We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and service”
Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Britania Hotel
Ranked #5 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights prior to Easter. The hotel certainly lives up to the recommendations, beautiful rooms and friendly service. The location is on a parallel side street to the main road and was ideally suited for exploring the city. We love to roam on foot and we were able to visit most of the central tourist locations easily, as long as you don't mind hills and wear good footwear! There are some excellent local, small restaurants and bars close by if you just get off the normal tourist tracks and we managed to eat quite cheaply for breakfast and evening meals. A beautiful hotel in a great city - definitely worth visiting for a short city break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janie024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,359)
There are newer reviews for Britania Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 2,362 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

The rooms are huge, bed is comfortable, the furnishings and decor are replica 1940 's, and the Staff are well trained very friendly and will make your stay in Lisbon all you want it to be. The hotel is well located.
The Room comes with wonderful breakfast, tea ,deserts and help yourself to port anytime.
We hope to return.

Room Tip: The rooms are all great.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Silver sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Britania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your feedback.
The Britania is a small Art Deco hotel from 1944 that kept most of its original furniture, which we constantly restore in order to keep the uniqueness of the place.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

In April 2014 we paid our first visit to Lisbon. The base we selected for our three night exploratory stay was the Hotel Britania, located in a quiet street just off Avenida da Liberdade. Frankly, we could not have chosen better - this is an absolutely lovely small (33 rooms) hotel. 


It opened in 1944 as the art déco Hotel do Império but, in the 1970's, it underwent a period of substantial change. In the 1990's however in-depth restoration began and today we are able to enjoy the fruits of that work. The rooms are large, having beautiful Portuguese cork floors and large firm beds. The public areas have marble flooring and are filled with period furnishings and features, including frescos in the bar area recalling Portugal's overseas empire, and a little barbers shop.
The breakfasts are good, and the staff are uniformly courteous, helpful and friendly. The location of the hotel is excellent with a metro station and bus stop just a few minutes walk away. However if you are not in a hurry, a good way to get a sense of the place is to walk down Liberdade in the direction of the Baixa district. That way you get to see the many fine buildings, squares and street life en route.
Summing up we really enjoyed our all too short stay in Lisbon, and the hotel was a delight. We will return to Lisbon, and we WILL return to the Hotel Britania.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at Britânia for 4 nights as a birthday trip for my husband and the hotel was truly wonderful. A great location close to everywhere busy, whilst being in a quiet side road behind the Louis Vuitton shop. The gentlemen on reception and in the bar were so helpful, from giving us an overview of the city on arrival, recommending places to go, helping us hire bikes and even making me the most wonderful hot chocolate (complete with kit kat balanced on top) at 1am after a night out. The room was superb (63) with double doors opening onto a balcony terrace. It was my husbands birthday during our stay and a silver tray with champagne, candles, and strawberries arrived in our room! The service didn't stop there, we arrived home 4 days ago and I realised I had left my jacket in our room, Vitor has even kindly organised to post it back to me. When is lisbon, I really don't think there is anywhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Room 63 top floor with balcony was lovely.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunglassesReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a great hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The small lounge next to the bar has English newspapers, free desert, port, and tea in the evening, as well as games and books. And there are always almond candies available at the front desk and in the lounge. A metro station is a block away, and it is easy to walk downtown. Internet was fast and reliable. The rooms are big and comfortable, with several English news channels on TV. Nice breakfast. If you want a nice dinner nearby, walk up the street to Rubro. Avoid Chutney’s next door – tasteless food and overpriced.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street, but it was quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeeTheWorld4Peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in late April. The hotel is only 10 mins walk down the Avenida da Liberdade to the centre of the city. The room was spacious and comfortable. The buffet breakfast is served until midday - I wish all hotels did this! The breakfast was fresh and continually replenished throughout the morning. There are lots of lovely restaurants nearby. The only niggle was that they asked to keep the key when you left for the day. I don't like doing this, but it's not a big deal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicoleW644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

While the street the hotel is on is a typical urban mix of low rise buildings and plenty of parked cars, I discovered around the block was a beautiful boulevard for strolling and people watching. And inside past a resplendent door marking the entry was a great hotel as well.

Hotel premises are immaculate and charming. We both enjoyed the work done to preserve the hotels character and highlights from prior generations of hoteling.

Hotel staff are top notch and we are hard graders as our son is in the hotel biz in the U.S. Our flight arrived in Lisbon very early in the morning. We ate a breakfast at the airport while the city woke up. By 11 am, we had killed all the time we could, so we got a cab to the hotel. Although we arrived very early for a check-in, we needed to stash our luggage and valuables so we could head out on a scheduled 1pm tour. The staff offered to let us place our passport and money, etc. in the safe even though we had not yet checked in. They also checked with housekeeping to see if anything could be done for us. Amazingly, a room was ready by 12:30 and they got everything up into the room before we left while we freshened up.

For us, the bed was somewhat hard so that is the only item I nicked in the ratings. Just don't want someone reading the review to not know this. Nonetheless, we both had an excellent night's sleep.

P.S. if you go out the door and turn left, at the end of the long block and across the street is a mini-grocery. I love to go into such shops to see what is offered different from the U.S. as well as for presentation and checkout operations. A great store with a great deal on bottled water which I brought back in copious amounts for spouse who loves Europe for its fizzy water everywhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_LGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Britania Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased that you appreciated our friendly staff and the character of the Britania Hotel.
Concerning the beds, our mattresses are medium firm in order to please most part of our Guests. We have the possibility though, of turning them softer or even firmer according to the Guest’s liking. You just have to let us know at anytime during your stay and we will be happy to adjust it to your preference.
We look forward to welcoming you again to Lisbon and offer you an even more pleasant stay.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 254 in Lisbon
604 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 254 in Lisbon
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 254 in Lisbon
1,560 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 254 in Lisbon
2,773 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 254 in Lisbon
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £117 - £910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. Dating from 1944 and designed by the famous Portuguese modernist architect Cassiano Branco, it retains its original soul. Meticulously recuperated , it was combined with nowadays technologies in order to offer all actual comfort. The Hotel Britania is perfectly located in a quiet street just off the exclusive Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing