We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Principe Real
Ranked #184 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Principe Real with our 6 month old daughter for 3 nights last week. We were initially unsure of our hotel pick but it ended up being wonderful. We arrived very late at night after a long day of travel and were greeted by a very pleasant clerk. When I asked if I could have the last green apple from the fruit bowl, he, of course, said yes and then had several more pieces of fruit brought up to the room that same evening for us without prompting. We had a great suite- very spacious and clean. Lots of character with wood floors and local artwork on the walls. The two rooms were great especially with the baby- it was great having a place to sleep and another to relax. AC worked well as did the wifi. The breakfast was outstanding and much better than any buffet breakfast I've ever had. Hearty with made to order eggs, local meats and cheese/bread, yogurts, fresh fruit, and hot coffee with steamed milk. We felt pampered! My husband and I enjoyed breakfast and conversation every morning. The staff was very helpful throughout our visit and offered great suggestions on cafes and other city highlights. Upon departure, they called us a cab and ensured we got a good rate as the first cab company we had used from the airport tried to rip us off. All in all, a fantastic hotel with lots of character, pleasant staff, and a great location.

Room Tip: Suite was great for traveling with little ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel V, Gerente geral at Hotel Principe Real, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear guest,

What a fantastic description of your stay! Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope they'll be read by many wonderful families like you, traveling to Lisbon :)

Please give our regards to your husband and to the sweet litle one.

Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

My partner and I just stayed at principe real for 3 nights and we had a great time. Its a fine location, right by avenida da liberdade, only a short walk (uphill), we were both worried at first but had no problems getting there and finding our way around. Avenida metro station is nearby and connects you to just about all the areas to see.
The staff were friendly helpful and polite. Breakfast was nice. Cleaning lady came in everyday and kept the room clean and neat. We were very pleased overall. Wifi was mostly fine though you get better connection in the dining area.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel V, Gerente geral at Hotel Principe Real, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you again soon :) just make sure you book directly so we can offer you the best deal!

Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The staff was really nice since my arrival till the check out, the breakfast was really good very well served. The location is perfect; it is in a charming area . The views from the room were depressive. The room was small-medium size but clean and a nice size bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edmundory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel V, Gerente geral at Hotel Principe Real, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for your review :) we're glad you're coming back. Just make sure you ask for a room with a non depressive view! No, seriously, unfortunatly there is not much we can do about that ruined building you could see from your room. The good but non official news is that it's about to be sold and something new will rise there. We hope.

Sincere Regards
Miguel Ventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Small 4-star hotel located in an excellent position, close to Barrio Alto and its nightlife, in the meantime far enough from Barrio's noise (we slept very well); rooms are really comfortable, good forniture, plenty of space, all with terrace, clean; personnel is always good.
Unfortunately, the (free) wifi is useless; if you need to up/download files it does not work, and also coverage is poor. This must be improved.
If you come by car, consider there are 3 or 4 places only for parking; on the street, in the surrounding area, park must be paid.
In any case, good value for the money you pay.

Room Tip: Twin bedded rooms if you're two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Massimo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel V, Gerente geral at Hotel Principe Real, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.
About the wi-fi free connection, It's courious because we recently had an Italian family staying a week with us that mentioned exactly the same issue. They were not able to complete any dowloads. We will certainly find out why this happends only to guests from Italy!!
At the office I use the same connection that guests use and have no problems dowloading or uploading files.

Thank you again and sincere regards
Miguel Ventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel has a very friendly and helpfull staff, unfortunately this cannot soften some negative experiences. I paid for a double room (for 2 altough I stayed alone) and got the smallest room in the hotel which was aparrently accommodated for invalides/unabled people.. never had a room so small, 3 nights without warm water, the night receptionist is taking care of early breakfast; the shift- switch around 8 am is always noisy with loud discussions between the waiters!! the view into the backyard is awfull; lots of dirt and waist lying around.
the breakfast itself is good: lots of choice and the rooms are clean.too expensive for the area and quality offered. many things to reorganise here. 4 stars for this hotel is overrated...

Room Tip: the rooms 104, 204, 304 etc are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1c2a3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel V, Gerente geral at Hotel Principe Real, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and let me take this opportunity to thank you for your understanding during your stay with us. It was indeed very stressful having the hotel fully booked and no hot water. As you can imagine, that does not hapend frequently or we would end up out of business! We do have rooms for guests with phisical disabilities but we don't differentiate these rooms. Please excuse us if it caused you any disconfort.

We're very glad you enjoyed our breakfast, cleaniness and friendly staff as these are the points that keep our guest satisfied (and hot water of course)!

Thank you and please accept my sincere regards
Miguel Ventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed on April 17-18, 2013. Upon arrival by taxi we were a bit surprised that this was a hotel. It is located on a steep hillside on a narrow street. We were greeted by a friendly desk clerk who didn’t speak much English who led us to our room on an upper floor overlooking the lane, with a small balcony. The room was small but adequate, lacking A/C (which wasn’t needed this time of year). The bathroom was also adequate but small. The street is very busy and noisy with lots of taxis and vans racing as if in the Lisbon grand prix. Luckily, the noise abates about 10 pm and the nights are quite thereafter. Pull-down window screens help drown the noise and any direct sunlight. The morning breakfast was a game-changer, however. It was quite nice for continental-style, but the Champaign was a special addition. Our room frig wasn’t working, but we did manage to have this corrected. In all, we were impressed, despite first impressions. In a very expensive Lisbon, this is a good value for budget travelers. If one doesn’t mind the rather steep walk down to the Rosso district (10-15 minutes), it is conveniently located for tourists. If you’re less inclined to walk to and from the hotel, taxis are plentiful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel V, General Manager at Hotel Principe Real, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your honest comment! We do hope to welcome you again during your next trip to Portugal. By then, hopefully, in the NEW Hotel Príncipe Real!

Sincere Regards
Miguel Ventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This hotel has a great location next to Bairro Alto, in a quiet backstreet. The staff are very helpful and it is possible to park in the street outside the hotel(they have some parkingspots for the hotel).

We got upgraded to a suite, which was great.

Room Tip: 201 is a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndersFos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel V, General Manager at Hotel Principe Real, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a positive feedback! We're very plesaed we managed to please you. Plus you did look like you deserved an upgrade!

Sincere regards
Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
SANA Executive Hotel
#120 of 255 in Lisbon
540 reviews
Botanico Hotel
#150 of 255 in Lisbon
426 reviews
Hotel Mundial
#104 of 255 in Lisbon
3,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belem
Jeronimos 8
Jeronimos 8
#179 of 255 in Lisbon
324 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#91 of 255 in Lisbon
1,295 reviews
Hotel Portugal
#14 of 255 in Lisbon
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Real

Address: Rua da Alegria 53, Lisbon 1250-006, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#122 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £48 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe Real 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Príncipe Real is a small boutique hotel located in the historic center of Lisbon, in the spirit and characteristics of the Bairro Alto-Lisbon a place of great historical and architectural details, where buildings on each corner tell a story, the railway stations with the trains to take you to Cascais and Sintra, and 500 yards away from Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon´s most cosmopolitan boulevard. During your stay, you will benefit from our 24/7 reception, daily newspapers, Library/lounge, Wifi-free internet, limited free parking, beverage service and a delicious breakfast à la Carte served till noon, as well as a team ready to help you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Principe Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Real Lisbon
Principe Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing