We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel”
Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Britania Hotel
Ranked #5 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 July 2012

It's tucked away in a side street, but well located and relatively central. The hotel is lovely, very nicely furnished and decorated with great service. The staff cannot do enough for you, the breakfasts are good quality and the rooms spacious, modern, very clean and comfortable. The toiletries are all Moulton & Brown, fluffy bathrobes, well stocked fridge and enough TV channels to please most people. I would have liked a balcony to sit and enjoy the sun, but otherwise an excellent choice.

Room Tip: If there are balcony rooms, nab them as this is the icing on the cake.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank durhamiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,359)
There are newer reviews for Britania Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,314 - 1,320 of 2,361 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed here for a special city break-A wonderful city hotel with really friendly and helpful staff, a great location and a fab room. It's the perfect place to stay whilst exploring Lisbon. We'll be recommending it to many and hope to be back one day. Thanks to all at the Britania Hotel- it can be hard to find a hotel that fits all requirements in a popular european city, you did just that and made our trip extra special.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMG75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I can only think this hotel doesn't have a higher rating because it has no spa facilities, which doesn’t worry me because we never use them. In every way it is better than some of the 5* hotels we’ve stayed in. The public areas are beautiful with marble and polished wood; beautiful upholstery and a lovely staff. The bedroom was spacious and, again, beautifully appointed. We just couldn’t fault it and have been enthusiastically recommending it to friends since our return last weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We were very happy at this hotel. The staff was wonderful and the location is terrific.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ron010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I recently spent 4 nights here and my experience was consistent with all the good reviews. As an aside, I would recommend 2 good restaurants very close to the hotel: Rubro's which actually is on the same block just a few steps up the street, and also Marisqueira Santa Marta which is around the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yoritomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel is WONDERFUL - IF YOU GO TO LISBON BOOK IT !!!!!!
We booked a short break in Lisbon and saw this hotel was rated no.1 - now I know why !!!
It's a small boutique, art deco style hotel close to shops/amenities (1 minute from Louis Vuitton, Gucci amongst others) The staff could not have been more helpful, especially Jefferson "officially the worlds most polite barman" !!! The bar, reception, corridor areas etc. are all very clean and tastefully decorated etc. Our room had a seperate seating area in the room plus another seperate seating/desk/bedroom (if needed as had a bed settee in it) lots of space in the bedroom itself with good storage and a very nice bathroom, in all an EXCELLENT room and good value for money. Maximum 15 euros in a taxi from the airport also so I would suggest not booking transfers. Lisbon is also a lovely City to visit for a short break, particularly liked the Belem area near the monastry/river front. Try the "local pastries" they are great

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment - lovely hotel !
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I must disagree with the 4/5 star status on Trip Advisor. Perhaps our experience was just the "perfect storm" of complications and errors. We were checked into a room that had been occupied and not re-cleaned. I got the impression that one of the staff allowed someone to "rest" in the room, as contact lens cases had been opened and left on the counter, and one bed was partially disshelved. We were simply asked to leave for a while, and the room would be addressed. Was a full cleaning done?? Or just the problems addressed?? Four hours later our bags were not even present in the room. No one apologized, until my frustration forced the issue. If we had not pre-paid for the stay, I would had just found accomodations elsewhere. ( I now know that there are a number of nice hotels within 1-2 blocks walking distance.) Our fare class included breakfast, which was nice and typical european fare, but also museeum passes. These were never offered, and I hesitated to address the issue given the other frustrations.
All of this just may have been a perfect storm of issue, but my first night sleeping in the room that I did not feel had been fully cleaned left an impression on the rest of my stay. I would not return, and would suggest others look at other alternatives.

Room Tip: The footprint of each floor seemed identicle. i do not think any room on the upper floors were diff...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ATLMISTRAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us.
We are very sorry for the incidents during your stay, which we sincerely apologize. They should never have happened and we work hard every day  to offer our guests a most pleasant stay.
We hope that you give us the opportunity to welcoming you again in the future and provide you with an excellent stay with us.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 254 in Lisbon
604 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 254 in Lisbon
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 254 in Lisbon
1,560 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 254 in Lisbon
2,773 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 254 in Lisbon
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £117 - £910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. Dating from 1944 and designed by the famous Portuguese modernist architect Cassiano Branco, it retains its original soul. Meticulously recuperated , it was combined with nowadays technologies in order to offer all actual comfort. The Hotel Britania is perfectly located in a quiet street just off the exclusive Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing