We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cracking little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Principe Real
Ranked #182 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 22 April 2008

We had an excellent 4 day stay at The Hotel Principe Real. Upon arrival the chap on reception was very welcoming and helpful, speaking very good English. He showed us to our room which was clean, very comfy and nicely decorated. The breakfast was far above average with a very good choice of breakfast food available. Add to that the location of the hotel, it all added to a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mootsmanuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2008

A group of us stayed at this hotel to celebrate the new year.
The hotel is situtated in the Barrio Alto area of the city, very close to small restaurants and the main square.
The hotel staff were very friendly and spoke excellent english.
My room 502 was a very large suite with the bathroom having a separate bath and shower. The views from the lounge and the bedroom over the roof tops were fantastic, especially so in the evening.
The breakfast menu is extensive including hot pastries and even champagne!
I would certainly return to this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Vivacat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2007

We had booked to stay in a suite, but when we turned up they had over booked and had no room for us.

The hotel staff were not apologetic, but keen to blame the management as "all hotels in Lisbon did this!". They were far too keen to make sure we left the hotel and went tot the alternative hotel they had arranged (which was totally unsuitable).

Do check any alternative hotels before accepting their recommendations! - Do not stay at the Amazonia!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
2  Thank MarkE106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were informed that there had been a problem with their reservation department and that they had no room for us. They appeared to have been aware of this for some time but had not contacted us to let me know. I had even contacted them to reserve parking after the booking and they confirmed the parking! They offered an alternative hotel which was far away on the outskirts of Lisbon and not at all suitable. Other than that, they offered no help and very little apology. Luckily, in the end we made our own arrangements to stay down the road at the Lisboa Plaza, which was great.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
3  Thank JPVLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2007

I was very pleased with the value and friendliness at Principe Real. It's a great location for sightseeing Lisbon - just a few minutes from the middle of both Baxia and Barrio Alto. Close to luxury hotels like the Sofitel and handy for the metro. Granted, people who can't handle a few hundred yards up a steep incline shoudl think twice - though a taxi is an option.

Quiet side street - some of the neighboring buildings a bit run down but all very safe. Quiet fellow residents in this fairly small prvate hotel. They gave me a suite, very roomy, clean, simply furnished, though I had only booked a single room. Breakfast was great - English cooked as well as cold cuts and continental fare.

Most of all, since I was traveling alone to fit in some sightseeing en route to a bsiness meeting, I appreciated the friendliness of all the staff. They were great with recommendations and directions, clearly keen to be customer-friendly. Yet more personal than the professionally customer-friendly Ritz Carlton where I stayed next.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jmaxwellb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2007

A lovely experience. The views from 501 on the top floor afford stunning views over the city. The balcony catches the afternoon sun. The suite of rooms is immaculately clean, the staff friendly and courteous. Breakfast is delightful and includes fresh rolls and cooked as well as cold food served at the table. If you are elderly you may find the climb up the hill tiring so take a taxi, which is cheap. Otherwise you are a 5 minute walk from the centre of the city. Some may find the mattress a bit firm but it suited us. Altogether a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2006

The Principe Real has nice rooms with a modern design. The staff is very friendly and helpful, in particular the lady that was on duty at the reception when we arrived (the fourth star is due to her). The room was reasonably clean and in good shape. Numerous small restaurants and cafes are in short walking distance from the Principe Real. The Jardim Botanico (botanical garden) is just around the corner, although the gate is sometimes closed and you have to walk to the main entrance further away from the hotel. They have a PC with free internet access in the lobby, but no internet access in the guest rooms.

Cons: No breakfast buffet; the breakfast is a la carte. We found the selection rather poor compared to the other hotels in Portugal we stayed in, and some of the items (sausage, fruit salad) were not fresh. On some mornings the waiter was very busy and therefore it took some time to get served. The hotel is located approximately in the middle between the Avenida da Liberdade and the Bairro Alto, so both the climb up from the Avenida to the hotel or from the hotel up to the Bairro Alto are pretty steep and strenuous if you are not in good shape. So whereever you go, you can't avoid climbing up a hill. Think about going by public transport? Think again and prepare for a climb!

Our room was pretty small and, facing the street, we had to keep the windows closed all the time to avoid the street noise. Our bed was very small for two people. When we asked for a room with a larger bed (which they hadn't because they were booked up) the staff was very helpful and arranged for a second bed to be placed in our room.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Billetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Mundial
#103 of 255 in Lisbon
3,532 reviews
SANA Executive Hotel
#113 of 255 in Lisbon
535 reviews
Botanico Hotel
#149 of 255 in Lisbon
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belem
Jeronimos 8
Jeronimos 8
#176 of 255 in Lisbon
321 reviews
Eurostars Lisboa Parque
#80 of 255 in Lisbon
721 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#94 of 255 in Lisbon
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Real

Address: Rua da Alegria 53, Lisbon 1250-006, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#119 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £63 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe Real 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Príncipe Real is a small boutique hotel located in the historic center of Lisbon, in the spirit and characteristics of the Bairro Alto-Lisbon a place of great historical and architectural details, where buildings on each corner tell a story, the railway stations with the trains to take you to Cascais and Sintra, and 500 yards away from Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon´s most cosmopolitan boulevard. During your stay, you will benefit from our 24/7 reception, daily newspapers, Library/lounge, Wifi-free internet, limited free parking, beverage service and a delicious breakfast à la Carte served till noon, as well as a team ready to help you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Principe Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Real Lisbon
Principe Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing