We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What A Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Britania Hotel
Ranked #2 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What A Find!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed 3 days in mid-April. I can't say enough good things about this wonderful boutique hotel. We had such a lovely large room and bathroom. Every area of this hotel was spotlessly clean. The location is great. It's on a quiet street, one block from a large avenue of beautiful shops and great restaurants. The breakfasts were delicious. We enjoyed the late afternoon port and treats. As for the staff, I can't begin to use enough superlative adjectives to describe Raquel and Marco. They were there for our every need. They warmly greeted us as we came and went and were so intent on our having a wonderful experience in Lisbon. They are truly the hotel and the cities good-will ambassadors. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cherylderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,830
    319
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
213
1,480
80
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, Ca
Level Contributor
282 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here 4 days, quiet, liked the location just ofAv. Libertad. Walked to many sights & restaurants. Staff exceptionally ice & helpful. Be sure to get the breakfast included. It is a wonderful buffet in a cheery room. Enjoyed the English language newspaper with complimentary Port each night. Would stay here/recommend it heartily.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed three nights, in mid-March. The hotel is conveniently walkable to all central attractions, but is on a quiet side street. Our room was lovely, but what sets this hotel apart is the warm, friendly, energetic, efficient, cheerful service. Great breakfasts. Many excellent restaurants nearby. Left a wonderful impression....would stay there again.

Room Tip: We preferred a higher floor, at the end of the corridor (quieter).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick-Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We received a warm welcome, most kind staff and a huge room. The location is great a walking distance in a nice boulevard. The staff was very helpful and committed to make sure everything was going well, from the hotel manager all through the cleaning ladies.
Rooms are wonderfully decorated and a bottle of Port arrived as quickly as we entered the room.
Most recommended, we chose it as we have read so many good reviews at TripAdvisor, I must say, they are all right.

Room Tip: 5th floor great large beds, our friends stayed at the 6th floor, a smaller room, modern decoration w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alroy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed at the Britania for three nights following a conference at another Lisbon hotel. Great experience, in no small part due to the levels of service. All of the staff were friendly and efficient, greeting me on exit and entry and helping me whenever I had questions.

Very nice, large rooms, and great common spaces in the hotel. All rooms face the (quiet) street, so no bad rooms with only a view of an air shaft. The library/bar were wonderful to sit for a quiet time, and there was free tea and cakes in the afternoon plus free port, gingha and coffee at all times. The breakfast was great, large selection and everything frequently replenished.

The hotel is in a great location just off Avenida da Liberdade with short walks to many of the central sites and restaurants. I could leave the windows open at night without any street noise disturbing me, but walk to shops, outdoor cafes and the metro within five minutes. The lively Chiado/Bairro Alto area was about 15 minutes walk with an uphill climb or a ride on the funicular, quite convenient for restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The web site for this hotel doesn't do it justice. The lobby is small and rather ordinary. However, there isn't anything about this hotel that is ordinary. It's been around since the early 1950s and has been remodeled tastefully. It's one block from the noise of Ave. Liberdade on a quiet street that is now undergoing construction so there may be day time noise, which you won't hear in the hotel unless you have the patio doors opened on the fourth floor. That's where I recommend you stay. We enjoyed room 65 which was spacious, crisp bedding and a comfortable bed, quiet, airy, big bathroom, port in the room, and altogether, perfect. We were here for 5 nights. The front desk even got us get concert tickets. . .they picked up the tickets for us. The morning we left at 4 am, they ensured we had expresso. Breakfast is served until noon in a cozy setting at small tables with white linen tablecloths. Out the door to the left in 1 block is Rubro restauranti a bistro type restaurant with great wines. Rossio train station is about a 3 block walk away near the Starbucks. Everything including fabulous shopping is close.

Room Tip: We liked room 65
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZephyrFreeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The staff are unfailingly courteous and helpful, and the rooms are immaculately decorated
in the style of the 1940's. Although the outlook at the front is not particularly appealing ( a brutalist
1960's office block ) the hotel itself is utterly charming and well located.
There are a number of good local restaurants nearby. ( turn left as you leave the hotel )

Room Tip: Room 11 is bigger with an additional single bed ( if you travel with staff !! )
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharnbrookboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
514 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
841 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
743 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Property: Britania Hotel
Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britania is a pure Boutique Art Deco hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. With large rooms, it's located on a quiet street just off Lisbon's main avenue Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing