We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britania Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Santa Justa(Lisbon)
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon(Lisbon)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras(Lisbon)(Great Value!)
US$66
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
memmo Alfama Hotel(Lisbon)
US$495
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$475
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,525)
Filter reviews
2,525 results
Traveller rating
2,110
365
38
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,110
365
38
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decocork floorspastriesquiet streetcomplimentary teauntil noonlouis vuittoncomplimentary portmolton brown toiletriesevery afternoonavenida metro stationterrace roommain avenueavenida da liberdaderooms are largeport wineside street
Filter
Updating list...
1,142 - 1,147 of 2,525 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is a really nice hotel! Just off the Ave de Libertad, yet in a quiet street. Unpretentious, with large and comfortable rooms, and a great atmosphere. But the thing which puts the hotel at the top of the league is their service. They are so helpful, friendly without being intrusive, and they make your stay really enjoyable. I look forward to going to Lisbon again, and will definitely try to go to the Britania.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jimunist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

December 2013, I stayed there by myself. The room was with two beds (unexpectedly for single use), quite spacious, very clean and well equipped. The service of staff was perfect and they are all attentive. The breakfast was gorgeous. Location - close to everything, walking distance to many areas. I liked the curtain (drapes), which made the room perfectly dark - I could slept in until 12pm after a big night out.
I would definitely like to stay in this hotel again and recommend to anyone who visit Lisbon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanulok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Britania for nearly a week. We thought it was terrific. The building itself, built in 1942 when the rest of Europe was immersed in war, is elegant and the distinctive Art Deco design has been carefully preserved. Our room was good sized and well appointed if not luxurious; two arm chairs for relaxing, for example.

The location is great. It is in a stylish neighborhood, 10 minutes from the center of everything but quiet and pleasant. The hotel is literally a few steps from the Metro. In general, we found the Lisbon Metro an easy, inexpensive and attractive way of getting around and the hotel's proximity to a station was a big plus. There are also quite a few good restaurants very close by.

The staff was wonderful. Everyone was genuinely friendly and helpful. All of the people with whom we interacted substantively spoke excellent English (and apparently French, Spanish and German to boot). Ana, who seemed to be on the desk most mornings, was a particularly important resource. She knew how to get everywhere, had good advice about priorities amongst sights in light of our interests, provided great restaurant suggestions and, in general, made our visit more fun with her infectious enthusiasm.

The hotel has some nice touches. They serve tea (and port) every afternoon at 5. On Christmas Eve, the hotel chain (of 5 boutique hotels in the same vicinity) organized a Christmas buffet for guests visiting over the holiday that was excellent and quite enjoyable. We were provided with port for a night cap (or whatever) in our room and a fresh bottle of quite good port to take home as a souvenir.

A great place!

Room Tip: I didn't have the sense that there were inferior rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomBrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was our first visit to Portugal. We have traveled extensively in Spain and decided to see what the other country of Iberia was like. We drove in from Spain in the rain. After a rather exciting drive on wet cobblestone streets, we finally managed to find the hotel. We were glad to arrive and very pleased with the hotel. It offers all one could ask for to accommodate a mature couple sightseeing in Lisbon. It's location is perfect for seeing all of the important sights in downtown Lisbon, such as Rossio, Baixa, Alfama, Belem, and Bairro Alto. The room was large and quite comfortable. The bar, library, and lounge are lovely and the staff could not be more kind and friendly. Highly recommend the Britania for anyone staying in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dnreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent 3 nights here In order to celebrate New Year's Eve in Lisbon, and were really looking forward to the stay following all the great reviews. There's not much new I can add, the hotel was small but perfectly formed, deliciously clean and most welcoming. It was great to get back late afternoon to the peace of the library area and relax with a complimentary 'help yourself' port and nibbles before getting ready for a busy evening on the town. I particularly loved breakfast- it was indeed like being at home, grazing at your leisure on beautifully cooked scrambled eggs etc, with added bonus of hot milk for the good coffee. Breakfast is served to 12 noon, so was never busy, but the food selection was continuously topped up by one very unobtrusive staff member, so you never felt you had arrived to 'leftovers', but just freshly cooked food every morning. Staff were also great, in the background, but there to help with any request immediately. Loved it!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Moira670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews