We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britania Hotel
Ranked #4 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We throughly enjoyed staying at this hotel. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean, the service from reception very helpful and a joy to see the art deco furniture. It was all that you could wish for on a short city break. We had gone to Lisbon to celebrate my husband's birthday but had made no mention of it in our booking. On the day of his birthday, when we had got back to the hotel late afternoon, a waiter knocked on our bedroom door and presented us with a bottle of sparkling wine in an ice-bucket etc and a tray of cherries which were in season at the time. They had simply checked on his passport and saw it was his birthday - it was a delightful surprise and very thoughtful gesture...thank you Hotel Britania!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 2,427 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Having stayed just around the corner in the Inspira last week, we knew the area and were happy to return to the familiar streets. We had a great welcome from all staff and were shown to our room - it was huge! The old art deco design was charming, with everything from door handles to a very elaborate standing lamp setting the tone. Although it feels like you've stepped back in time to the '50s, all of the modern comforts are there too - a quirky room safe, fridge, aircon, instant hot water, tea & coffee, flatscreen TV and WiFi.

The Molton Brown toiletries tell you they don't scrimp on the details and the bathroom was completely spotless. Our room was so big it had an entrance hall with it's own door into the bedroom, the bed was comfortable and the pillows great.

Breakfast was very nice and although the buffet area appears small at first, you soon discover that everything you could want is available - and the two waitresses were quick to refill any depleting items and check everyone was satisfied.

The only small negative was that the hotel is opposite a strip club and the street in general is a bit run-down, it's completely safe at night but just not the greatest street to look at.

The staff in general go out of their way to help you and make sure you have a great stay, we could only stay one night but would have loved to have stayed longer in this unique old-style hotel, the likes of which I've never before encountered, but hope to return to at some point.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FullBellyFull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We arrived and took the Metro to San Sebastián where we changed onto the Blue line getting off at station Avenida, from there a two minute walk to the hotel, around the corner from Louis Vuitton shop.
Marco was there at the hotel door and immediately took our cases. This was an indication where we found that ALL of the staff were just as attentive and super friendly.
Marco took time to point out places of interest on a map, telling us which number of bus or tram to take and warning us of the pickpockets!

Our room (no36) was large and very comfortable, in fact the hotel is stylish in it's Art Deco as all previous reviews make mention to.

The breakfast time suits everyone from early birds to late risers and was always fresh with a wide selection.
From 5pm you can help yourself to Port and pastries, these were delicious.

The hotel is in a good location, and as it's near the Metro then buy a day ticket €6 (buy for one person at a time, we thought we were buying 2 tickets but bought one ticket for 2 days!!) and you can hop on and off trains, buses and trams.

Thank you to all at the Britania for making our stay very memorable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dawn_Cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Can't find one negative thing to say about my recent stay at Britania (3 nights last week). The room was spacious (stayed on the top floor), quiet, clean, and comfy. The information provided by the front desk staff was accurate and enthusiastic. Breakfasts were nice; I'd say above average for European offerings.
The location was what I liked most...our own neighborhood offered shopping and restaurants; plus, we were an easy walk to all the other areas I wanted to visit.
I only have one criticism, and it had nothing to do with Britania. The "fado", at least at a place called Faio, can be skipped and you won't have missed anything.

Room Tip: I liked # 63.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just loving Hotel Britania in Lisbon. This is our third day here. The rooms are spacious with huge bathrooms complete with bath, bidet etc. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The decor of the hotel is very Art Deco, but best of all is the breakfast. It is all about freshness, with superb coffee, the best bread I have eaten for ages, loads of fresh fruit and goats cheese along with an assortment for cereals, pastries, hot food and continental meats and cheeses. Did I forget to mention the Portuguese custard tarts? They are unbelievable. We will miss this place when we have to move on tomorrow. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Our room faced the street but it was so quiet. We never heard a thing all night. Room 23.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A true gem. Ideally located just off Avenida De Liberdade. Staff spoke excellent English and we're very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great and was served till very late which was ideal if you had a late night before. Our room was a good size with a decent balcony and was both modern and spotlessly clean. Had and good free wi-fi connection. Excellent value for money and would highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The overall experience - amazing. Great rooms, elegant atmosphere, first class customer service.

Location - good. hotel Britania is located on a quiet street, one block from Ave Liberadade - the Avenida metro stop is a 3 min walk away; the Rossi train station is about a 10 min walk downhill. Overall the location is very accessible, but perhaps not as great as some of the other hotels located closer to Rossi.

Rooms - excellent - oozing with old world charm. The two rooms I came across are both very spacious and elegant. One can clearly tell from the decor that the hotel and the rooms dated from a few decades ago, yet, everything has been updated. The atmosphere in the rooms is that of old world charm, but with modern amenities - the wifi worked just fine. The only criticism I have of the rooms is the location of the electric outlets - shouldn't there be at least two electric outlets by each bed stand?

Customer service - excellent. Hotel Britania is a small boutique hotel - I think there are only 36 rooms in the hotel. It never feels crowded in the hotel, and all the staff members are friendly and attentive. I almost got sick of them warning us to be careful of our wallets while on tram #28.

Breakfast - excellent. Good enough variety, very fresh quality. No complaints whatsoever.

Overall, it was a very very enjoyable stay we had at hotel Britania. Maybe it is an extra 5 or 10 min walk to the very center of town compared to some of the other hotels, but I would not hesitate to stay at this property again. I would HIGHLY recommend Hotel Britania in Lisboa. One cannot go wrong here.

Room Tip: All the rooms face a street that is relatively quiet - the rooms on the higher floor have a decent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sdgt625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,872 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 255 in Lisbon
893 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#8 of 255 in Lisbon
983 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Martinhal Lisbon Chiado Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £107 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. Dating from 1944 and designed by the famous Portuguese modernist architect Cassiano Branco, it retains its original soul. Meticulously recuperated , it was combined with nowadays technologies in order to offer all actual comfort. The Hotel Britania is perfectly located in a quiet street just off the exclusive Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing