We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best boutique hotel in Lisbon!”
Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Britania Hotel
Ranked #4 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 November 2011

At every level - design, service and all the small extras that make a stay memorable - this hotel is outstanding!

Room Tip: Higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MSH-Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,455 - 1,461 of 2,385 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed 4-nights in my first trip to Lisbon. Hotel is centrally located, but on quiet street. Room is spacious and modern furnished. Bathroom is also spacious. Mini bar was well equipped with various beverages at very reasonable price, so you don't have to bring something into hotel. Housekeeping is excellent! Breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice, sparkling wine, I did not try it, yummy cheese, veggies and amazing breads & pastries!!! I loved them. They are outstanding , although staffs forgot smiles and I felt not helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reed&Shiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This is a fabulous hotel - would recommend it for couples or anyone seeking a civilised and peaceful few days. The staff were exceptionally helpful and very friendly. They always had time for a chat and also offered some very useful advice for trips, practical tips, etc. The room was fantastic - very comfortable and stylish. The breakfast was delicious. The complimentary port, cakes and tea offered in the lounge were very welcome after a day's sightseeing. The location of the hotel was great - close enough to the centre to make everything easily accessible but away from busy roads and noise. We will recommend this hotel to our friends and intend to make a return visit in the not too distant future. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vivien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Fantastic location, Fantastic facility. Very clean, very large rooms and Very helpful staff. Just an excellent hotel to stay in, and while Lisbon may seem tired at times, this hotel kept the energy up. Very close to the metro and sights. Some great restaurants near by as well. Internet is perfect as well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bulag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stopped in Lisbon for 2 nights before heading down to the Algarve and on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews we stayed here. It was better than we expected. The huge Art Deco rooms and bathrooms were stunning. The staff, especially Raquel, could not have been more helpful. Very enjoyable stay and very close to Metro system and where the Airbus drops off.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_R34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My daughter and I stayed 5 nights in October to visit Lisbon for the first time. We could not have hoped for a more wonderful stay. The hotel itself is beautifully designed throughout in art deco style. The rooms are very comfortable with guests every need considered. What made this hotel that wee bit special was the quality of the staff. All are extremely friendly, attentive without being overbearing and keen to share with you their knowledge of the best parts of Lisbon to sightsee and eat out. It is well situated for walking around Lisbon itself and also for getting the train to Sintra and to the beach resorts, all within 40 mins. Whilst staying there the owners were hosting a champagne reception to mark the hotels 67th birthday. It was a most enjoyable evening. He said to us that in Portugal "hospitality is their business". From our experience it is a business that the staff of the Britania Hotel do particularly well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMAScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed in 6 different hotels on our recent trip to Portugal and the Azores, and every single hotel was a winner, but the Britania was outstanding even among so many other great places. The location was excellent, rooms large and comfortable, public areas lovely, and staff amazingly nice and helpful. We didn't want to leave. There were 10 of us in our group, and we all felt the same way. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lookagaintours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
611 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#5 of 255 in Lisbon
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,819 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 255 in Lisbon
1,579 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 255 in Lisbon
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £115 - £468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. Dating from 1944 and designed by the famous Portuguese modernist architect Cassiano Branco, it retains its original soul. Meticulously recuperated , it was combined with nowadays technologies in order to offer all actual comfort. The Hotel Britania is perfectly located in a quiet street just off the exclusive Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Prestigia, ACCOR, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing