We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, but with some issues”
Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britania Hotel
Ranked #4 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 January 2014

First off, this is a great place to stay. The staff and location are of top quality. All important things to see are nearby and the metro is less than 5 minutes walk. The rooms are big, but the placement of items has issues. In the bathroom it was very difficult to reach the trash can behind the sink. The night tables were almost completely occupied with electric outlets so keeping stuff on them was not easy. The biggest issue we felt was that the hotel does not have a good room service menu or a restaurant. Although the location has several excellent eating places nearby, it was inconvenient for us to have to walk to these places in the rain and bad weather. It would have been nice if we could just order in some good food. The breakfast was good, expect that the menu was identical for all 8 nights we stayed! It would have been nice to see some changes to the menu. Other than these issues we really enjoyed our stay. The staff are very friendly and EXTREMELY helpful. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Britania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us.
We are very happy to read that you specially enjoyed our friendly and helpful staff.
We take each guest comment to heart and appreciate you sharing details of your visit with us, as that will help us to improve our service.
Looking forward to welcoming you again to Lisbon and offer you a most pleasant stay.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,106 - 1,112 of 2,465 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

With my partner over the New Year in Lisbon. We picked the Britania largely on the reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The hotel features Art Deco originality, with professional and friendly service. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, the breakfasts made with excellent ingredients, and, while small, the hotel mixes intimacy with large hotel amenities. There is a 24 hour honesty bar, complimentary teas and port, and a willingness to service any reasonable request by the staff. the location is just off the main thoroughfare with only a short walk to the main tourist attractions. Anyone staying here will have made a good choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nistock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Although the price may be off putting for some, it is well worth it and a must when in Lisbon. Britania Hotel hits it out of the park in every aspect. I was traveling solo and with only a backpack so I was not sure how I would be received, but I was treated like a prince. The entire staff were gracious and professional in every way. The room was large, modern and tasteful and in great condition. Everything was perfectly clean. The beds were large and firm. I was in room #5 overlooking the quiet Rua Rodrigues Sampaio (just 1 block from the trendy Avenida Liberdade). Double paned windows kept out any noise. Location was walking distance to just about anything one could want. They have a quaint bar and a beautiful breakfast served daily. Man, you gotta get some here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jscottmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed at the Britania Hotel just before Christmas in 2013 with a friend and we were very impressed. The location in the old town and walking distance to many attractions. It was also off the main road, thus making it very quiet at night. In addition to this the staff were very helpful and the Art Deco inspired room was lovely - our room was large, which is a rarity in Europe. I would definitely stay there again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OzEnglishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The friendliest staff that you'll ever come across! They went above and beyond to make sure we had dinner reservations in the restaurants we wanted, provided us with maps and gave us excellent advice about the city in general. We felt we were really taken care of.
The hotel has an old charm to it and the rooms follow the same style, but were comfortable and large. I liked the dressing table near the bathroom, it felt like you were in someone's house rather than a hotel. Usually I prefer to stay in ultra modern hotels so this made a nice change. The highlight was the afternoon tea, which was free for all the hotel guests, I say tea but it was actually a few glasses of port for me with a naughty custard pastry! Loved it! While my partner was in meetings, I would walk around 15 mins to the main square, which is full of shops and restaurants/cafés. I even caught the yellow tour bus from there, which was very convenient (again a great recommendation from the staff)
All in all a charming hotel with fantastic staff!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Reems2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Before I retired I traveled too frequently and too widely and living in hotels for weeks on end was normal. I just wish I'd found hotels more hotels that could match the service and professionalism and friendliness of this hotel. It is a real gem. The staff are very friendly and helpful and really did make our stay very special. Our room was very large with the feel of a grand hotel. it was quiet and the bed very comfortable. I loved the variety of the buffet breakfast, It was delicious. The ever present decanter of sherry and port encourage guests to socialize. The receptionists, particularly Rachel provided a fund of good advice on trips , trains buses, and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Lisbon is a romantic city in its own right. The Hotel Britania is a lovely little secret palace filled with character, beauty and art deco charm. The rooms are incredibly spacious and this a perfect spot to stay in Lisbon when you have a budget but have discerning tastes and an appreciative eye for architecture and design. You'll be staying in a quiet Lisbonian neighborhood, central to the park and beautiful walks along the promenade. All in all a beautiful stay for romantics and families alike.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and quiet rooms. Be sure to specify smoking or non.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SMLEYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
646 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#7 of 255 in Lisbon
911 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodré
Martinhal Lisbon Chiado Family Suites
As Janelas Verdes
#8 of 255 in Lisbon
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £121 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. Dating from 1944 and designed by the famous Portuguese modernist architect Cassiano Branco, it retains its original soul. Meticulously recuperated , it was combined with nowadays technologies in order to offer all actual comfort. The Hotel Britania is perfectly located in a quiet street just off the exclusive Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing