling around the cheese.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msmonkeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    90
    39
    20
    8
See reviews for
22
127
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

I really enjoyed my stay in this old style monastery, the top benefit was after climbing the steps you quickly escape the city centre noise and could be out in the country. The style is nice and rooms in pretty good shape for an old place, I would go back. Definitely a place to go to relax and escape the centre!

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Nice place to be when you are spending time in lisbon. Old buildind like a secret place in the center of lisbon. Ask a room far from the entrance to avoid constent noise made by people with their keys. Some of the room have been reniewed, ask for it. Enjoy your breakfeast in the center of the hotel. Be carefull, lot of stairs not made for people having difficulties to walk or use stairs

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MANAMA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We are friends in our early 30s and stayed at the York House for 3 nights. Overall the stay was a 3.5 out of 5. There was nothing particularly horrible about the place, but in retrospect we probably would have stayed in the Barrio Alto. Here are some pros and cons.

PROS
1. Nice bedding and shower amenities.
2. Beautiful garden with alfresco eating area.
3. This is a period hotel with lots of character, so if you like that type of thing, this is perfect.
4. In a quiet area without a lot of foot traffic.

CONS
1. Location: a bit of a walk from downtown Lisbon. Prepare to walk at least 20 minutes to reach downtown Lisbon. There are bus stops close by, but
2. Front desk is not very helpful and seemed put out by our questions concerning transportation.
3. Not located close to a metro. Do not be deceived by the what the website says. This hotel is located close to the suburban train that goes to Cacais (the Santos station). This is not the metro. You need to walk about 15 minutes to reach the nearest metro station.
4. When we checked out, the front desk called a taxi for us. However, they could not find our bill, and the taxi arrived before the bill could be finalized, causing the meter to run. I think they should be a bit better organized.
5. On one day, the housekeeping service came to our room very early and knocked. We said we were still in the room. She came back 30 minutes later and tried to come in. Now, I'll grant her that we didn't have a 'do not disturb' sign up because we couldn't find one! However, given that you have to hand your key off to the front desk when you leave the hotel, you'd think there could be a system in place to check if we'd yet left! Also, on another day she just came in without knocking!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vandyalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The hotel is located in an old convent, transformed into a hotel in 1890 by two ladies from Yorkshire, hence the name. Preserving the charm of these century old surroundings, particularly the lovely courtyard with its walls overgrown by vines, the hotel rooms are equipped with everything you would expect from a modern design hotel. The hotel is relatively small and hence maintains a family-type atmosphere. The in-house restaurant is pretty good, specializing in Portuguese cuisine. Moreover, a number of decent local restaurants are in walking distance. To get to the main attractions of Lisbon, you will need public transport or a taxi, but the latter are quite cheap in Lisbon compared to most other capitals. The only down-side of the hotel is that you have to climb some 50 steps to reach the entrance level, thus not recommended for those needing a wheelchair or otherwise unable to master stairs.

Room Tip: Each room apparently is designed differently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmk010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This was a disapointing experience, as the hotel has some great reviews and beautiful photographs. We stayed in a very basic room at the front of the hotel, which was very noisy with the cars and late night revellers. The room had far too many cupboards and was a bit cramped. The telly was in front of the bed instead of the sofa round the corner and the grout around the bath had disapeared, so water must have been leaking somewhere. The court yard is pretty, but was permanetly in the shade and it would have been nice to have some sun.
The public rooms are very nice indeed and the corridors have lovely vaulted ceilings.
I asked the reception staff if they could check us in for our flight on line because I did not have a laptop with me and my request was declined, which delayed us at the airport. This was in our view uincharacteristic, as the Portuguese are usually really helpful. Maybe it was just a misunderstanding?
Oh, it is also very convienient for night life and taxis are cheap. There is a a good restaurant close by called the Guarda Mor.

Room Tip: Probably not room 403
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ros h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

York House was a wonderful place to stay for a weekend in Lisbon. It is a bit out of the centre but that just gives you an excuse to get to grips with the trams and buses which are frequent and efficient. The hotel staff were helpful with advice and information. We stayed in a (cheaper) unmodernised room which we thought was utterly charming. It was quiet and elegant and restful. Perhaps some might say there was a certain shabbiness in its charm but we found it delightful and very comfortable. Breakfasts did seem a bit on the expensive side and we were going to skip them but they were irresistable and really set us up for the day so we succumbed.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were given a really peaceful room at the end of the labyrynth of pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5TravellersBonA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#40 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#22 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House

Property: York House
Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes 32, Lisbon 1200-691, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#108 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — York House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 17th century Convent converted to a homey Pension encompassing a patio & gardens overlooking river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your York House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York House Hotel Lisbon
York Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing