We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britania Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$335
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$259
US$244
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$195
US$166
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$215
US$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$321
US$295
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$367
US$313
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$152
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$419
US$274
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras(Lisbon)(Great Value!)
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$185
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,503)
Filter reviews
2,503 results
Traveller rating
2,094
359
38
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,094
359
38
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decocork floorspastriesquiet streetcomplimentary teauntil noonlouis vuittoncomplimentary portmolton brown toiletriesevery afternoonavenida metro stationterrace roommain avenueavenida da liberdaderooms are largeport wineside street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,631 - 1,636 of 2,503 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I agree with the reviewer from Rome concerning the averageness of this hotel- it really is more of a 3 star than a 4 star. First and foremost I did not like this neighborhood as it is a bit out of the way and fairly empty at night. We ended up having to take taxis everywhere. There are some okay restaurants within walking distance but very restricted options, especially compared to other neighborhoods like Barrio Alto, which is not that far away but is a bit of a hike or funicular ride. Most staff members were exceptionally courteous and helpful but one concierge was rather clueless and knew nothing about restaurants other than those in the immediate vicinity. When we asked for an Italian restaurant which also served pizza he sent us to what turned out to be a Pizza Hut in some remote neighborhood- so we stayed in the taxi and had him drive us to the Barrio Alto where we discovered that Lisbon has some of the best Italian restaurants and wood fired pizza I have found anywhere (being a resident of both Rome and NYC that's saying a lot)- as well as Moroccan, Asian fusion, Japanese, Indian, other International cuisines and great Portuguese restaurants.
On the positive side there was free wi fi, the breakfast was very generous and nicely presented and the public spaces are very comfortable. The art deco decor has been meticulously restored, especially the cork floors, which the hotel seems extremely proud of but the bedding is old and a bit shabby and depending on the room, quite drab. The TV is so small, the size of a laptop, that they have it on a rolling cart so you can see it. The lighting is very insufficient and one can hear through the walls. As said before in the other review, there are no wall outlets near the bed or in convenient locations making laptop usage on the bed limited to your battery.
The hotel seems to attract a lot of Brits who are interested in shopping, so the location would be good for that, with shops nearby similar to what you would find on Madison Ave. in NY. The hotel is also small and low key, which is nice but they do need to upgrade the comfort level of the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kaolock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LASLisboa_Portugal, Owner at Britania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2011

Our Hotel Britania is located in a quite street parallel to Lisbon’s main avenue – Avenida da Liberdade – a ten minute walk from downtown Lisbon and Rossio Square. It is also not far from Bairro Alto, the exciting Lisbon´s night life district, where many restaurants, bars and night clubs can be found ,being also a more relaxed district where mostly young people hang around listening to music and drinking all night long.
We are really sorry that one of our Concierges gave you such an uninteresting tip for an Italian restaurant in Lisbon. That was quite a surprise to all of us, specially to our Reception staff. They are all quite knowledgeable and updated on good places to recommend and Lisbon does have wonderful restaurants, some of them quite near our Hotel, where one can enjoy all sorts of delicious meals.
As you may probably know, Hotel Britania is a classified Art Deco building and it has been our intention to keep as much as possible all the original features of the building and also all the original furniture, introducing modern equipments and services as required. We are constantly adapting it to the new requirements of our visitors and we will certanly carry on doing so. We will therefore be very happy if, in a future trip to Lisbon, you will stay again with us and find that some of the aspects that you mentioned have been improved and that everything is in line with your best expectations.
Luis Alves de Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I chose this hotel from Tripadvisor comments, but i must say i'm really surprised that the quality of this hotel is not really has i expected by reading the comments.
It is definitely not an hotel i would recommend for business travelers.
Example:
- old hotel
- service quality absolutely average
- old style bathroom with old furbishing and shower
- no free wifi
- no power socket close the bed (i'm sitting in the middle of the room close to a power socket on the other side of the room)
- small 14" TV.
It is clean, that i must say.
Also room size is above average.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LASLisboa_Portugal, Owner at Britania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Dear Sir,
We are sorry to know that our hotel has not fully met your expectations. As a matter of fact, and as widely indicated, the Hotel Britania is an hotel of the forties and it is an officially classified Art Deco building. It has been our intention, during all renovation actions, to introduce as much as possible the necessary modern equipments and services, retaining all the original materials and features of the building, such as bathroom marbles, wooden and cork floors, barbershop, furniture, etc. in order to retain its authenticity and "soul". All these elements and materials were carefully chosen by the author of the project of the building, the famous Portuguese Architect - Cassiano Branco - when he designed it in 1942.
Regarding the wifi it is indeed free, as indicated in the Hotel brochures, directory, website, etc. and our Guests are invited to enjoy it freely all over the Hotel.
We will be Looking forward to welcoming you in a future visit to Lisbon and our Hotel Britania,
Sincerely yours,

Luis Alves de Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

I chose this hotel after reading glowing reviews on TripAdvisor, found it lovely in every respect save a couple vital to our party, none of whom had ever visited Portugal before.
Sunday morning I asked hotel desk the best way to get to Belem, said that it had been recommended to us to take a taxi. Hotel desk suggested instead tram 15. We found tram 15 a miserable experience and two of our party were robbed. One of the several vital things stolen was the key for the hotel room safe. On our return to the hotel, hotel desk told us that a locksmith had to come to drill it open, that they couldn't do it yet because it would disturb the neighbors, that we must go away and let them do it by themselves. Finally, when confronted, it turned out that management has a master key and could have opened the safe immediately. So our trip to Lisbon was ruined, and our impression of this supposedly number 1 hotel is decidedly mixed. Please everyone, take taxis and stay off all public transportation. Pickpockets operate under the noses of the police, and they are thorough and aggressive.
Another warning for first time guests of this hotel: when you give your room key to the desk, the power is shut off to your room. This is not a problem unless one of your party is still in the room, as happened with us. So, if one of you has to go out, leave the room key with the party remaining in the room, do not turn it in to the desk.
On the plus side, the fado show the front desk recommended was excellent, there was plenty of hot water, the breakfast and happy hour were enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LASLisboa_Portugal, Owner at Britania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Dear Sir,
We are very concerned with your recent experience in Lisbon. The trip on tramway 15 is widely promoted by the Lisbon Cityhall Tourism and all Tour Operators. As expected, our Hotel staff recommends it to our guests who usually enjoy the service very much. Based on your experience we will probably stop doing so and have already reported what happened to the Tourism authorities.
We know that our staff did their best to overcome your bad experience and are sure that they helped you in all possible ways.
With respect to the access to the room safes, there is always a master key with the hotel management, who use it as required and when possible. When the management is not available, but an emmergency occurs, the maintenance staff is required to open the safe box by destroyng the lock. Fortunately, this was not required in your case.
We are truly sorry for your bad experience and sincerely hope that, in a future visit to Lisbon, you may be able to enjoy the good things that our city can provide to visitors.
Sincerely yours,

Luis Alves de Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

My husband and I stayed at Britania Hotel some days ago during our trip to Portugal and Spain. We really enjoyed it! The room is very clean and silent, the beds are comfortable and the staff really makes the difference (they do not save kindness and attention). The breakfast was also very good. For sure, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdvisorFromBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I'm still talking about this hotel...It was fantastic..and not just because of the complementary port before dinner..or the classical music in the reading room..or the breakfast to feast on..or the wonderful and genuine staff..or the beds to wallow on into the night ..or the cleanliness of the rooms on a daily basis..but also because it was right in the heart of everything..and a Boutique hotel of perfection..Thank you all..I miss you and will be back soon..

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gilliwooscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews