We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britania Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Santa Justa(Lisbon)
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
memmo Alfama Hotel(Lisbon)
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon(Lisbon)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras(Lisbon)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$350
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,528)
Filter reviews
2,528 results
Traveller rating
2,113
365
38
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,113
365
38
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decocork floorspastriesquiet streetcomplimentary teauntil noonlouis vuittoncomplimentary portmolton brown toiletriesevery afternoonavenida metro stationterrace roommain avenueavenida da liberdaderooms are largeport wineside street
Filter
Updating list...
1,069 - 1,074 of 2,528 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A true gem. Ideally located just off Avenida De Liberdade. Staff spoke excellent English and we're very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great and was served till very late which was ideal if you had a late night before. Our room was a good size with a decent balcony and was both modern and spotlessly clean. Had and good free wi-fi connection. Excellent value for money and would highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The overall experience - amazing. Great rooms, elegant atmosphere, first class customer service.

Location - good. hotel Britania is located on a quiet street, one block from Ave Liberadade - the Avenida metro stop is a 3 min walk away; the Rossi train station is about a 10 min walk downhill. Overall the location is very accessible, but perhaps not as great as some of the other hotels located closer to Rossi.

Rooms - excellent - oozing with old world charm. The two rooms I came across are both very spacious and elegant. One can clearly tell from the decor that the hotel and the rooms dated from a few decades ago, yet, everything has been updated. The atmosphere in the rooms is that of old world charm, but with modern amenities - the wifi worked just fine. The only criticism I have of the rooms is the location of the electric outlets - shouldn't there be at least two electric outlets by each bed stand?

Customer service - excellent. Hotel Britania is a small boutique hotel - I think there are only 36 rooms in the hotel. It never feels crowded in the hotel, and all the staff members are friendly and attentive. I almost got sick of them warning us to be careful of our wallets while on tram #28.

Breakfast - excellent. Good enough variety, very fresh quality. No complaints whatsoever.

Overall, it was a very very enjoyable stay we had at hotel Britania. Maybe it is an extra 5 or 10 min walk to the very center of town compared to some of the other hotels, but I would not hesitate to stay at this property again. I would HIGHLY recommend Hotel Britania in Lisboa. One cannot go wrong here.

Room Tip: All the rooms face a street that is relatively quiet - the rooms on the higher floor have a decent, but not amazing view. I think you can't go wrong with any rooms in this property.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sdgt625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Beautiful boutique hotel, 1 street back from the beautiful Avenida do Liberdade. The hotel has been lovingly restored to the art deco style that was in its origins. The rooms were stunning. Really good size for a city hotel, and simply but beautifully presented.

Breakfaster buffet was plentiful. The thing that really made the hotel though were the excellent staff. Everyone we encountered had the customer at the centre of their remit. Just what you hope for, but sadly don't always find.

There are a number of nice touches, such as the decanter of port in the Library, but it's the package that you take away. We spent 4 days in a wonderful city and Britania more than played its part in leaving us with the feeling that we would love to visit both again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DPF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Hotel Britania is one of the finest boutique hotels I have had the pleasure of staying in. Remarkable attention to detail in every aspect of the hotel design. This Art Deco gem is both beautiful and eminently functional.There is a real subtlety and elegance about this hotel. It's not 'in your face' luxury. It's tasteful. The longer you stay there, the more you will admire it.

It passes my comfort test as well. Quiet in the evenings, comfortable beds and efficient yet discreet customer service. As a business traveller these are absolutely essential for me.

My top tips would be:
1. Eat at Rubro. Great modern Spanish tapas and wine bar just down the road
2. Order a cocktail in the bar downstairs. Affordable and a skilled mixologist
3. Wonder into town (10 mins) by walking through the side streets up and down the hills

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ibeenthereandthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and had the most wonderful time.A small older style hotel which has been restored to its former glory.Close to the main attractions in Lisbon and in a great location. The staff are marvellous and will go out of there way to please.Huge rooms and beds.We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All are good I think
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter255325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews