We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britania Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Santa Justa(Lisbon)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
memmo Alfama Hotel(Lisbon)
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon(Lisbon)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras(Lisbon)(Great Value!)
US$65
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$330
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,528)
Filter reviews
2,528 results
Traveller rating
2,113
365
38
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,113
365
38
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decocork floorspastriesquiet streetcomplimentary teauntil noonlouis vuittoncomplimentary portmolton brown toiletriesevery afternoonavenida metro stationterrace roommain avenueavenida da liberdaderooms are largeport wineside street
Filter
Updating list...
1,693 - 1,698 of 2,528 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2010

I am not normally the type of person that writes reviews, but I decided that the excellence of hospitality afforded to us by the staff, in particular Pedro, Marco and Rachel richly deserved my efforts.

Travelling with my young daughter (10 months old) my wife and I decided we needed to select a hotel that was central to Lisbon, that would be accomodating to our needs, was comfortable and spacious and would be a great place to relax for our 4 night trip to the city. The Britania was all of this and more. It was a hotel that gave you the "hotel experience feel" of a bygone era, when a hotel was more than a place to just sleep in. (We even witnessed a couple who stepped in off the street being given a guided tour

To crown this exceptional staff, who over the days we were there were happy to have conversations with you, offer help when requested and were always on hand to open doors for the push chair. Our daughter will sorely miss the attention they gave her.

When we return (not an if) I will without doubt be booking a room here again.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank AndyC5975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

I think the previous reviewers have said everything I was planning say! The staff were exceptional, the room was comfortable and spacious, the afternoon tea was a life-saver and I'd happily stay there again. Once outside the door, Lisbon was fantastic....taxi was our chosen mode of transport as they are so cheap but only after we couldn't walk another step.
We ate at the little cafes just opposite the hotel where local people congregate every evening. Food plentiful and cheap. Wine surprisingly drinkable as it was only between 1 and 3 euros for half litre!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

The Britania Hotel, the staff working at the hotel and the friendliness of the people of the city turned what we originally thought was going to be a disappointing trip to Lisbon into a real delight.
In July we booked a long weekend stay in Lisbon - to see the Red Bull Air Race in September. But, soon after arranging our flights and a 5 night stay at the Britania, we heard that Red Bull were calling off the race! Needless to say we were not happy and thought hard and long about cancelling the whole trip!
Friends who had been to Lisbon said it was a fascinating city to visit and the surrounding countryside and coast were equally lovely. Trip Advisor had the hotel listed right at the top of the pile for places to stay - not just in Lisbon, not just in Portugal, but one of the best in Europe. These recommendations turned out to be correct on all counts.
Regarding the Britania: I'm not going to repeat the many comments that have already been made in other reviews. Suffice to say I can reinforce all of the positives and can't really come up with any negatives. If I had to be really picky it would be that the hotel, being sited in a quiet side side street off the main boulevard, doesn't have much of a view - but you can't expect everything in a city centre hotel.
The hotel was well decorated, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. Our room was very spacious, the bed was comfortable (and massive) and the bathroom, mini-bar, coffee/tea making and other facilities were what you would normally expect of a hotel of this calibre. Both the front desk and back-room staff were friendly, attentive and extremely conscientious. It felt to us that all of the staff, without exception, were there to make our stay as happy an experience as possible. They certainly succeeded.
Regarding Lisbon and the surrounding area: We toured the city on foot, by tram, tube and ferry. We felt safe and secure wherever we went, prices weren't excessive and there are lots of touristy places to see.
One excursion we did arrange, and can definitely recommend, was a day trip out of town to visit Sintra, Cabo da Roca, Guincho Beach, Cascais and Belém. This was booked via the internet through 'We Hate Tourism Tours'. Though maybe a little 'off the wall' to some tastes the people who run the tours are locals who really love their city. Their motto is, 'See Lisbon like we do' - they really mean it!
We're really, really glad we didn't cancel our trip and we're sure we'll revisit the Britania again some day!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterm8194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We have just returned from 4 nights at the Britania Hotel and cannot not recommend it highly enough. The location is perfect, in a quiet street just off the Avenida da Liberdade. We asked for a quiet room and got one. The room itself was beautiful. The decoration was in keeping with this art deco hotel, so it was gorgeous to look at, but it was extremely comfortable and had all the amenities needed for our stay. We had breakfast every morning in the library, which was a treat. There were really nice touches, like the books left in our room - one from an American couple who had visited in August. It made you feel connected to previous visitors. We liked absolutely everything about the hotel - the restored art deco, the intimacy of the public areas, the lovely little barber's room, the fabulous marble stair case - but, most of all, the staff. Every single person we met from the moment the door was opened for us, was kind, helpful and friendly. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandA1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We came to Hotel Britania for the 1st 3 nights of our honeymoon. We could not have wished for better! The service was excellent always helpful always with a smile. We were upgraded to their best room as we were on honeymoon with a fabulous balcony and views over the city. The breakfast was delicious. The hotel is really stunning. We were given complementary bottles of champagne, Port and a fruit basket for my Husband´s birthday. Thank you Hotel Britania we will be back

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppysasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews