We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Past its prime”

Solar do Vinho do Porto
Ranked #8 of 55 Concerts & Shows in Lisbon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Port Wine House is located in an 18th-century palace that takes up an entire city block, and is filled with several hundred varieties of Port available by the glass or bottle.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Past its prime”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I've been coming here several times each year over the past three years, and it has definitely gotten worse in terms of service and selection. The service is unfriendly and slow, but OK if you know what you want. There is a nice selection of inexpensive, basic ports. But for a place that is supposed to highlight and promote ports, it has a very inadequate selection. There are only about ten different bottles of vintage ports that you can buy by the bottle to drink in or take out (at reasonable prices), but most are from 2007 or later, which makes them too young to drink any time soon, and none are available to drink by the glass there. Also, while there is a good selection of 10 and 20 year old tawny ports, there are very few 30 year old tawny's and no 40-year olds. While most people probably wouldn't want these more expensive ports, there should be a much better selection for a place that specializes in ports. On the more positive side, there are some snacks that you can order to enjoy with the ports.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Toron2nians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    114
    43
    37
    44
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A little intimidating. yummy for good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

If you like Port, this is where you need to go. however, I know nothing about it, and just really wanted to try and see.

Although with it's white leather chairs and dingy carpet with wine stains all over, the menu is vast and they take their wine seriously. I wish there was more guidance for how to order, and I was intimated by the servers. Could be because they were older and wasn't sure if they spoke english or not.

It would be nice to have a flight of 3 types or something, but we ordered only 2 from the menu of what we thought were different kinds. Its only a couple euros a glass. There is food for purchase, but it's pricey for almonds and cheese and crackers.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank pikachiu132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Surprisingly cheap and low key, not very educational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

i sampled 3 glasses of different late bottled vintages, a glass of 10, 20, and 30 year Taylor Ports, a rosse port, a white port, and a port cocktail served with water, amonds,and cashews for 80 euros. prices for bottles were comparable to what I saw at the airport and a few other specialty shops.

Unless you reserve an official tasting you won't get one. You will be handed a menu that has the available ports divided in sections with a scanty half page description of the different types (tawny, vs lat bottled vintage etc.). You will learn more from a read through the wikipedia page to be honest. The staff is not unfriendly, but they are just there to take your order, not to explain the ins and out of port. Flagging them down is easy, but they won't come to you.

Overall it was a good experience if you know what you are getting into. I would try other port bars with out feeling you are missing out on too much by not doing it at "the institution".

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank New_Speranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“It's a bar specialising in Port”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

The selection of Port was fantastic, the seats were comfy. I was expecting a tour, a talk a tasting option; none of that happened, and the staff really are unfriendly, but good at their jobs.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Whirlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A favorite part of our visit to Lisbon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

MY husband (then boyfriend) were here February of 2011 and visited because we watched a Rick Steves video. We still remember our visit fondly and had a very good time. We visited rather late and, as other reviews mention, the staff is not incredibly friendly. But the seating was comfortable and the dark lit rooms had a great ambiance. We tried a few ports and really just enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere that has not been paralleled by any other bar or restaurant we've been to since. If you visit Lisbon, definitely make a point to visit here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank abby5075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Solar do Vinho do Porto also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Solar do Vinho do Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing