We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not disappoint”
Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britania Hotel
Ranked #4 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 May 2009

We always check with Tripadvisor before we book a hotel and try to book into the current top recommendations. This hotel was superb. A street behind Avenida da Liberdade, its location ideal. About a 5 min walk to the train station Rossio (that's if you don't stop to shop!!) Nothing was too much trouble for the staff we meet. And thank you Jefferson for the great cocktails. Rooms very spacious, all decorated in the period.
The city shuttle bus from the airport runs every 20mins and cost around 3.20 euro and drops you off on the Avenida - about a 2min walk to hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suze057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,783 - 1,789 of 2,459 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in April to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived until leaving, everything was perfect. The location is ideal, just behind Avenida da Liberdade and a short walk from where the airport bus stops. The staff at the front desk were friendly and very helpful, always taking time to give advice on transport, where to go, what to see etc. The breakfasts were excellent, with a good choice of hot and cold food, including lovely fresh bread and pastries, all of which was constantly restocked. The room was very spacious and was immaculately cleaned every day, a joy to return to at night. In fact, the whole hotel was spotlessly clean.

A special touch on our last night was when we returned from our anniversary dinner to find a bottle of champagne, fresh strawberries, and candles in the room, compliments of the General Manager.

In summary, I would highly recommend this hotel and it's wonderful staff. As for Lisbon itself, it's a wonderful city with lots to see and do and am looking forward to going back at some time in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Don't bother reading the rest, just go to the Britania. It lives up to all expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

The other reviews say it all--this hotel really is special. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and the hotel itself charming and in a wonderful location. Rubro, just down the block, has terrific food and wine, and the hotel is in walking distance to all sorts wonderful places. I couldn't recommend it more highly: the Hotel Britania is absolutely one of my all-time favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cacaphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Just back from visting Lisbon and stayed in Britania Hotel with my Mum for a few days. I cannot compliment this place enough. From the moment we stepped out of the taxi, we were given such a warm friendly welcome. Our room was beautiful, very spacious and immaculately clean. The breakfast was outstanding, the most beautiful fruit salad and strawberries, amongst other delights of fresh pastries, plus bacon, eggs, grilled veg, cold meats, cheese etc. The buffet is constantly refilled and there is no shortage of anything here. The breakfast room/bar is so lovely, such a beautiful space to sit and relax and have a glass if port or a drink from the bar. The staff could not do enough for you, they are incredibly helpful, I have never experienced service like it and I have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world. Diogo recommended some wonderful restaurants for us, and was so helpful each evening we were there. Wilson and Jefferson were also so friendly and provided us with top bar service. All of the other staff were exceptional too, and provided a first rate service.

All in all a wonderful weekend in a great city and a really spectacular hotel. Well done guys, you are running a great hotel!!

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

My fiance and I recently stayed at the hotel Britania. I've stayed at several more expensive hotels but none with better service. The manager sent up a bottle of champaigne after finding out we were newly engaged. I can't say enough about this great hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddie10215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

When we checked in, I told the gentleman on reception that we had chosen the Britania because of the good reports on Tripadvisor. He smiled and said that they strived to live up to their reputation. Not only did they meet our expectations, but we found it to be the nicest city centre hotel that we have ever stayed in. It was a special occasion and we stayed in room 65, a lovely collection of rooms with full width windows and electric blinds leading to two large balconies. The suite was a masterpiece of design, with every comfort. We were reluctant to leave for our sight- seeing tour. This hotel has everything, wonderful art deco public rooms, a quiet position, yet in easy reach of good restaurants and public transport, and a delicious buffet- style continental breakfast with hot extras. What makes it really delightful is the staff. From the initial welcome to the final goodbye, when we were waved off in the taxi, nothing was too much trouble. They made us feel very special and we can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,931 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#7 of 255 in Lisbon
909 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodré
Martinhal Lisbon Chiado Family Suites
As Janelas Verdes
#8 of 255 in Lisbon
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £119 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. Dating from 1944 and designed by the famous Portuguese modernist architect Cassiano Branco, it retains its original soul. Meticulously recuperated , it was combined with nowadays technologies in order to offer all actual comfort. The Hotel Britania is perfectly located in a quiet street just off the exclusive Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing