We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Britania Hotel
Ranked #2 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights and everything was perfect! We received a complimentary bottle of port in the room witch was really nice. The room was big and spacious with a separate room with a desk and a single bed. Bathroom was marble with good toiletries. The hotel is very old and the furnishings and fixtures are out dated but it was clean and functional. Most importantly the air-con worked great! The beds are comfortable and the room has black out curtains.

The breakfast was typical European.They had the usual continental breakfast laid out with pastries, yogurts, cereals etc. They had scrambled eggs, processed sausages, grilled veg and bacon and even though it was good it was not the same quality as you would get in the UK or States in a similar property. The thing that makes my breakfast great in the morning is strong espresso and this hotel has a Nespresso machine for guest to use at any time.

The staff I found very polite and helpful and always greeted with a welcoming smile.
We stayed in room 31 and was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsetter10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,925
    327
    34
    9
    3
See reviews for
221
1,563
82
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed in the Britania Hotel for four nights and had a wonderful time. There are two things a hotel absolutely must get right. The bedroom: very comfortable bed, black out curtains and a lobby area that separated us from the corridor meant we slept very well - even on the first night which is usually restless in hotels. The bed is wide enough to have three pillows across. Just as well then that the breakfast (the other crucial aspect) is served until noon. A small but delightful dining area and a truly great breakfast. Plenty of delicious options that are constantly replenished by the helpful staff. On top of this, Britania has a relaxing lounge with comfy sofas galore and tea, port and portuguese pastries served after your day of sightseeing.
The staff are superb - Jefferson and his careful attention to everything the guests need plus the best G&T for miles around. The wonderful receptionist (sorry forgot to ask your name) who booked us into super local restaurants. If I have to find a negative it would be the over diligent housekeeping who were keen to find new places to put our stuff - especially in the bathroom.
The hotel has been beautifully restored in keeping with its Art Deco original design
If you like small, boutique hotels then you will love this for its outstanding service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CultureVultureCamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel Britania is a lovely small luxury hotel that helped make our stay a memorable one. The rooms and public areas were beautifully renovated, the breakfast was particularly nice, and staff very helpful. The hotel is located on a relatively quiet street, just off the main Street. They were renovating the building next door but we never heard any of the construction noise. Around the corner is the Metro which can get you almost anywhere, as well as the Hop on Hop Off bus. There are a few nice restaurants nearby but we found it quite easy to take the Metro anywhere we needed to go. The hotel is one to two metro stops away from many of the main sites. I was traveling with my elderly mother, and we found the area to feel safe, the hotel comfortable, and staff particularly helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor on the end facing the street and it was very quiet, with plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scubasue_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a small hotel with a good standard, in the old fashioned way. The service is very good and so are the rooms and the breakfast (10€ extra). It is very peaceful and quiet here. No children to be seen at our visit here.
The location is good in a back street of the busy Avenida do Liberdad. The view from the window is boring, just a boring street and a boring house across. But otherwise it was nice!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bustibus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a three night stay in Hotel Britania. I had read the excellent reviews on Trip but I can honestly say the hotel surpassed all our expectations. It is truly a "gem". The building is charming and oozes old world charm. All the staff are exceptional and are a credit to the hotel. We must give special mention to Jefferson who made our stay all the more special with his wonderful bar tending skills and passion for his craft. We will definitely return!!! Well done Hotel Britania.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We throughly enjoyed staying at this hotel. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean, the service from reception very helpful and a joy to see the art deco furniture. It was all that you could wish for on a short city break. We had gone to Lisbon to celebrate my husband's birthday but had made no mention of it in our booking. On the day of his birthday, when we had got back to the hotel late afternoon, a waiter knocked on our bedroom door and presented us with a bottle of sparkling wine in an ice-bucket etc and a tray of cherries which were in season at the time. They had simply checked on his passport and saw it was his birthday - it was a delightful surprise and very thoughtful gesture...thank you Hotel Britania!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Having stayed just around the corner in the Inspira last week, we knew the area and were happy to return to the familiar streets. We had a great welcome from all staff and were shown to our room - it was huge! The old art deco design was charming, with everything from door handles to a very elaborate standing lamp setting the tone. Although it feels like you've stepped back in time to the '50s, all of the modern comforts are there too - a quirky room safe, fridge, aircon, instant hot water, tea & coffee, flatscreen TV and WiFi.

The Molton Brown toiletries tell you they don't scrimp on the details and the bathroom was completely spotless. Our room was so big it had an entrance hall with it's own door into the bedroom, the bed was comfortable and the pillows great.

Breakfast was very nice and although the buffet area appears small at first, you soon discover that everything you could want is available - and the two waitresses were quick to refill any depleting items and check everyone was satisfied.

The only small negative was that the hotel is opposite a strip club and the street in general is a bit run-down, it's completely safe at night but just not the greatest street to look at.

The staff in general go out of their way to help you and make sure you have a great stay, we could only stay one night but would have loved to have stayed longer in this unique old-style hotel, the likes of which I've never before encountered, but hope to return to at some point.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FullBellyFull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
572 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
819 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 248 in Lisbon
1,512 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#6 of 248 in Lisbon
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Property: Britania Hotel
Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britania is a pure Boutique Art Deco hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. With large rooms, it's located on a quiet street just off Lisbon's main avenue Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing