We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Deco delight”
Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britania Hotel
Ranked #4 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Almost everything about this place was delightful - most of all the service, but also the excellent breakfast, the beautiful interior, the room/bed, and the little touches like the free afternoon tea and evening port or cherry brandy. It has an interesting pedigree and although part of the Heritage chain, it didn't feel like it. Only downside is lack of a restaurant in the evening but restaurants in easy walking distance - and who wants to stay indoors on a warm Lisbon evening?

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank les9424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,151 - 1,157 of 2,377 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

Firstly I would endorse all the favourable comments made by previous guests. The quality of all rooms, the civilised breakfast and afternoon tea experience and the superb service and friendliness of all staff made this one of the best city hotels we have ever used.
It is more likely to suit the over fifties, who want a comfortable base for a city stay. Don't worry that there is no restaurant there are plenty of good ones nearby to suit all tastes, and the staff on Reception will give you sound advice and book for you

Room Tip: All face the street and look out onto a carpark/flats. I understand that the top floor rooms have ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StaffsStroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

very large comfortable room with a good breakfast. All the staff were very helpful and the bar late at night was great meeting other guest returning from dinner. One street of the main road which did not look safe but it was as the front of shops were closed off and the footpaths were all cobble which looked dirty. Good restaurant up the steet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nefer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I found this hotel on Trip Advisor. It was our first visit to Portugal. We were adding a few days on to a conference in Spain and were excited about visiting Lisbon. The taxi brought us in from the airport (around 15 euro). Due to the one-way system we came in via back streets and I was slightly apprehensive about where we were going to end up but all concerns were dispelled upon arrival.

We were greeted at the curb by the doorman and warmly received by the staff. Our room was quiet and very large by euro standards, with a nice little entrance where the mini-bar and coffee-making facilities are situated, as well as the entrance to the bathroom (with bidet! Yay!) Robes and slippers. We loved the feel of the place, the vintage decor, the quiet. Great bed. Didn't expect to find Molton Brown toiletries!

We were surprised when we walked out of the hotel to find we were located behind the Louis Vuitton shop and other high-end retailers on the tree-lined Avenida de Libertade. The location was great. Between walking and the bus which stops on the main road we were able to get everywhere easily.

Breakfast was a real treat; coffee with hot milk, pastries, lovely bread, incredible fruit, champagne, juices, cereals, meats, cheese, eggs all available in a very pleasant room. The breakfast workers were fantastic, very helpful and charming. There is a big tray of guidebooks in the corner to help you plan your itinerary for the day.

There is complimentary port and the delicious Portuguese cherry brandy available in the lounge, and tea and pastries as well in the late afternoon. Newspapers, a bar. . . all in all a perfect refuge from hours of sight-seeing, eating, museum-going and more eating.

There are homeless people throughout Lisbon and this neighbourhood is no exception despite the fancy shops so if you are looking to be protected from that reality the Four Seasons might suit you better

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank somecraic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the well located Britania for three days. It is a delightful hotel in the Art Deco style. The rooms are generously proportioned and well maintained. Beds are very comfortable with quality linen. Housekeeping is excellent. The staff at the front desk are charming and could not be more helpful. Breakfast is good and complimentary afternoon tea and cakes a real treat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValePsE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This was our first visit to Lisbon. We chose the hotel based on reviews and we were not disappointed. Lovely helpful reception staff, very quiet but just a short walk to restaurants and Tourist bus tours. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KED740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Fantastic boutique hotel! Walking distance to metro and main squares in the city centre. Generous sized rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Free complimentary wifi. Lovely breakfast spread (freshly squeezed orange juice was just delightful!). Certain hotels such as the tivoli or the sofitel may look flasher, but in terms of value for money the Britania wins hands down. Certainly would book again!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sk273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 254 in Lisbon
609 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#5 of 254 in Lisbon
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 254 in Lisbon
2,807 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 254 in Lisbon
1,575 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 254 in Lisbon
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £115 - £496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. Dating from 1944 and designed by the famous Portuguese modernist architect Cassiano Branco, it retains its original soul. Meticulously recuperated , it was combined with nowadays technologies in order to offer all actual comfort. The Hotel Britania is perfectly located in a quiet street just off the exclusive Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing