We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
York House
Nearby Hotels
US$340
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$258
US$242
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$360
US$293
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon(Lisbon)
US$321
US$285
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$365
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$264
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$510
US$472
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$315
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$196
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$227
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
96
103
44
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
103
44
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsformer conventfriendly boutique hotelportuguese winereal lisbonsmall hotelno elevatorrestaurant stafftwin bedshotel lobbycity centrestayed two nightsbreakfast was excellenteach morningquiet streetsuperior roomyogurtmetro station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Loved this place. Quiet retreat, close walking distance to many city sights. Walking distance to the great fado house, Senor Vinho. Room was interesting in a good way--some of the old historical aspects kept, but very contemporary and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PucksterColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

This was our third visit to Yok House. It is not in the centre but the public transport in Lisbon is easy to use and it is nearer the "must visit" sghts in Belem than the centre. OK there are lots of stairs to reach reception and no lifts, but there are always hotel staff on hand to deal with baggage.

The hotel courtyard where breakfast (and what a great breakfast) and dinner are served in summer is just a perfect setting.

The rooms are comfortable and clean and the rooms except those overlooking Rua Janelas Verdes as peace as if they were in the countryside.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

Stayed at York House in June '09 for 1 night on short notice & only paid Euro 80. Don't know if they charged me for use of the safe. Probably. Never checked the bill.
Hotel was difficult to find, even with a GPS & lucky to be able to obtain 1 of their 2 parkingplaces across the street....there is no obvious sign & the hotel blends in with the decrepid seediness of the street, HOWEVER, once you have climbed the zillions of steps, you are indeed surprised by a lovely courtyard, full of lush foliage, which also functions as the outdoor eating area..
Lunch was served inside & delicious & expensive. Breakfast was fair. Due to an early flight back to the US, they had agreed to open up earlier, but with a very surly demeanor. The front desk personnel also would not win in a popularity contest. It is strange to employ such people.
The room was very small but attractively refurbished in a monastery sort of way and was quiet. The bath was tiny, but up to date in decor and plenty of H2O. Wifi services were only available in their business center.
The place is so far away from Lisbon's attractions, one has to hunt for cabs or buses, as one cannot give up the precious parkingplace......therefore I would not stay there again, but great for young people......bad for disabled, impossible really.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troglodutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

As per title, we booked a double pax online, caught a special rate, €90 instead of a regular ~€200 per room as per regular price list at the venue.

Wouldn't add much to other reviews below, a very neat, cozy and quiet boutique hotel in central Lisbon. Ideal to unwind after a hot day-wandering around the city and for chill out in a lounge-style outdoor bed in the patio. Would not recommend to party-goers as it's hardly to get any drink at the place after 11pm. Otherwise, a very good try in Lisbon (hate those 500-room skyscraper hotels...)

Quick recap:
1/ Very convenient location, close to tram and bus stops (take the #25 tram, and you'll reach central Praca do Commercio in some 5mins ride). On weekends try the other trams/buses
2/ Cabs are very cheap, try them by just waving a hand on the street, and you can go at ~€5 up to Alfama
3/ Very friendly staff willing to give tips, calling a cab at 6am etc...

Have a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank el_Sz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We were hoping for much better service for a 4 star hotel. We were giving not a very good room, after having been told that the bedroom we had booked wasn't ready. The bed was right next to the door and the view was very bad. We decided to go for a drink after dinner around 11pm, which for Portuguese standards is not late at all, and we were initially told that the bar closed at 11pm and we had drinks in the minibar anyway... We ended up being served, but we weren't impressed at all. It's not a cheap place, so one should expect a very good service. Breakfast was ok and the courtyard is a nice place to hang out, either for drinks or to just relax with some good reading. Nevertheless, I get the impression that Lisbon hotels think they don't need to do that extra effort to attract tourists and end up not being top quality. I would hesitate a lot to go back there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noctia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews