We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent boutique hotel with attentive customer service”
Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Britania Hotel
Ranked #2 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel with attentive customer service”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The overall experience - amazing. Great rooms, elegant atmosphere, first class customer service.

Location - good. hotel Britania is located on a quiet street, one block from Ave Liberadade - the Avenida metro stop is a 3 min walk away; the Rossi train station is about a 10 min walk downhill. Overall the location is very accessible, but perhaps not as great as some of the other hotels located closer to Rossi.

Rooms - excellent - oozing with old world charm. The two rooms I came across are both very spacious and elegant. One can clearly tell from the decor that the hotel and the rooms dated from a few decades ago, yet, everything has been updated. The atmosphere in the rooms is that of old world charm, but with modern amenities - the wifi worked just fine. The only criticism I have of the rooms is the location of the electric outlets - shouldn't there be at least two electric outlets by each bed stand?

Customer service - excellent. Hotel Britania is a small boutique hotel - I think there are only 36 rooms in the hotel. It never feels crowded in the hotel, and all the staff members are friendly and attentive. I almost got sick of them warning us to be careful of our wallets while on tram #28.

Breakfast - excellent. Good enough variety, very fresh quality. No complaints whatsoever.

Overall, it was a very very enjoyable stay we had at hotel Britania. Maybe it is an extra 5 or 10 min walk to the very center of town compared to some of the other hotels, but I would not hesitate to stay at this property again. I would HIGHLY recommend Hotel Britania in Lisboa. One cannot go wrong here.

Room Tip: All the rooms face a street that is relatively quiet - the rooms on the higher floor have a decent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sdgt625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,866
    323
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
213
1,517
81
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Beautiful boutique hotel, 1 street back from the beautiful Avenida do Liberdade. The hotel has been lovingly restored to the art deco style that was in its origins. The rooms were stunning. Really good size for a city hotel, and simply but beautifully presented.

Breakfaster buffet was plentiful. The thing that really made the hotel though were the excellent staff. Everyone we encountered had the customer at the centre of their remit. Just what you hope for, but sadly don't always find.

There are a number of nice touches, such as the decanter of port in the Library, but it's the package that you take away. We spent 4 days in a wonderful city and Britania more than played its part in leaving us with the feeling that we would love to visit both again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DPF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Hotel Britania is one of the finest boutique hotels I have had the pleasure of staying in. Remarkable attention to detail in every aspect of the hotel design. This Art Deco gem is both beautiful and eminently functional.There is a real subtlety and elegance about this hotel. It's not 'in your face' luxury. It's tasteful. The longer you stay there, the more you will admire it.

It passes my comfort test as well. Quiet in the evenings, comfortable beds and efficient yet discreet customer service. As a business traveller these are absolutely essential for me.

My top tips would be:
1. Eat at Rubro. Great modern Spanish tapas and wine bar just down the road
2. Order a cocktail in the bar downstairs. Affordable and a skilled mixologist
3. Wonder into town (10 mins) by walking through the side streets up and down the hills

Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ibeenthereandthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and had the most wonderful time.A small older style hotel which has been restored to its former glory.Close to the main attractions in Lisbon and in a great location. The staff are marvellous and will go out of there way to please.Huge rooms and beds.We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All are good I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter255325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos
Level Contributor
101 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Excellent location with secure parking.
Very helpful friendly staff. Comfortable large room with matching bathroom.
20 minute walk into the city centre.
Very good breakfast.
Expresso coffee machine on bar counter, so help yourself. We did.

Room Tip: Very small elevator taking only 2 comfortably, so lower floors are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

What to say?First of all, our room was incredible!Our double bed was fantastic!The service was magnificent!I really liked this hotel as well as my wife and my daughter!I couldn't expect more from our vacation!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here for only one night post cruise but wish it had been more. The hotel is centrally situated and yet quiet. It has beautiful décor and the attention to detail throughout is excellent. The rooms are very spacious and well equipped, in fact they are more like mini apartments. The staff go out of their way to provide an excellent service. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels and never been more comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#6 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Property: Britania Hotel
Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britania is a pure Boutique Art Deco hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. With large rooms, it's located on a quiet street just off Lisbon's main avenue Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing