We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time travelers to Lisbon please be aware...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Britania Hotel
Ranked #2 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Berkeley CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First time travelers to Lisbon please be aware...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

I chose this hotel after reading glowing reviews on TripAdvisor, found it lovely in every respect save a couple vital to our party, none of whom had ever visited Portugal before.
Sunday morning I asked hotel desk the best way to get to Belem, said that it had been recommended to us to take a taxi. Hotel desk suggested instead tram 15. We found tram 15 a miserable experience and two of our party were robbed. One of the several vital things stolen was the key for the hotel room safe. On our return to the hotel, hotel desk told us that a locksmith had to come to drill it open, that they couldn't do it yet because it would disturb the neighbors, that we must go away and let them do it by themselves. Finally, when confronted, it turned out that management has a master key and could have opened the safe immediately. So our trip to Lisbon was ruined, and our impression of this supposedly number 1 hotel is decidedly mixed. Please everyone, take taxis and stay off all public transportation. Pickpockets operate under the noses of the police, and they are thorough and aggressive.
Another warning for first time guests of this hotel: when you give your room key to the desk, the power is shut off to your room. This is not a problem unless one of your party is still in the room, as happened with us. So, if one of you has to go out, leave the room key with the party remaining in the room, do not turn it in to the desk.
On the plus side, the fado show the front desk recommended was excellent, there was plenty of hot water, the breakfast and happy hour were enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LASLisboa_Portugal, Owner at Britania Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Dear Sir,
We are very concerned with your recent experience in Lisbon. The trip on tramway 15 is widely promoted by the Lisbon Cityhall Tourism and all Tour Operators. As expected, our Hotel staff recommends it to our guests who usually enjoy the service very much. Based on your experience we will probably stop doing so and have already reported what happened to the Tourism authorities.
We know that our staff did their best to overcome your bad experience and are sure that they helped you in all possible ways.
With respect to the access to the room safes, there is always a master key with the hotel management, who use it as required and when possible. When the management is not available, but an emmergency occurs, the maintenance staff is required to open the safe box by destroyng the lock. Fortunately, this was not required in your case.
We are truly sorry for your bad experience and sincerely hope that, in a future visit to Lisbon, you may be able to enjoy the good things that our city can provide to visitors.
Sincerely yours,

Luis Alves de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,838
    321
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
213
1,489
81
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, Brasil
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

My husband and I stayed at Britania Hotel some days ago during our trip to Portugal and Spain. We really enjoyed it! The room is very clean and silent, the beds are comfortable and the staff really makes the difference (they do not save kindness and attention). The breakfast was also very good. For sure, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdvisorFromBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

I'm still talking about this hotel...It was fantastic..and not just because of the complementary port before dinner..or the classical music in the reading room..or the breakfast to feast on..or the wonderful and genuine staff..or the beds to wallow on into the night ..or the cleanliness of the rooms on a daily basis..but also because it was right in the heart of everything..and a Boutique hotel of perfection..Thank you all..I miss you and will be back soon..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gilliwooscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

We stayed at the Britania for a weekend break. It was conveniently located, slightly away from the main old part of town but within walking distance to it. A taxi from the airport took 15 minutes and cost about 7 euros. It's also very near a Metro station but we chose to walk to soak up the atmosphere of the city more.

When we were arrived, we were upgraded to a room on the 6th floor with a private balcony overlooking the street. The room was beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was stocked with Molton Brown products and the minibar was restocked every day. A full hot breakfast was served in the library each morning until 12pm, which was a conveniently late time for us. The hotel also had complimentary afternoon tea where pastries were served. There is also complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. The staff were very helpful with dinner recommendations and helping to plan our days.

All in all, it was a very pleasant stay in a great city centre boutique hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandering_nomad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Just returned from long weekend and Hotel Britania fully lived up to its (high) rating. Rooms are spacious (we had #11) and the art deco is original but kept to high standard. The little celebrations of various (now ex, though presumably not when painted) Portuguese colonies around the lounge are particularly noteworthy. Paid EUR 130 a night - breakfast is extra (EUR14 per person - on the face of it quite a lot, but on the days we had it we couldn't manage lunch so actually not that expensive). Hotel is a bit north of the action but a lovely 15 min stroll down the backstreets past lots of little shops, restaurants and pastelarias takes you straight into the centre, and many of us are grateful for the peace. Staff on front desk are as others have said, super friendly and helpful - even in advance they quickly answered emails I sent them with various questions. Not surprised it's got Tripadvisor's #1 rating in Lisbon. If you can, avoid taxi from airport - the meter suddenly went blurry near the hotel and we were faced with demand for EUR25 for a journey the hotel said should be 18. Airport bus costs only EUR3.50 (pay on board, they speak English) and goes every 20 mins - get off at Av. Liberdade stop, about 3 mins walk from hotel. To get around, get day travelcards from any Metro station - cost EUR 3.95 for 24 hrs, but first time you need to buy the actual card for 0.50 as well - then you charge it up. All very unobvious to the novice tourist! Covers all tram, bus and metro - you put the card on validator machines on trams (behind driver) or at metro stations which beep like Oyster in London. Guidebook advice to ride tram 28 is correct - it's great.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinLondonSW14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

We had a lovely time staying here on our honeymoon. The whole hotel was beautifully decorated and our superior room was excellent. The staff were very helpful, and when they found out it was our honeymoon they left some fizzy wine in our room - a really kind touch. The pastries in the lounge every afternoon were a great touch.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamjar_lassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

We had a superior room which was spacious and we loved the decor. It would be impossible to find any fault with the service, the staff were so helpful and friendly, and a huge bonus for us that they spoke fantastic English! There were lovely touches - complimentary afternoon tea in the lounge, along with complimentary port, and a decanter of port was left in our room for us. I'd definitely recommend the breakfast if you like fresh fruit and pastries! The hotel itself was a lovely break and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherryLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Property: Britania Hotel
Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britania is a pure Boutique Art Deco hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. With large rooms, it's located on a quiet street just off Lisbon's main avenue Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing