We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Britania Hotel
Ranked #2 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Lovely decor. Big rooms. Very friendly staff. Great breakfast (which is a steal) What else could you want! In addition you get scrumptious croissants and free afternoon, tea, port and pastries. I would not stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: We had room 14 which was very spacious and comfortable with the signature art deco style. I would im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajkScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,925
    327
    34
    9
    3
See reviews for
221
1,563
82
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here on 7th March '14 for 3 nights. From the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough for us, from reception staff to porters to breakfast staff each and every one of them were extremely helpful and friendly. Each day reception staff gave us tips on what to do, recommended places to see, restaurants etc etc. Rooms are spotless and are old style with a modern touch. Tea/coffee facilities in rooms and a small mini bar. Breakfast was a buffet and had a good variety for a European breakfast. Cereals, fruits, pastries,breads,hams and cheeses. Also a selection of hot food, scrambled eggs, sausages,bacon. And the best part is that breakfast is served until 12 noon.
This hotel is down a side street so no noise from main roads. You can get the aerobus outside lisbon airport directly to hotel and it only costs €3.50, if you get off at Avenida this will leave you minutes from hotel. You cross the road when you get off the aerobus and if you take the side street at the Louis Vutton clothes shop and keep left hotel is a few yards up on left.
Lots to do in lisbon, and lots of great restaurants at reasonable prices. We just loved lisbon. Although do bear in mind to bring only flat walking shoes as a lot a of hills. Oh also another tip be careful in restaurants, they place bread, olives etc on your table but once you touch them you are charged for each item so send them back if you don't want them. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NatashaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I spent 8 days at this lovely hotel in February. It is a lovingly preserved art deco hotel in the heart of wonderful Lisbon. I was a single woman, in town on business. The staff were exceptional. Marcos the concierge was so friendly and helpful. Everyday my room was cleaned with the greatest attention to detail. The room was huge, with authentic deco touches right down to the last detail. The hotel is on a quiet side street, but very close to the heart of the city. There are excellent restaurants nearby, and high end shopping. This is a beautiful small hotel, and if I ever return to Lisbon (and I hope I do), this will be where I stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gothicwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in late February, 2014. Britania is a wonderful art deco hotel located within walking distance of many of Lisbon's attractions! Our room was modern, spacious, clean and had all the amenities one could ask for. What really set this hotel apart was the friendly, helpful attitude of the staff- no one could ask for more!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JK65Toronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aveiro, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Wow, where to start - from the drive up to the door, service from the friendly porter, the front-desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly and very accommodating of our extra requests.

Located one street off the main shopping district (designers!), it was on a quiet street just steps away from everything you would want to visit in Lisbon.

Breakfast was excellent and included in the price. In-room coffee was available along with a small bar fridge which was useful.

If you are looking for a trendy, renovated hotel, we highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were fortunate to stay in this charming boutique art deco hotel for four nights in a double superior room. Our room was very spacious and clean, decorated with the stylish art deco furnishings adorning the whole hotel. We were on a higher level (fifth floor) and were not affected by any outside street noise at night. It was nice to have tea and coffee facilities in our room as a lot of the hotels that we stayed at throughout our time in Europe did not offer this. Free WiFi was also appreciated. We also had a complimentary decanter of port and walnuts provided in our room each night, which was one of several special touches that made this hotel stand out.

The buffet breakfast had a good selection of both hot and cold dishes, regularly replenished by staff during service. Good selection of teas and good coffee. Fresh juices, fruit and pastries along with other hot options. Being available until noon each day was an added bonus.

Staff were wonderful. They were approachable, helpful and very friendly. More than happy to suggest good places to eat and other local attractions.

It is in a great location in downtown Lisbon and we found that we were able to walk easily to most of the attractions, shops and a good selection of restaurants. It was also close to the hop on hop off bus which we enjoyed going on to see a bit more of the city.

Complimentary tea time served daily in the library from 5 to 9pm is a wonderful tradition that we quickly became accustomed to. There is tea, coffee and port available, with a selection of pastries on offer, including delicious Portuguese custard tarts, made fresh daily.

While there the hotel celebrated its 69th Birthday and all guests were invited to join the owners in the lounge for champagne and nibbles to celebrate. It was a really nice gesture and great to meet the owners personally and the other guests. Special touches like this and the complimentary tea time made you feel like you were a guest at a grand home, rather than a hotel guest.

Definitely recommend and will stay again when next in Lisbon.

Room Tip: Superior room on a higher level have no street noise and offer good sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreaandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Beautiful art deco hotel with spacious bedrooms tucked away in a quiet location just outside the historic centre about a 10 minute walk.
Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are kept immaculate.
Location not ideal for views as it faces a large concrete office block.
Lounge and breakfast area is quite small but breakfasts are very good.
All in all I would recommend this hotel for a Lisbon city break.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
572 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
820 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 248 in Lisbon
1,512 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#6 of 248 in Lisbon
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Property: Britania Hotel
Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britania is a pure Boutique Art Deco hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. With large rooms, it's located on a quiet street just off Lisbon's main avenue Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing