We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fanastic place to stay!”
Review of Britania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Britania Hotel
Ranked #2 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fanastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Perfect boutique hotel. The staff was wonderful and their attentiveness to all of our needs/questions was amazing. They assisted with everything from transportation to dinner reservations. The continental breakfast was great and a great way to start our day in Lisbon. The hotel was conveniently located and perfectly charming! Would stay there again and again and again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hokiered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,868
    323
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
213
1,518
81
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

This art deco hotel was a great find on Trip Advisor (I now check out every hotel I use on this site before I book it, and I haven't been disappointed so far). We had a lovely large room - no 32 - which had comfortable twin beds, a massive wardrobe and plenty of drawer space. It had a separate lobby area with tea and coffee making facilities and a mini bar fridge (which we didn't use, except to store our water). The bathroom was off the lobby with a bath with shower over and a basin and toilet. We had bathrobes and slippers provided which was a nice touch and there was a flat screen TV and a safe in the room. Breakfast was great - a choice of cold meats, cheese etc and/or croissants, rolls with jam and fruit, yoghurts or cereals. We ordered boiled eggs one day and we enjoyed the speciality egg custard tarts every morning! The service was faultless and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.
A couple of tips and warnings: we took a taxi from the airport in a licensed cab and got ripped off (38 euros when it should have been max 20 - returning to the airport in a taxi ordered by the hotel it cost under 10 euros!), so either check the price before you get in or take the bus! We really got to grips with the public transport - you can buy a day travel card in the metro station for 4.20 euros and use it all day on the metro, buses, trams and funiculars. The following day you can top it up for another day for 3.80 euros and so on or you can top it up for a single journey (whatever you need). The route of tram 28 gives you a very cheap tour of the city if you want an alternative to paying for a guided tour bus. We took a trip on the ferry across to the other side of the river Tagus and had a great lunch of grilled sardines at Porto Final Restaurante looking back at the lovely view of Lisbon. We loved Lisbon and the Britannia!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LillianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We stayed two nights in the Brirania Hotel as part of our honeymoon on route to Estroil. This is a very clean hotel, with a lovely decor, in a nice area of Lisbon. The bedrooms are very spacious and clean. The breakfast was served downstairs untill 11:30am, their was a good variety laid on, fruit, cereal, cold meats, cooked breakfast, sweet cakes etc.... I would highly recommend this hotel to family or friends in a lovely city!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicklick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Our travel agent found us this little gem just 6 blocks north of the city center. The price is right, bus and metro are close by. Staff is very professional and knowledgable. Lots of restaurants nearby. A great little bargain.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frabjous1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

I stayed in the Britania Hotel at the beginning of June with my mum, as my partner (who I should have been with) had to leave Portugal early due to a family emergency.

We were unable to stay the 2 nights that we were supposed to, again because of circumstances, and needed to change to a twin room rather than a double. However, the hotel were extremely accommodating about this and upgraded us to a twin suite.

They front desk staff were excellent and gave us very clear directions to the tram for Belem and some good suggestions of where to go for dinner.

I liked that they had a computer access point with internet that had a printer attached so that not only was I able to check in for the flight, I was also able to print off my boarding card.

The breakfast provided was varied and as mentioned before they kept bringing out new stuff all the time so that it was fresh for each group of guests.

I would definitely stay there again, hopefully this time with my partner!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaSchaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

This is one magnificent hotel - the rooms are beautiful, the bathrooms amazing... and the service - superb. Maybe best of all is the staff - they were so nice, with great English (Pedro V, Julio G and Raquel from the front desk - Thanks). It's not the cheapest hotel, but it's highly recommended and don't miss out on the fabulous breakfast... It's number 1 on tripadvisor and it deserves it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Just back from two nights in the Britania Hotel and both it and Lisbon more than lived up to our expectations. The room was spacious and comfortable and had character - something modern hotels are too often missing! The staff were consistently friendly and helpful and the service was personalised. We even received a courtesy tray of goodies including a bottle of sparkling wine, tealights and cakes in our room when we arrived back from dinner on our first night!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinJandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#6 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britania Hotel

Property: Britania Hotel
Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 17, Lisbon 1150-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Britania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Britania is a pure Boutique Art Deco hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only surviving original Art Deco hotel in Lisbon, with a touch of modern whimsical nuances, this small hotel is unique. With large rooms, it's located on a quiet street just off Lisbon's main avenue Avenida da Liberdade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing