We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Principe Real
Ranked #183 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Lovely hotel, made even better by an unexpected upgrade which was particularly welcome as we arrive at 1.30am thanks to yet another grim experience with Ryanair. The hotel has a fantastic location at the bottom of Barrio Alto with its mix of tiny winding streets, cafes, restaurants and cocktail bars. Lovely area, although you'll probably get sick of being offered weed 20 times a day. Hotel had a caring, small/boutique feel, the reception staff were great, extremely helpful with advice and the hotel felt safe, secure and individual rather than corporate faceless. Rooms were lovely with excellent aircon system which was much needed as it was still 25 degrees at 2am. Strongly recommend this hotel, particularly as it offered extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AMR0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were lucky to be allocated one of the rooms at the top of the building which was vast - in fact it was more like a suite, with a roof terrace. Arriving after midnight due to a 3 hour flight delay, this was most welcome. The hotel is in a great location - near Principe Real square and the lively Barrio Alto, but the hotel was quiet and peaceful. Very nice staff who were attentive and relaxed and were completely natural. The hotel benefits from not being in an anoynmous road of boring international hotels - it feels very much part of Lisbon. A good waitress served breakfast. Would definitely stay again, it felt very comfortable and relaxed. Lisbon is a fabulous city and we felt very much at home. Our good wishes to the staff and manager.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

The stay was comfortable and pleasant, however, having stayed in this hotel on a previous occasion, I decided to stay in one of the two suites on the top floor.
The size of the suite is enormous, the view SPECTACULAR, the bathrooms huge and clearly recently remodeled, however, the rest of the suite is very outdated. The furnishings are old and uncomfortable, look like they come from a thrift store and mismatched. I say this, as I have stayed in the other rooms and they are better furnished/decorated.
The balcony is huge and could be awesome in the summer.
Do NOT expect wifi in the suites.....it doesn't exist. I was told by receptionist that the signal does not reach the top floor.....after being given a password for this service?!?! Why?!?!
Breakfast was great and the suite kept spotless, but the towels were not refreshed.
Yes, I will definitely stay here again.
Please note that this is a review and not a criticism in any way.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Migz1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Dont go there when you are OLD . Thats Lisbon , going up and going down for change stairs , 100 stairs up 300 down and again . Hotel is nicely located but no views from the window , old ugly bildings , difficult to find a parking place , Police hunting to block a car - it happend to me 95 Euro because you are a foreigner to pay cash !!!! Be careful going to the restaurant .One day we payed 35 Euro , Day after 145 Euro for nearly the same . Not even one Fado Place with live music. BUT absolutely great people at the hotel desk , untill the 3erd day at the breakfast we met a new guy working there , I was sure it was candid camera or Monty python - more than 1 hour to get something - anything to eat and not what we asked for .

Room Tip: rooms are ok - thats it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertkrzysztofik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel V, General Manager at Hotel Principe Real, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Mr. Krzysztofik,

Thank you so much for your review and we're sorry your Lisbon experience didn't go so well. The city's 7 hills with its ups and downs can get you tired but I assure you that doesn't keep older couples from all over to visit the City and stay as our guests.

About the candid camera episode, sorry about the time you waited. I remember comming to your table to apologise and you were laughing to your tears! Thank you for your good humour!

Sincerely,
Miguel Ventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A great hotel! V. good value. We had a suite of rooms which was unexpected with fabulous views over Lisbon. Breakfast was tasty and substantial. Hotel very clean and just a short walk from main attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel V, General Manager at Hotel Principe Real, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your tasty and substantial comments! We hope to welcome you again soon :)

Best regards from all of us
Miguel Ventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

As we drove up to this Hotel - we were in shock, as the hotel is located off the main strip a few blocks and is surrounded by residential apartments. First reaction was why did I book here. Well that changed very quickly. Staff was absolutely wonderful, main strip was only 5 minute walk, homestyle cooking and pricing restaurants were very close - we ate with the locals and at their price.
The Hotel's a la carte breakfast had a great selection and made to order. This was included in the hotel booking.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants value for their money, wants to experience the culture and able to walk a few extra minutes to city centre.
Thank you Principe Real staff for adding to my memories.

Room Tip: There are only 18 rooms in this Hotel and is located in a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ghost2Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel V, General Manager at Hotel Principe Real, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review and recommendation. And we're so glad we contributed for adding to your memories! We hope to welcome you again, soon!

Sincere regards
Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. It is a small hotel, 4 rooms on a floor and 5 floors so i quess 20 rooms. I have not counted them all . It is a very nice hotel. The hotel has large rooms in the front with street view but also with street noise. The " garden " view is a view of old and crumbled houses. The rooms with "garden view" are not so big as the rooms in the front but they have no noise at all. Good breakfast. The WIFI is not verry good. Very low bandwith and not stable but it is WIFI. There is an excellent staff. The neighboorhood is not what you would expect it to be but is is oké in Lisbon. Great affordable hotel for citytrip. I would recommended this hotel.

Room Tip: Depense what is the most important, large rooms or quite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank justanormalfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel V, Gerente geral at Hotel Principe Real, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for recommending our hotel. In your next stay the wifi connection will be as good as the breakfast!

Sincere regards
Miguel Ventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Botanico Hotel
#144 of 255 in Lisbon
423 reviews
Hotel Mundial
#102 of 255 in Lisbon
3,503 reviews
SANA Executive Hotel
#106 of 255 in Lisbon
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belem
Jeronimos 8
Jeronimos 8
#174 of 255 in Lisbon
319 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#95 of 255 in Lisbon
1,253 reviews
Eurostars Lisboa Parque
#79 of 255 in Lisbon
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Real

Address: Rua da Alegria 53, Lisbon 1250-006, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#121 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £60 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe Real 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Príncipe Real is a small boutique hotel located in the historic center of Lisbon, in the spirit and characteristics of the Bairro Alto-Lisbon a place of great historical and architectural details, where buildings on each corner tell a story, the railway stations with the trains to take you to Cascais and Sintra, and 500 yards away from Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon´s most cosmopolitan boulevard. During your stay, you will benefit from our 24/7 reception, daily newspapers, Library/lounge, Wifi-free internet, limited free parking, beverage service and a delicious breakfast à la Carte served till noon, as well as a team ready to help you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Principe Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Real Lisbon
Principe Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing