We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in the center of Lisbon”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of York House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
York House
Ranked #159 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An oasis in the center of Lisbon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

As you walk up the stairs into the gorgeous courtyard of the York House you no longer feel like you are near a major city and instead are in a serene, peaceful and soothing environment. It is a nice break from a day of walking and touring. Our room was very nice and cosy. The staff were more than helpful in explaining where to go-they made a ton of reservations for us as well. The food at the restaurant was amazing-would highly recommend it. All in all a wonderful find in Lisbon and maybe a tad of the beaten path, but the transport is easy to follow.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    92
    40
    20
    8
See reviews for
23
130
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

York House is an attractive boutique hotel about 15 minutes walk from the centre of Lisbon. It's in a former Carmelite convent that has been carefully renovated and there's a splendid courtyard that is quiet and a relaxing place to have a meal. The people are very nice too. That's the upside. The downside starts with that 15 minutes walk: Lisbon has a big problem with graffiti, which can be intimidating if you equate graffiti with the kind of graffiti-strewn no-go areas that exist in the UK. The restaurant in the hotel is expensive - even accounting for the Sterling/Euro exchange rate - and only good in parts. Prawns and shredded beetroot don't really go together. And then we had to change our room - 301 - because it was too close to the kitchen and we were kept awake by the sound of the air conditioning, the dishwasher and the chefs. No arguments from reception. I'd guess that it was a fairly common complaint. It took a couple of days to get our bearings, then. We found a great local cafe where we had breakfast and had a couple of meals in a local restaurant, which was great fun especially when Benfica was on the box. Best value was the Carteo 7 Colinas - a travelcard that gives you unlimited access to buses, trams, elvadores and boats for five days at little more than £3 a day. The No 60 bus runs from the centre of Lisbon to a stop just yards from York House and is very efficient. Nice city, shame about the graffiti.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HrolfKraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
352 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

Loved this place. Quiet retreat, close walking distance to many city sights. Walking distance to the great fado house, Senor Vinho. Room was interesting in a good way--some of the old historical aspects kept, but very contemporary and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PucksterColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

This was our third visit to Yok House. It is not in the centre but the public transport in Lisbon is easy to use and it is nearer the "must visit" sghts in Belem than the centre. OK there are lots of stairs to reach reception and no lifts, but there are always hotel staff on hand to deal with baggage.

The hotel courtyard where breakfast (and what a great breakfast) and dinner are served in summer is just a perfect setting.

The rooms are comfortable and clean and the rooms except those overlooking Rua Janelas Verdes as peace as if they were in the countryside.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 73david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington/DE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

Stayed at York House in June '09 for 1 night on short notice & only paid Euro 80. Don't know if they charged me for use of the safe. Probably. Never checked the bill.
Hotel was difficult to find, even with a GPS & lucky to be able to obtain 1 of their 2 parkingplaces across the street....there is no obvious sign & the hotel blends in with the decrepid seediness of the street, HOWEVER, once you have climbed the zillions of steps, you are indeed surprised by a lovely courtyard, full of lush foliage, which also functions as the outdoor eating area..
Lunch was served inside & delicious & expensive. Breakfast was fair. Due to an early flight back to the US, they had agreed to open up earlier, but with a very surly demeanor. The front desk personnel also would not win in a popularity contest. It is strange to employ such people.
The room was very small but attractively refurbished in a monastery sort of way and was quiet. The bath was tiny, but up to date in decor and plenty of H2O. Wifi services were only available in their business center.
The place is so far away from Lisbon's attractions, one has to hunt for cabs or buses, as one cannot give up the precious parkingplace......therefore I would not stay there again, but great for young people......bad for disabled, impossible really.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troglodutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

As per title, we booked a double pax online, caught a special rate, €90 instead of a regular ~€200 per room as per regular price list at the venue.

Wouldn't add much to other reviews below, a very neat, cozy and quiet boutique hotel in central Lisbon. Ideal to unwind after a hot day-wandering around the city and for chill out in a lounge-style outdoor bed in the patio. Would not recommend to party-goers as it's hardly to get any drink at the place after 11pm. Otherwise, a very good try in Lisbon (hate those 500-room skyscraper hotels...)

Quick recap:
1/ Very convenient location, close to tram and bus stops (take the #25 tram, and you'll reach central Praca do Commercio in some 5mins ride). On weekends try the other trams/buses
2/ Cabs are very cheap, try them by just waving a hand on the street, and you can go at ~€5 up to Alfama
3/ Very friendly staff willing to give tips, calling a cab at 6am etc...

Have a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el_Sz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

We were hoping for much better service for a 4 star hotel. We were giving not a very good room, after having been told that the bedroom we had booked wasn't ready. The bed was right next to the door and the view was very bad. We decided to go for a drink after dinner around 11pm, which for Portuguese standards is not late at all, and we were initially told that the bar closed at 11pm and we had drinks in the minibar anyway... We ended up being served, but we weren't impressed at all. It's not a cheap place, so one should expect a very good service. Breakfast was ok and the courtyard is a nice place to hang out, either for drinks or to just relax with some good reading. Nevertheless, I get the impression that Lisbon hotels think they don't need to do that extra effort to attract tourists and end up not being top quality. I would hesitate a lot to go back there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noctia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#45 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#22 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Memmo Alfama Hotel
Memmo Alfama Hotel
#11 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House

Property: York House
Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes 32, Lisbon 1200-691, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#107 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — York House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 17th century Convent converted to a homey Pension encompassing a patio & gardens overlooking river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your York House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York House Hotel Lisbon
York Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing