We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a four star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Principe Real
Ranked #183 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is unfortunately not a four star hotel. 3 star at best but I personally would rate it 2 stars. The hotel is situated on top of steep hill about 20-30mns from airport with fares about 15-20€. very noisy at night and also in very dodgy looking side of town especially at night. Great location though and within walking distance to city centre and all the tourist meeting locations. However the staff here are terrific, friendly an helpful. They always go above an beyond to meet your needs! Otherwise a very basic hotel which looks like they are goin through renovations. Door are noisy and vibrate through the whole floor. Amenities are basic and considering the price you would expect al more. Bonus is wifi included and it's fast! Did I mention the friendly staff!

Room Tip: No gym, swimming pool or restaurant. Morning breakfast is very basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenska05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin C, General Manager at Hotel Principe Real, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.
We evaluate highly your words and we will try to imrpove what we can within the hotel.
As for the area, it is currently facing a facelift and will get imrpovements too.
We are delighted to hear that you found our staff helpful and friendly!
We hope you enjoyed Lisbon!
Best regards,
Malin Carlsdotter & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights. Nothing to complain at all. Breakfast is awesome and contains various items to be chosen from a menu. Don't expect a 5 star hotel for the price of 3 stars. It's a little noisy from the floor. Location is very good. Try to get a room on 4th or 6th floor. From here u'll have a nice view over the city. Staff was very helpful and friendly. I would go there again anytime

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reise007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin C, General Manager at Hotel Principe Real, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you so much for the kind words and we are delighted to know you enjoyed your visit!
Thank you!
Best regards,
Malin Carlsdotter & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hotel is in a side road on a steep hillside.The road is quiet during the day but at night it becomes a ratrun connecting the lower and upper parts of Lisbon.The noise from traffic labouring up the hill is nonstop from about 8.00pm until 3-4.00am with an occasional noisy visit from the local waste collection service.The staff and the food is excellent .The furnishings in the rooms have seen better days.
The hotel also suffers from internal noise ,doors bang and loud conversations take place during the night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expat621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin C, General Manager at Hotel Principe Real, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you for your kind review.
We regret to hear that you had a hard time to sleep due to the noise from the street.
However, at times this is the reality in Lisbon city centre.
We hope you enjoyed your time in Lisbon and that you will return!
Kind regards,
Malin Carlsdotter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Just returned from a four night stay at this hotel with friends. We had booked two rooms but asked if an upgrade was possible and were lucky that two suites were available.
The (very small) staff were helpful and pleasant and we were surprised that the receptionist also doubled up as waitress for the breakfast service. Breakfast was quite good - selection of breads and cakes, fresh fruits and eggs, bacon etc.
Our suite was in need of some TLC and had not been cleaned to a very high standard - there was dust and hair on the floors when we arrived and it remained there during our entire stay. The bed linen, however, was immaculately clean. Supplies of shampoo and shower gel were not re-stocked after our second night.
The hotel is housed in a re-furbished building but the adjoining buildings on either side are derelict and the view from our window was of similar scruffy buildings some of which were abandoned and a few still occcupied. Sadly, this appears to be a common theme throughout Lisbon. We suffered on two rather windy nights from an incessant, loud banging noise from within the empty building next door.
The only mirror in our suite was in the bathroom which was rather inconvenient as it meant we each had to sit and wait while the other got ready to go out.
The area around the Hotel is very run down but not threatening and the location is very good for sightseeing - we walked to all areas of the city apart from the rather remote Belem.
On the whole despite the aforementioned gripes, and because of the very reasonable price we paid and the excellent staff, I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoocyLoosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin C, General Manager at Hotel Principe Real, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your stay and for the review.
It is great to hear that you enjoied the hotel and our staff.
It is unfortunate to note that you were not very satisfied with the cleaning of your room and we will have a look into that in order to improve!
The area (overall) is up&coming and a lot of buildings will be refurbished and that whole are is to be improved.
We thank you again and we will be looking forward to welcome you again!
Best regards,
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I liked this little place; the staff were particularly nice and helpful always. We had one of the smaller rooms (perhaps we weren't upgraded as we were staying for 4 nights) which was fine, though it is a pity there are no tea and coffee facilities in the rooms, though you can get these from the lobby. We brought our own. Shower/bathroom was excellent, though as is almost inevitable in nearly every hotel I have stayed in, the extractor fan didn't work! Bed was comfortable, the room was quiet (facing the back) though there was only one chair, probably because the room is pretty small.
Breakfast was very good, decent fruit juice, fruit platters were fine, bacon and eggs excellent, lovely fresh breads were served. Strange that every table didn't have its own salt & pepper and spread though. Coffee went cool too quickly as it was served in metal pots.
The hotel is in a good location, within fairly easy walking distance of the Bairro Alto and its many bars/restaurants. You can catch a bus from the centre of Lisbon to the nearby Place Principe Real - I think it was the 790 - which saves a lot of climbing!
There were also good restaurants downhill, these were very close. though bars are further away in that direction.
Be aware that the street the hotel is in has many semi-derelict buildings in, also several are covered in graffiti. Nevertheless it is a safe area, quiet, though traffic is heavy on the road that passes the hotel (though this road is only a single carriageway one-way street).

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snickerbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin C, General Manager at Hotel Principe Real, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear Sirs,

Thank you so much for your kind words!
It was a true pleasure to have you staying with us and to note that you enjoyed lisbon and our hotel.
Next time we will upgrade you to a suite.
Thank you for great tips about Lisbon too.
Best regards,
Malin Carlsdotter with team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Årnes, Norway
1
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotelmanagement should be proud having such friendly and serviceminded staff working in the hotel. Always polite and helpfull. The breakfast was delicate and tasty. We are very satisfied with our stay.
The hotel has also a very central location, near to many of Lisboas attractions.
The only negative about the hotel is the neighbourhood - too many empty houses in a state of decay. Really bad. The public authoritiy of Lisboa maybe should have taken a look and decide what can be done to renovate the street/cityblock.
In spite of what is said about the neighbourhood, if there will be a next time for us in Lisboa, we will not hesitate to book at Principe Real once more.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hotell.no
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin C, General Manager at Hotel Principe Real, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thank you so much for the review and kind comment!
It makes us very happy to know you had a great time in Lisbon and that you enjoyed the hotel!
The area is currently facing a lot of changes and within a near future the neighbourhood will have a better look.
Once again, thank you!
Best regards,
Malin Carlsdotter and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The staff is wonderful - absolutely no complaints there. The breakfast was cooked to order and they tried very hard to make sure you were happy.

We were in room 404 - it was a nice large room/suite. Unfortunately there was only one mirror in the bathroom/over the sink - making it difficult for both of us to get ready. There is no WIFI, only wired. The room has seen better days, as there was mold/dirt in the bathroom - the cork floors also had mold. I don't want to pick it a part - think if you go in expecting a 3-Star hotel you'll be quite satisfied. I will also echo what someone else mentioned - even though it is non smoking - the place constantly smelled of smoke.

Short walk to metro/city or short walk up the hill to restaurants and nightlife.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katwich10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin C, General Manager at Hotel Principe Real, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comment.
We are pleased to hear you had a good time and we thank you for giving us some feedback on what you though about the room.
We do have wifi in the whole building and I do not know why this was not told to you. We have started some refurbishing of the hotel and recently done some work in order to remove some negative parts and the bathrooms have been worked on in order to imrpove their standards.
We are constantly trying to imrpove and therefore, we very much appreciate your comment in order to make your stay better!
We hope you will come back soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Mundial
#103 of 255 in Lisbon
3,533 reviews
SANA Executive Hotel
#107 of 255 in Lisbon
535 reviews
Botanico Hotel
#148 of 255 in Lisbon
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belem
Jeronimos 8
Jeronimos 8
#176 of 255 in Lisbon
321 reviews
Eurostars Lisboa Parque
#80 of 255 in Lisbon
721 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#94 of 255 in Lisbon
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Real

Address: Rua da Alegria 53, Lisbon 1250-006, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#120 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £62 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe Real 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Príncipe Real is a small boutique hotel located in the historic center of Lisbon, in the spirit and characteristics of the Bairro Alto-Lisbon a place of great historical and architectural details, where buildings on each corner tell a story, the railway stations with the trains to take you to Cascais and Sintra, and 500 yards away from Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon´s most cosmopolitan boulevard. During your stay, you will benefit from our 24/7 reception, daily newspapers, Library/lounge, Wifi-free internet, limited free parking, beverage service and a delicious breakfast à la Carte served till noon, as well as a team ready to help you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Principe Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Real Lisbon
Principe Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing