We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming hotel”
Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Britania Hotel
Ranked #2 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A Charming hotel”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

The friendliest staff that you'll ever come across! They went above and beyond to make sure we had dinner reservations in the restaurants we wanted, provided us with maps and gave us excellent advice about the city in general. We felt we were really taken care of.
The hotel has an old charm to it and the rooms follow the same style, but were comfortable and large. I liked the dressing table near the bathroom, it felt like you were in someone's house rather than a hotel. Usually I prefer to stay in ultra modern hotels so this made a nice change. The highlight was the afternoon tea, which was free for all the hotel guests, I say tea but it was actually a few glasses of port for me with a naughty custard pastry! Loved it! While my partner was in meetings, I would walk around 15 mins to the main square, which is full of shops and restaurants/cafés. I even caught the yellow tour bus from there, which was very convenient (again a great recommendation from the staff)
All in all a charming hotel with fantastic staff!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Reems2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,868
    323
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
213
1,518
81
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Before I retired I traveled too frequently and too widely and living in hotels for weeks on end was normal. I just wish I'd found hotels more hotels that could match the service and professionalism and friendliness of this hotel. It is a real gem. The staff are very friendly and helpful and really did make our stay very special. Our room was very large with the feel of a grand hotel. it was quiet and the bed very comfortable. I loved the variety of the buffet breakfast, It was delicious. The ever present decanter of sherry and port encourage guests to socialize. The receptionists, particularly Rachel provided a fund of good advice on trips , trains buses, and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Lisbon is a romantic city in its own right. The Hotel Britania is a lovely little secret palace filled with character, beauty and art deco charm. The rooms are incredibly spacious and this a perfect spot to stay in Lisbon when you have a budget but have discerning tastes and an appreciative eye for architecture and design. You'll be staying in a quiet Lisbonian neighborhood, central to the park and beautiful walks along the promenade. All in all a beautiful stay for romantics and families alike.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and quiet rooms. Be sure to specify smoking or non.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SMLEYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
170 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The Hotel Britania (originally named the Hotel do Império), designed by Portuguese architect Cassiano Branco, has been completely restored, retaining all of its Art Deco charm.

This hotel has a past rife in stories: opened in wartime, foreign diplomats, politicians crossed paths here with high financiers, artists and intellectuals. The only hotel of the time to remain intact until today. This is why it’s been classified as a property of historic interest for the city of Lisbon. Everything about its design strives to reawaken the spirit of the unit without losing its original soul.

From the moment you arrive, they make you feel at home. When you step into the hall, where the reception is, a very efficient female receptionist is eager to give you the warmest welcome to the hotel and her city (she can assist you in five languages: Portuguese, English, French, German and Spanish). All the staff is ready to please customers in a very professional way.

Rooms are very well appointed, featuring double glazing, original furniture and cork floor, free Wi-Fi access, pillow menu, free coffee and tea facilities, and most important, spotless clean. Beds are very comfortable, and we could enjoy a perfect night’s sleep. Bathroom with bath tub and bidet. Complimentary slippers and bath robe are offered, as well as bath amenities. Rooms are luxurious and elegant, but not ostentatious or recharged.

A buffet breakfast is served at the library, actually a haven of peace, with guides and books about Lisbon and Portugal (in several languages). There is not a large variety of products, but they are of excellent quality (orange juice is freshly squeezed), ideal for a good start. A complimentary afternoon tea is also served here. You can also enjoy a shot of ginjinha, a liqueur made by infusing ginja berries, (sour cherry) in alcohol (aguardente is used) and adding sugar.

The experience was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amore64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last year and chose to come back. We were not disappointed as it was superb. The hotel is charming. The staff are so helpful and attentive. The breakfast is fresh and there is adequate choice. The hotel is well situated. We look forward to returning.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Frizzante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in October. We had the hotel recommended to us by friends who had stayed earlier in the year. Our room was very spacious and the bathroom although a little dated suited the style of the hotel. The breakfast was wonderful and I was spoilt for choice, my partner really enjoyed the bacon and fresh bread rolls. The staff are excellent and speak very good English, nothing was too much for them. The decor of the hotel is wonderful and you really feel like you have stepped back in time. Although the hotel was full it had a very relaxed atmosphere and the lounges never crowded. On our first night we arrived back to our room to find a complimentary decanter of port and little parcels of mixed nuts which were very much appreciated. The weather during our stay was rather wet to say the least but it was a pleasure to return to the hotel and enjoy the afternoon tea of cakes, Port and Ginja. If we ever return to Lisbon this hotel would be our first choice, the location is excellent and away from the bustle and noise but with all the designer shops and many restaurants on the doorstep, I don't think we could have found anywhere to beat it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueS1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you have been skimming thru the reviews for the Britania Hotel, you already know about its retro yet modern decor. Its atmosphere of Bogartian romance and I can only echo the praises of the superb staff, ranging from the desk clerk, the door/bellman thru the morning breakfast servers. Be sure to ask the excellent bartender for a "Lisbon Inspiration", a unique and delicious cocktail. Lisbon has many charms worth returning for, but I would return just to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phototype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#6 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Property: Britania Hotel
Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britania is a pure Boutique Art Deco hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. With large rooms, it's located on a quiet street just off Lisbon's main avenue Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing